Windows 10 new version 1607 - will it lose my WMC?

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
dojo

Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Windows 10 new version 1607 - will it lose my WMC?

#1

Post by dojo » Sun Sep 11, 2016 3:21 am

I am having a issue with my display setting in the new windows 10, my Samsung tv is not recognized, it is hooked up with HDMI cables, and I have not changed anything :) the tech wants me to upgrade to the new 1607 version from the 1511 version that I upgraded to in July. He claims the new version 1607 will install any drives that were corrupted in the 1511 upgrade it took me about 30 hours to get WMC working on the computer and I do not want to lose it.

Hope to hear from some one before I upgrade.

[Moderator note: shouting removed]

hansolo89

Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: California

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by hansolo89 » Sun Sep 11, 2016 4:17 am

yes if you install 1607 you lose WMC, but you can reinstall WMC easily after update if you follow instructions
make sure to backup data before upgrade, if you want to revert back

if you use cablecard tuners, you are out of luck though it wont work at all

i use ota signal and lost no ability. after anniversary update, resume from pause has no sound delay from 5.1 sound , so thats an added feature

dojo

Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by dojo » Mon Sep 12, 2016 3:40 am

Hansolo89, would you have any idea on how to get the computer DISPLAY SETTINGS to recognize the Samsung tv hooked up by the HMDI cable, in the display settings in windows 10 all I have is 1 number and that is for the monitor to change the settings, I need another number for the tv to make the shows on the monitor-computer------ fit in the 46"tv.
Display settings I have ALT Radeon Hd 4200 and the drivers are up to date, I tried to get new driver from AMD and NVIDIA according to the correct setting of my computer but none of them will load. Microsoft and amd and Samsung all gave their 2 cents, only conclusion was the person from Microsoft that wanted me to upgrade to the newer version of windows 10,--1607

Thanks for the reply in the other question

Old John

Robertus

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 5:17 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Robertus » Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:46 am

I have OTA as well and everything works fine after the update, I am using WMC v8.8.1 thou on Windows 10, running HDMI with 12 tuners (4 x quad), My Movies and Total Media 6 so Blu-ray works great.

dojo

Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by dojo » Mon Sep 12, 2016 2:58 pm

Hi, I also have downloaded the WMC v8.8.1 , OTA....... MMC is working great, we can do like the old days, record a tv show in the future for later watching. Just can not fit the computer screen on the Samsung tv screen because of he display setting. It has been mentioned that if I were to upgrade to new version 1607 windows 10 from my 1511, there is a possibility that I could not get MMC any more. will not chance that, so I will just have to go to the display settings and manually set the screen for the tv,
thanks for the reply, have a great day.

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4356
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#6

Post by Crash2009 » Sun Sep 18, 2016 2:00 am

dojo wrote:Hi, I also have downloaded the WMC v8.8.1 , OTA....... MMC is working great, we can do like the old days, record a tv show in the future for later watching. Just can not fit the computer screen on the Samsung tv screen because of he display setting. It has been mentioned that if I were to upgrade to new version 1607 windows 10 from my 1511, there is a possibility that I could not get MMC any more. will not chance that, so I will just have to go to the display settings and manually set the screen for the tv,
thanks for the reply, have a great day.
You likely just need to Configure TV or Monitor in WMC

Tasks/Settings/TV/Configure TV or Monitor

dojo

Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by dojo » Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:48 pm

Crash, you are right, I forgot I did that a few weeks ago for MMC, like you mentioned, I just record and play on tv, it fits on the tv screen,

I meant when I play movies or tv shows off the internet and transfer them to the tv, I have to hit the display settings each time to make them fit off the moniter,,,,,,,,only 1 display number, I needed 2, can not get it to fit

The big thing right now is that MMC is operating like it did before the upgrade to windows 10

thanks for the help, it was really appreciated

Coco

User avatar
kennyken

Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:36 pm
Location: UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by kennyken » Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:41 pm

How do you guys get hold of WMC v8.8.1 ?

I had media center running perfect on my windows 10 using this following page to get Media Center: http://winaero.com/blog/windows-media-c ... ry-update/

That download and installation process is : Windows Media Center version 6.3.9600.16384 (Windows 8.1)
for Windows 10 (10.10240.16384) and later, or Windows 8.1 with no Media Center

If I try to install that again it's very likely going to mess up...

User avatar
kennyken

Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:36 pm
Location: UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by kennyken » Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:22 pm

Well I found the v8.8.1 through a public one drive account.

It's installed fine but I cannot get any TV guide, the download setup keeps saying it's failed and all I can get are channels with no guide data now. People online are saying to run mcupdate.exe to make it work, but it makes no difference for me.

Edit: I noticed a process running called "in band guide loader" using about 10% CPU. I seem to have guide data for 6 channels right now, I think maybe it's downloading guide data through the DVB-T signal like a conventional tuner ? I'm pretty sure I couldn't do that on Vista ? :thumbup:

Just to be clear that so called "Anniversary Update" is an annoyance, it resets network permissions, re-enables disabled hardware, Media Center gets deleted obviously, 20GB of local HDD space has gone for no good reason as well... :yawn: :thumbdown: :think:

cwinfield

Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:14 am
Location: Monroe, NC

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by cwinfield » Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:55 pm

It is best to uninstall WMC using the 8.8.1 uninstaller if you have any other versions installed before installing.

User avatar
kennyken

Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:36 pm
Location: UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by kennyken » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:01 pm

Yes I used the uninstall mode in the WMC directory and rebooted before putting on the 8.8.1 version, everything appears to be working fine. That update from Microsoft is terrible it resets so much, even my monitor calibration was reset !

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4356
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#12

Post by Crash2009 » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:25 pm

It is is best to use the copy from the original source. You never know what has been added (or missing). Also, if you need any support, you likely wont get it from a Public One Drive Account.

https://forums.mydigitallife.info/threa ... ternatives

User avatar
kennyken

Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:36 pm
Location: UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by kennyken » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:44 pm

I registered to that site, but I need permission to view the downloads which I cannot get. Like most forums I was probably supposed to get some sort of verification email but I got nothing, and I cannot find a resend option on the site.

Well I thought everything was fine and it's not, it seems since this update all my media sharing streaming options are completely messed up. I was able to listen to music on the Xbox 360 or watch videos and now the media streaming has been disabled, and trying to turn it back on just no longer works the option just greys out and nothing loads !

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4356
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#14

Post by Crash2009 » Thu Sep 22, 2016 2:20 am

kennyken wrote:I registered to that site, but I need permission to view the downloads which I cannot get. Like most forums I was probably supposed to get some sort of verification email but I got nothing, and I cannot find a resend option on the site.

Well I thought everything was fine and it's not, it seems since this update all my media sharing streaming options are completely messed up. I was able to listen to music on the Xbox 360 or watch videos and now the media streaming has been disabled, and trying to turn it back on just no longer works the option just greys out and nothing loads !
They have been upgrading the site lately.. try logging in again. or make a new user.

I am not getting in to this one until you have a supported version.

User avatar
kennyken

Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:36 pm
Location: UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by kennyken » Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:18 am

I rolled back to the last windows build, everything is so much better on the old build and it has not affected media center 8.8.1 which surprised me.

The problem I had last night was not related to media center, but a massive messup in relation to windows firewall, user account UAC control, and the windows media player "stream media" option combined.

http://www.isunshare.com/windows-10/tur ... ws-10.html

This is what I was on about, it became damaged in some way, possibly some changes in windows services and UPNP also to blame, all thanks to the lovely Anniversary update !

julesc

Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 3:01 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by julesc » Thu Sep 22, 2016 3:08 pm

I upgraded to the Windows 10 Anniversary version, reinstalled Windows Media Center (WMC) and the process appeared to work as expected, but when I clicked on the Media Center icon I saw it spinning for a little while and the hard drive was being hit, but WMC never actually launched. I had it working prior to the upgrade, but even after I restored it to the previous version of Windows 10, WMC would still not launch.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
kennyken

Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:36 pm
Location: UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#17

Post by kennyken » Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:20 pm

Hi julesc, as soon as the anniversary update is applied WMC disappears.

I think what you are supposed to do is go straight to the WMC install directory and run the "uninstaller" executable cmd to clean up any left over files, then go ahead and install v 8.8.1 of WMC. What I recommend is you uninstall WMC again, then reboot the machine. Install 8.8.1 and let us know if it works okay.

julesc

Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 3:01 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by julesc » Thu Sep 22, 2016 5:45 pm

kennyken wrote:Hi julesc, as soon as the anniversary update is applied WMC disappears.

I think what you are supposed to do is go straight to the WMC install directory and run the "uninstaller" executable cmd to clean up any left over files, then go ahead and install v 8.8.1 of WMC. What I recommend is you uninstall WMC again, then reboot the machine. Install 8.8.1 and let us know if it works okay.
Thank you for your response. Here are the steps that I've taken so far:

1. Uninstall the WMC entries that were left by the windows 10 anniversary update.
a) Run the _TestRights.cmd from the C:\WMC folder,
b) Run Uninstaller.cmd from the C:\WMC folder.

2. Reboot after the uninstall was run

3. Run _TestRights.cmd to be sure there's nothing left behind

4. Run Installer.cmd from the C:\WMC folder

5. I've done a sfc /scannow, Dism /online /cleanup-image /scanhealth (worked), and Dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth (returned errors).

6. Rebooted and repeated steps 1-4, with no success.

I'm not sure I understand your reference to installing "8.8.1". I installed the WMC patch from this link: https://forums.mydigitallife.info/threa ... ternatives.

Thanks for your assistance.

UPDATE: Here is a snipet from my log file. Hope this helps.

2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS CheckSur: hrStatus: 0x800f081f [CBS_E_SOURCE_MISSING], download Result: 0x800f0948 [CBS_E_SOURCE_MISSING_FROM_WU_CAB]
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS Count of times corruption detected: 1
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS Seconds between initial corruption detections: -1
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS Seconds between corruption and repair: -1
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS SQM: Package change report datapoints not populated because SQM is not initialized or not running online.
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS Failed to run Detect and repair. [HRESULT = 0x800f081f - CBS_E_SOURCE_MISSING]
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS Reboot mark cleared
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS Winlogon: Simplifying Winlogon CreateSession notifications
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS Winlogon: Deregistering for CreateSession notifications
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS Exec: Processing complete, session(Corruption Repairing): 30545145_2952381721 [HRESULT = 0x800f081f - CBS_E_SOURCE_MISSING]
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Warning CBS Current sub stage percentage lower than last sub stage percentage. [HRESULT = 0x8007000d - ERROR_INVALID_DATA]
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Error CBS Session: 30545145_2952381721 failed to perform store corruption detect and repair operation. [HRESULT = 0x800f081f - CBS_E_SOURCE_MISSING]
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS Session: 30545145_2952381721 finalized. Download error: 0x800f0948 [CBS_E_SOURCE_MISSING_FROM_WU_CAB], Reboot required: no [HRESULT = 0x800f081f - CBS_E_SOURCE_MISSING]
2016-09-22 14:06:18, Info CBS Failed to FinalizeEx using worker session [HRESULT = 0x800f081f]
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS Trusted Installer is shutting down because: SHUTDOWN_REASON_AUTOSTOP
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS TiWorker signaled for shutdown, going to exit.
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: ExecutionEngineFinalize
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS Ending the TiWorker main loop.
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS Starting TiWorker finalization.
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: ManifestCacheFinalize
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: ExecutionEngineFinalize
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: ComponentAnalyzerFinalize
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: PackageTrackerFinalize
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: CoreResourcesUnload
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: SessionManagerFinalize
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: CapabilityManagerFinalize
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: PublicObjectMonitorFinalize
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: Enter vCoreInitializeLock
2016-09-22 14:08:18, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: WcpUnload
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: DrupUnload
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: CfgMgr32Unload
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: DpxUnload
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: SrUnload
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: CbsEsdUnload
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: CbsTraceInfoUninitialize
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: CbsEventUnregister
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: AppContainerUnload
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS CbsCoreFinalize: WdsUnload, logging from cbscore will end.
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS Ending TiWorker finalization.
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS Ending the TrustedInstaller main loop.
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS Starting TrustedInstaller finalization.
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS Winlogon: Stopping notify server
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS Winlogon: Unloading SysNotify DLL
2016-09-22 14:08:19, Info CBS Ending TrustedInstaller finalization.
Last edited by julesc on Thu Sep 22, 2016 6:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cwinfield

Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:14 am
Location: Monroe, NC

HTPC Specs: Show details

#19

Post by cwinfield » Thu Sep 22, 2016 6:41 pm

This is the link to the post containing W10 WMC 8.8.1 http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thread ... ost1244333 you need a MDL logon to obtain it. there are several versions with variation v10, v12 & v8.81 are the most widely used.

julesc

Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 3:01 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#20

Post by julesc » Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:36 pm

cwinfield wrote:This is the link to the post containing W10 WMC 8.8.1 http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thread ... ost1244333 you need a MDL logon to obtain it. there are several versions with variation v10, v12 & v8.81 are the most widely used.
Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! This did the trick :D

Post Reply