Page 1 of 1

Wow, it works better than it did on Windows 7

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:57 pm
by w84no1
My setup is WMC on a headless machine running ServerWMC, EMBY, DVBLink, My Channel Logos, Ceton My Media Center, and Guide Tool. I have 4 Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVRs for DirecTV and 2 usb ATSC tuners for OTA channels. I run KODI on various devices at each TV in the house.

I have been running WMC on Windows 7 for years, but when the guide switched over to Rovi my local channels would not update. I would redo the TV setup and they would work for 14 days, then boom no data. So I decided it was time to move my machine to Windows 10, but I still needed WMC. So, I installed Windows 10, then Virtual Box and I created a Windows 7 VM to run WMC. It worked OK and the guide was correct but running WMC through a VM was slow. Channel changes are already slow and running them through a VM made them unbearable.

Then I stumbled upon this forum about running WMC on Windows 10, WOW, I am so glad I did. It took me less than an hour to get everything setup and working. I have been using it for about a month and have had no issues so far. I don't think I went a complete month without issues the whole time I was using WMC on Windows 7.

Re: Wow, it works better than it did on Windows 7

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:16 pm
by STC
Watch out for the Windows 10 update coming soon.

Re: Wow, it works better than it did on Windows 7

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:31 pm
by w84no1
STC wrote:Watch out for the Windows 10 update coming soon.
Yeah, I have deferred updates/upgrades. Hopefully that will give me a couple of months so that it can be patched.

Re: Wow, it works better than it did on Windows 7

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:47 pm
by Scallica
What version of WMC 10 are you using?

Re: Wow, it works better than it did on Windows 7

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:55 pm
by w84no1
Scallica wrote:What version of WMC 10 are you using?
Windows 10 Pro

Re: Wow, it works better than it did on Windows 7

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:02 pm
by scrambler
w84no1 wrote:
Scallica wrote:What version of WMC 10 are you using?
Windows 10 Pro
I think he meant what version of Windows Media Center have you installed on your windows 10 pro.
Normally the latest version available at mydigitallife is v12. But there is a separate branch that has its pluses which is v8.6

Re: Wow, it works better than it did on Windows 7

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:05 pm
by w84no1
scrambler wrote:
w84no1 wrote:
Scallica wrote:What version of WMC 10 are you using?
Windows 10 Pro
I think he meant what version of Windows Media Center have you installed on your windows 10 pro.
Normally the latest version available at mydigitallife is v12. But there is a separate branch that has its pluses which is v8.6
I am using v12