No EPG updates in 3 days

Global guide related discussion. All Windows versions.
webminster

Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

No EPG updates in 3 days

#1

Post by webminster » Thu Jan 21, 2016 2:56 pm

Appears to be another dry spell on Guide downloads, nothing for a couple of days...
-Alan

fzy8gc

Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:41 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by fzy8gc » Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:34 pm

Me too.
One PC stops at 1/25/2016 for the OTA (Tampa - St. Pete OTA). However, the cable channels go to 1/31/2016.

The other PC stopped delivering guide information for OTA (Sarasota OTA) for sub channels, .2, .3, .4, etc. The .1 OTA channels and Dish Network Tampa guide information is just fine except for a few Dish Network missing channels which have been missing since day 1 of ROVI.

webminster

Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by webminster » Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:29 pm

An attempt to run a manual update on my laptop tst machine this morning succeeded, but didn't get any new info (still 11 days). Just tried a couple of manual updates this afternoon... but got immediate "failed to download" errors after a few seconds. Only event log error is the "nettv failed" log, which i get daily anymore without other issue.
-Alan

Space

Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Space » Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:54 pm

I've also gotten no new downloads for the past 2 days (today's update normally comes 15 minutes from now, so will see if it works then).

When you manually initiate an update and it come back with a "success" message after only a short time (< 1 minute) it means there was no new data available for that day (and therefor nothing was downloaded).

If you run it and you get an error message, it appears to mean that the "Client maintenance" (which is normally run every 5 days) has run on that day, which apparently triggers an on-screen error message due to "nettv" download failing for every manual attempt for the rest of the day. Since "nettv" no longer exists, it gives an error. After midnight, manual download attempts seem to go back to report a "success" message quickly and WMC no longer reports an on-screen error because of the "nettv" download failure until the next client maintenance is run. Note that this is just the most likely cause of the error message, there are also other error conditions that can cause the message to be displayed. You can see this stuff in the Windows event viewer.

JaxChris

Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:58 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by JaxChris » Fri Jan 22, 2016 6:01 am

Also have 1/31/16 @ 7pm as the end of guide data for the past 2 days -- Tampa Bay, FIOS

User avatar
Ladislaus

Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 6:52 pm
Location: NJ

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Ladislaus » Fri Jan 22, 2016 6:35 am

I have posted an entry on Microsoft Connect:
https://connect.microsoft.com/site1145/ ... ls/2269994

[As always you must be signed in to Microsoft Connect to be able to resolve the hyperlink above.]

Please upvote this Microsoft Connect entry and add any relevant information about your provider in the comments section.

Thanks & good luck (to us all)!

anotheruser

Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:41 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by anotheruser » Fri Jan 22, 2016 8:10 am

There has been no new EPG data in the last 3 days. Currently my listings run out on 1/31/16 at 6 pm EDT when they should normally go to 2/3.

I tried a zip code half way across the country and got the same end for the listings.

Is anyone else seeing this? Is there any way to report the issue to Microsoft/Rovi?

prje

Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:59 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by prje » Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:22 am

same here, mine ends 2/1. For the last 3 days update logs says "The EpgListings package is already up to date"
zip 02053 Verizon FIOS

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2596
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by Scallica » Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:13 pm

Kyle Creamer from Microsoft is now a member here. I notified him of the EPG issue.

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/mem ... ile&u=8564
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

fzy8gc

Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:41 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by fzy8gc » Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:25 pm

fzy8gc wrote:Me too.
One PC stops at 1/25/2016 for the OTA (Tampa - St. Pete OTA). However, the cable channels go to 1/31/2016.

The other PC stopped delivering guide information for OTA (Sarasota OTA) for sub channels, .2, .3, .4, etc. The .1 OTA channels and Dish Network Tampa guide information is just fine except for a few Dish Network missing channels which have been missing since day 1 of ROVI.
I was able to bring my guide back for the Tampa - St. Pete OTA PC. I had to reset Media Center to do it:

Control Panel==>Administrative Tools==>Task Scheduler
Task Scheduler Library==>Microsoft==>Windows==>Media Center
Run "MediaCenterRecoveryTask" for 1 minute, then end task
Run "ObjectStoreRecoveryTask" for 1 minute, then end task
Reboot
Start Media Center and perform a Custom Restore

Note: You may not have to run both recovery tasks. I think 1 of them just does a program guide recovery, but I am not sure which one. When I run both, I am always able to recover my full guide. You will have to reschedule your "Series" programs and any other scheduled recordings when you run both recovery tasks.

JTScribe

Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:46 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by JTScribe » Fri Jan 22, 2016 6:42 pm

prje wrote:same here, mine ends 2/1. For the last 3 days update logs says "The EpgListings package is already up to date"
zip 02053 Verizon FIOS
Ditto.

RyC

Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by RyC » Fri Jan 22, 2016 7:09 pm

That "up to date" message appears when it pulls a guide update normally, what we're looking for is something like:

Code: Select all

10:42:24 AM - Retrieving EpgListings.
10:42:25 AM - Processing EpgListings.
10:42:25 AM - Retrieving EpgListing-2.enc.
10:42:29 AM - Extracting 28512019_ListingData.mxf.
10:42:32 AM - Processing 28512019_ListingData.mxf.
10:45:21 AM - Processing of EpgListings is complete.
10:45:21 AM - Retrieving EpgListings.
10:45:22 AM - Processing of EpgListings is complete.
10:45:22 AM - The EpgListings package is already up to date.
While the past few days, all it says is:

Code: Select all

10:47:41 AM - Retrieving EpgListings.
10:47:41 AM - Processing of EpgListings is complete.
10:47:41 AM - The EpgListings package is already up to date.
No Extracting of ListingData...

This has happened a few times in the past and the guide data has always started flowing again before it runs out, hopefully it will again this time.

maureeng61

Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 10:28 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by maureeng61 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 8:29 pm

My guide will not update past Feb. 1st. Anyone else having this problem?

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4356
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by Crash2009 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 9:03 pm

If its any help to anyone, I got 9 or 10 days when I reset WMC last night.

I just checked both my systems Infini4 and Prime 3CC.....Both guides end January 31 at 7 pm. For me, its still too early to start messing with it. Thanks for the heads up. If I think of anything to help, I will post for ya.

I think January guide problem has been happening for years. Don't worry, it usually fixes itself. Likely we, all one hundred thousand of us, just make the problem worse by trying to manually update every 5 minutes.

My only suggestion would be to....backup WMC and do the WMC reset with mediacenterrecoverytask and get your 9 days if you don't have 9 all ready.

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by STC » Fri Jan 22, 2016 9:38 pm

How about a guide solution that just works with viable recordable content? Oh that's right sorry it can't do that.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4356
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by Crash2009 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:28 pm

I forgot to mention in the previous post one of my WMC's has the host file edit and the other doesn't. They both end on the same date.

STC, Mine hasn't been too bad, would you like to park a server over here and split the cable bill?

dkrom

Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:39 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#17

Post by dkrom » Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:37 am

Haven't had any issues updating. Feb 1st is the correct date for the guide to be updated to as of today 1/22. I normally have 10 days of guide data.

JohnW248

Posts: 759
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by JohnW248 » Sat Jan 23, 2016 2:54 am

Just check here in Los Angeles (TWC) and have guide data thru Jan 31 BUT TCM runs out on Monday Jan 25 with a bunch of placeholders.

See if you have guide data for other channels, it looks like a Rovi problem, not a MSFT problem.

anotheruser

Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:41 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#19

Post by anotheruser » Sat Jan 23, 2016 3:39 am

Just got a full update with listings through 2/4 7 PM EDT.

No update was available on my prior check within the last 2 hours so this is a recent fix.

thumperyz69

Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 6:49 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#20

Post by thumperyz69 » Sat Jan 23, 2016 4:35 am

We all have gone through the dreaded “Data not available” in the guide for channels since last summer. Now most all of my subchannels are in the this condition. 17-1 and 20-1 are fine – 17.2, 20.2.and 20.3 all say “data not available”.

Anyone ever see this??? Hopefully I don't need reset WMC back to defaults..??

Post Reply