Tuner Salad compatibility with Windows 10?

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
groucho111

Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Tuner Salad compatibility with Windows 10?

#1

Post by groucho111 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 11:18 am

I just bought a second HDHR Mostly to use with my main media PC in my living room (Win 7). Used Tuner Salad on that PC and WMC sees all 6 HDHR tuners and my 5 OTA tuners. On my office PC where I watch TV sometime while working at home WMC 10 only sees 4 tuners. tried to install Tuner salad and Win 10 says it needs to download DotNet framework 3.5 but then says it cant download the files.

Any way to increase tuner limit? Registry setting?

thanks for any help

mdavej

Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:52 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by mdavej » Fri Oct 21, 2016 1:12 pm

Installing Ceton driver (even though you won't use it) should also do the trick.

groucho111

Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by groucho111 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:03 pm

Awesome! thanks i will try that

SpencerC

Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by SpencerC » Fri Oct 21, 2016 7:29 pm

groucho111 wrote:I just bought a second HDHR Mostly to use with my main media PC in my living room (Win 7). Used Tuner Salad on that PC and WMC sees all 6 HDHR tuners and my 5 OTA tuners. On my office PC where I watch TV sometime while working at home WMC 10 only sees 4 tuners. tried to install Tuner salad and Win 10 says it needs to download DotNet framework 3.5 but then says it cant download the files.

Any way to increase tuner limit? Registry setting?

thanks for any help
Follow these steps to install dot net 3.5. https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/ins ... 7a4?auth=1

I know that doesn't answer your question, but it will help with the Tuner Salad install. :)

suttonb1

Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by suttonb1 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:27 pm

^^^ that's probably the better solution than installing Ceton software.

Post Reply