Page 1 of 2

Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:30 am
by FREQUENCY
Can anyone be kind enough to list the steps to install WMC correctly on the WM10?

I have an HDHomeRun Prime.

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:01 pm
by Crash2009
We can give you a hand to get started, but the starting point is going to depend on where you are at this point. So, I'll start with a couple questions.

1) Type winver in to Cortana and hit enter. Tell us the details of what winver tells you. I need the Version and Build number

2) What is the complete file name of the WMC that you are trying to install. A few of the versions are listed in the picture. I need the complete filename.

3) Look on the bottom of your HDHR tuner and tell us the Model #. Are you in the United States? Does your tuner have a CableCard in it?

4) The software Version of WMC is not important at this point....

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:41 pm
by DavidinCT
DOwnload 8.8.1, right click on the file, properties and select "unblock", extract file (WinRAR or another 7z program).

Read the readme.txt or here is the directions from the file.
#############
Important:
#############
After you download the pack, make sure the file is Unblocked
to do so, right click on file, go to properties - general tab - click Unblock button if present

#############
Instructions:
#############
0) Extract the package to a directory with simple short path without spaces in it (i.e. C:\WMC85)

if you previously tried another/older pack, or your system is upgraded from Windows 7/8.1 with Media Center
you may run Uninstaller.cmd to remove the pack/leftovers properly, and reboot the system afterwards

1) Click on _TestRights.cmd, if another command prompt window is opened, then close it and proceed to step 2)
if no cmd window opened, then you need to reboot the system and test again.

2) Run the outer Installer.cmd script as administrator to install the pack

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:25 am
by jachin99
If your having trouble somewhere, which part of the installation are you getting hung up on? Do you have DRM on any channels you plan to view regularly? If you have an HDHR Prime, and your using a cable card, then I believe you will also need additional software in order to get WMC to see your tuners.

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:43 am
by sophware
I have the 2015 LTSB version of Windows 10. I can get WMC installed, but not able to see the tuner(s). Yes, I have the HDHR Prime w/ CableCard.

Is LTSB early enough to escape the issue?

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:41 am
by Crash2009
sophware wrote:I have the 2015 LTSB version of Windows 10. I can get WMC installed, but not able to see the tuner(s). Yes, I have the HDHR Prime w/ CableCard.

Is LTSB early enough to escape the issue?
LTSB should work

I would start by checking your WMC version. What is the complete file name of the zip you downloaded?

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:20 pm
by sophware
I have:

[*] WMC_6.3.9600.16384_x64_v12.7z
[*] WindowsMediaCenter.zip (with a readme that says "Windows Media Center version 6.3.9600.16384 (Windows 8.1) for Windows 10 (10.10240.16384) and later, or Windows 8.1 with no Media Center")
[*] WMC-V8.8.1_x64_by_T-S.7z
[*] WindowsMediaCenter_6.3.9600.16384_x64_v8.7z
[*] WindowsMediaCenter_6.3.9600.16384_x64_v10.7z

...and would be able to grab a v11, if needed.

So, now that you have what you need to know to help, what do you suggest?

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:59 am
by Crash2009
I would start with the most recent WMC version which is v8.8.1.

Unblock the zip. Right click, properties, Unblock.

Extract to a short path folder... c:/WMC/v8.8.1

If you have a previous WMC version installed...use v8.8.1 Uninstaller

Don't install WMC just yet...

Prepare the o/s...install DCA, playready, lav, tuner driver.

Reboot

Install wmcV8.8.1

Follow instructions in README & WORKAROUND.

If you need to do more reading.....go to page 1 (of this thread), click on the v8.8.1 link.....and start reading.....you will be on the page of the first day v8.8.1 was introduced.....the first 20 people that installed v8.8.1 will describe their experience.

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:36 am
by Crash2009
oops, not enough coffee this morning....

If you need to do more reading.....go to page 1 (of this thread), click on the v8.8.1 link.....and start reading.....you will be on the page of the first day v8.8.1 was introduced.....the first 20 people that installed v8.8.1 will describe their experience.

https://forums.mydigitallife.info/threa ... ves.61061/

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:13 pm
by vseven
Instead of adding another thread I figured I'd try here. I cannot get Windows 10 to see my tuners. What I've done:

New Windows 10 Pro CU install (created the media this morning, version 1703 build 15063.0). No updates done yet and updates set to paused.

Installed latest version of video driver (nVidia GTX 1050 ti) - 6/29/17.

Installed 7-zip, Firefox, PlayReady x64, and HDHomeRun software. It found my Prime and did a channel scan which was successful (and took forever....). Installed K-Lite Codec Pack (Basic v13.24). Ran the HDHomeRun View app and everything looked good.

Try a 4k UHD test video before I go any further since that's the reason I'm trying to get away fro Windows 7/8 (no hardware acceleration for 4k). Play the jellyfish-200-mbps-4k-uhd-hevc-10bit.mkv which on Win 7 and 8.1 was a stuttering mess. It plays flawlessly. Test another, The_World_in_HDR_in_4K_HDR10.mkv which also was unplayable before, no audio (trying to use optical out and not worth troubleshooting right now) but the video is perfect and beautiful on my Vizio P75-C1 TV (4k @ 60hz, RGB Full, UHD turned on for input)

Rebooted and installed WMC v8.8.1 per the instructions. No errors. Installed DCA. Installed, no errors. Rebooted.

Started up WMC and went through the wizard. Go to Live TV Setup and it says "Tuner Not Found". I go into Extras and run the DCA. Agree then Next. Start Test. Tool runs for a minute or two then Next. Says my system passed so I hit Update System Settings then Done. Back to live tv setup and again Tuner Not Found. Reboot and try again, same issue.

What I have tried:

- Uninstalling HDHomeRun software and installing a old version (hdhomerun_windows_20150826.exe) which some people said might work since it adds a HDHomeRun service. It didn't help. Switched back to the newest version (hdhomerun_windows_20170612beta3.exe)
- Running WMC as a admin. No change.
- Putting the PC to sleep, waking it up, then trying to setup live TV. Couple people said this worked, it didn't for me (both on the 2015 hdhomerun software and the newest).

Anything else I can try? Should I go back to a older Windows 10 version or keep trying this one? I would like to stay current but I guess it doesn't matter. Mostly I need to be able to use the hardware acceleration of my GTX 1050 Ti which requires Windows 10 unless someone knows a hack for that that I haven't found (and I've looked).

-Allan

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:21 pm
by scrambler
You need to read the whole thread...

Since the anniversary update, Cable card Tuners and DRM no longer work, and all attempts to find a workaround have failed.

To run WMC on Windows 10 with a cable card tuner and/or protected content you need to stay on the latest windows 10 version prior to the anniversary update.

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 12:57 am
by vseven
Hrm...I could have sworn I read a couple people that got it working with anniversary update and even some that got it working on the preview builds of creators update. I can go back and try again with a older version.

I also wonder if you can run WNC within a virtual on Windows 10. Would that work? Would I still get my hardware acceleration from the Windows 10 host but allow the Windows 7 WMC to work?

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 1:01 am
by scrambler
The people who have it working are the ones without Cable card and DRM (like in Europe)

That said, a partial workaround for HDHR without DRM was found by Crash009
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/th...i ... ost1269179
A fix for DRM only was found by T-S
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/th...i ... ost1269460

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 11:17 am
by Scallica
scrambler wrote: That said, a partial workaround for HDHR without DRM was found by Crash009
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/th...i ... ost1269179
A fix for DRM only was found by T-S
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/th...i ... ost1269460
Your links are mangled.

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 4:36 pm
by vseven
Scallica wrote:
scrambler wrote: That said, a partial workaround for HDHR without DRM was found by Crash009
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/th...i ... ost1269179
A fix for DRM only was found by T-S
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/th...i ... ost1269460
Your links are mangled.
Yeah they are but you can search for the number at the end and find the threads. They wern't super helpful for me but maybe for someone. I'm gonna reinstall Windows 10 v1511 and see how that goes.

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 5:32 pm
by scrambler
Sorry about the mangled links, I guess the MDL forum strips the content when you copy.

I gave the links in the red text of my post on MDL
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/thread ... st-1232935

They are:
A partial workaround for HDHR without DRM was found by Crash009
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/thread ... st-1269179

A fix for DRM only was found by T-S
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/thread ... st-1269460

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 4:56 pm
by vseven
Thanks. I reinstalled using Win 10 v1511 and followed all the guides I could find but same result, tuner not found. I'm giving up and go back to Windows 7 for WMC and then dual boot Windows 10 for BluRay playback and 4k content. Maybe eventually HDHomeRun will get there DVR working properly with DRM content and I can switch to a shield TV (which I tried but ended up selling after two months).

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 10:48 am
by Crash2009
Cripes....Go to page 1, open the spoiler, click on the WMC version you want to try. 8.8.1 recomended

When you click on the link in the spoiler...it takes you to the first day of release. The first 20 to install it wrote the howto in the thread.

https://forums.mydigitallife.net/thread ... ves.61061/

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 2:21 pm
by vseven
Thanks Crash but I read through a lot of that, spent hours reading that thread already and used v8.8.1 for all my testing. I think I know what I possibly did wrong (didn't use a N version) but the dual boot is working fine for now and didn't involve any work around other then having to run PlayReady outside of WMC wince it wouldn't install within. But other then that my digital tuners all got found and everything is working.

I have a older laptop not being used for anything so I'll try getting Windows 10 & WMC working on that but for now my "main" HTPC is back up. I wish there was a alternative in my area for Cable but there is not and the local company (Spectrum/TWC) marks almost everything copy protect.

It still amazes me there is no real alternative to WMC after all these years.

Re: Step by step process of installing WMC on WM10?

Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 4:51 am
by Crash2009
in my opinion, v11 was the easiest to install, and most solid of the bunch. There are a couple workarounds necessary.

Uninstall with v8.8.1 then give v11 a try.

Open the Spoiler in Page 1 and when you click v11, that takes you to the first day 11 was released. I tried everything on it and was unable to break it.

I was using Win10 10586 (2015 version)