Ceton Infinitv 4 USB died

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
SpencerC

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Ceton Infinitv 4 USB died

#1

Post by SpencerC » Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:33 pm

My Ceton Infinitv 4 USB just died. Does anyone have one that still works that is willing to sell it? Or possibly a HD HomeRun Prime? Or anything else that can use a cable card? I don't have any available slots on my PC so it needs to be an external device.

Thanks!!

Spencer

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4356
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Crash2009 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:21 pm

Which part of the Ceton died? Have you tried a new power supply?

If you have no luck getting it going, go with HDHR-3CC. It appears Ceton is down for the count.

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2585
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Scallica » Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:28 pm

Crash2009 wrote:If you have no luck getting it going, go with HDHR-3CC. It appears Ceton is down for the count.
I agree. $89 on ebay in like new condition:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SiliconDust-HDH ... SwTA9X4TGC
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

SpencerC

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by SpencerC » Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:52 pm

Crash2009 wrote:Which part of the Ceton died? Have you tried a new power supply?

If you have no luck getting it going, go with HDHR-3CC. It appears Ceton is down for the count.
The unit fried itself.........the lovely smell of burning electric components is very recognizable. And I've already ordered the HD Homerun Prime HDHR-3CC. Thanks guys!

garnuts

Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:22 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by garnuts » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:27 pm

I have one for you. Check your email.

Gary

SpencerC

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by SpencerC » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:53 pm

garnuts wrote:I have one for you. Check your email.

Gary
Hi Gary, I've already ordered the HD Homerun to replace it. Thanks!!

garnuts

Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:22 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by garnuts » Thu Sep 22, 2016 1:06 am

SpencerC wrote:
garnuts wrote:I have one for you. Check your email.

Gary
Hi Gary, I've already ordered the HD Homerun to replace it. Thanks!!
That is what I'm using now. The Ceton worked great, but I like having the network capabilities of the HD Homerun.

SpencerC

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by SpencerC » Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:20 am

I just received my HD Home Run Prime. It literally took me longer crawling under my desk to run the power cable and network cable than it took to set it up. Very easy to get up and running.

Post Reply