WMC Wont Start Win 10 ver 1703

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
pnielsen1@gmail.com

Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

WMC Wont Start Win 10 ver 1703

#1

Post by pnielsen1@gmail.com » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:51 pm

Media centre is not starting for me. I click the Green Button and I get a blue circle spinning briefly and then nothing. I have installed, uninstalled and reinstalled WindowsMediaCenter_10.0.10134.0v2.1. It was working prior to the latest MS Updates. Any suggestions?
Thanks.

Kusaywa

Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:30 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Kusaywa » Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:02 pm

Same happened for me. Probably not the answer you're looking for but it does work with a fresh install of 1703.

dxrnn

Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:27 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by dxrnn » Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:42 am

Uninstall the software (Windows Media Center) by right click the Uninstaller.cmd script and selecting “Run as administrator”.

After removing windows media center, go to C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\ and delete the eHome folder for a complete removal. NOTE: The ProgramData folder is a hidden folder so when you go the “C” Drive, click on “View” on top of the menu and click on “Options” that is located to the far right. A “Folder Options” window will open and click on View in that window. Select the “Show hidden files, folders, and drives” and click “OK”. Now you will be able to see the ProgramData folder in the “C” drive.

Reinstall the Windows Media Center v12 and voila.

Hope this helps.

dojo

Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by dojo » Fri Jun 23, 2017 8:53 pm

Kusaywa, you mean uninstall 1703 and reinstall it and WMC will work?

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2599
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by Scallica » Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:48 am

Kusaywa wrote:Same happened for me. Probably not the answer you're looking for but it does work with a fresh install of 1703.
Interesting. Does DRM/Playready work too?
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

dojo

Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by dojo » Sat Jun 24, 2017 1:12 am

question on this version 1703 that messed up my WMC,,,,,,if I were to go back to version 1605 ?I think, would that solve the problem with WMC,,, it worked in that version well, and there is a way to go back????????

http://www.thewindowsclub.com/rollback- ... ors-update

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by Crash2009 » Sat Jun 24, 2017 3:15 am

pnielsen1@gmail.com wrote:Media centre is not starting for me. I click the Green Button and I get a blue circle spinning briefly and then nothing. I have installed, uninstalled and reinstalled WindowsMediaCenter_10.0.10134.0v2.1. It was working prior to the latest MS Updates. Any suggestions?
Thanks.
Sounds like you don't have a CableCard Tuner...WMC should work fine with any other tuner....

Download V8.8.1 and run the uninstaller to remove all traces of v2.1.

Also delete the 2 ehome folders previously suggested.

Then install v8.8.1

Read everything on this page...including the links...

https://forums.mydigitallife.net/thread ... ves.61061/

dojo

Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by dojo » Sat Jun 24, 2017 3:49 am

Hi Crash

I took window new version 1703 back to the version 1607 I had yesterday,,,,,,,,,,,the I uninstalled the WMC and reinstalled it, BUT it would not install the green skin, so I uninstalled the green skin and did a restart and installed the blue skin

IT WORKS, ,,,,,,,,,,,now to keep the new version 1703 from loading agian

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by Crash2009 » Sat Jun 24, 2017 4:02 am

dojo wrote:Hi Crash

I took window new version 1703 back to the version 1607 I had yesterday,,,,,,,,,,,the I uninstalled the WMC and reinstalled it, BUT it would not install the green skin, so I uninstalled the green skin and did a restart and installed the blue skin

IT WORKS, ,,,,,,,,,,,now to keep the new version 1703 from loading agian
Disable Updates
Attachments
DisableUpdates001.jpg

cirujatuc79

Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 10:12 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by cirujatuc79 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:52 am

Works for me!, I reinstalled WMC v12 (green Button) on Windows 10 1703! Thanks a lot!

ComfortEagle626

Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 3:23 pm
Location: Paradises Ca

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by ComfortEagle626 » Sat Aug 19, 2017 9:22 pm

I was on version 10.... uninstalled, then installed v12. now it works on 1703 :thumbup:

User avatar
bootloop

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 12:01 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by bootloop » Fri Aug 25, 2017 12:28 am

Version 1703 aka Creators Update broke all my 5 WMC installs. Solution, regardless of original version, was to simply uninstall using Uninstaller.cmd and clean up ehome then install V8.8.1 [V12.7 for the sole x86 OS]. I guess this will be an ongoing saga until M$ gets bored with spitefully trying to stop us using something they don't want anymore.

Dartman

Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 5:54 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by Dartman » Sun Oct 01, 2017 10:46 pm

So, you guys have gotten the creators update to now work with a Prime cable card tuner? I'm stuck at 1511 10586.494 because it works and I locked out updates. Lately I keep getting nag screens that I need to update and I finally just told it to download to see what would happen but because I hard locked it out it then refused to download them and everything has stayed the same. Would be nice to update if it is now going to work but wont touch it if it isn't true.

Grandpa Clyde

Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 11:20 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by Grandpa Clyde » Sun Oct 01, 2017 11:28 pm

I have tried all the solutions described above, including removing ehome folder, but now when I run the installer for WMC v12 I get this

An error occurred - Microsoft-Windows-MediaCenter-Package Error: 0x800f0922

Error: 0x800f0922

Any ideas how to get past this? I have tried rebooting.

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by Crash2009 » Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:15 am

The suggestions in Post Number 7 should fix yours as well

dojo

Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by dojo » Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:06 pm

I have noticed the last few weeks sometimes my WMC will not start,,,,,,,,if i restart the computer it comes back on. Why i have no idea.

1ST1

Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#17

Post by 1ST1 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:23 am

Even more strange for me. But as it is that strange I open another topic.

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by Crash2009 » Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:14 am

Grandpa Clyde wrote:I have tried all the solutions described above, including removing ehome folder, but now when I run the installer for WMC v12 I get this

An error occurred - Microsoft-Windows-MediaCenter-Package Error: 0x800f0922

Error: 0x800f0922

Any ideas how to get past this? I have tried rebooting.
0x800f0922 Means you have a broken windows. here is how to fix it

https://forums.mydigitallife.net/thread ... st-1380859

after you fix windows you might as well get the most recent version

Go get version v8.8.1
Use the v8.8.1 to uninstall whatever you have
then install v8.8.1

Go to this link and read a bit

https://forums.mydigitallife.net/thread ... st-1244333

Read the Readme file in the v8.8.1 install files

tjjws

Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:11 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#19

Post by tjjws » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:43 am

dxrnn wrote:Uninstall the software (Windows Media Center) by right click the Uninstaller.cmd script and selecting “Run as administrator”.

After removing windows media center, go to C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\ and delete the eHome folder for a complete removal. NOTE: The ProgramData folder is a hidden folder so when you go the “C” Drive, click on “View” on top of the menu and click on “Options” that is located to the far right. A “Folder Options” window will open and click on View in that window. Select the “Show hidden files, folders, and drives” and click “OK”. Now you will be able to see the ProgramData folder in the “C” drive.

Reinstall the Windows Media Center v12 and voila.

Hope this helps.
Thanks dxrnn, after the Creators Update I could not run WMC, it would just change the pointer to an hourglass for a split second, but would not start. I had already tried uninstalling and reinstalling to not avail, but with your added step of removing the folder, it now works.

Tim

Post Reply