UK EPG Licence Expiring

Global guide related discussion. All Windows versions.
Post Reply
ricardoroberto

Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:33 pm
Location: UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

UK EPG Licence Expiring

#1

Post by ricardoroberto » Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:42 pm

I am in the UK and like many others cannot get any tv updates beyond the next few days.

On checking the licence - Settings/TV/Guide/About Guide Listings - it clearly expires at 11am 6th September.

I have tried some of the recommended fixes with no success and have tried re-installing the tuner set up etc. When this last happened I just left it until it eventually fixed itself but my question is this - is the problem simply due to the licence not being updated or is the licence update just a formality and updated along with a regular EPG download? Any ideas?
I have use of 6 desktops and 1 laptop. I use WMC to record Freeview with both Vista and Windows7.

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by STC » Sun Aug 30, 2015 1:15 pm

Probably a question for JonFincherMSFT at MS via the Connect site
https://connect.microsoft.com/site1145/Feedback

/edited
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

RichardS

Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:21 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by RichardS » Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:31 am

My EPG expired today. That's it, no information from BDS / MS coming through at all. The guide download comes through blank.

I've tried the solutions, Hosts file changes, re-scanned all channels etc etc but nothing.

Going on holiday today for two weeks so no recordings whilst we're away. Brilliant.

Richard

User avatar
kennyken

Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:36 pm
Location: UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by kennyken » Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:49 pm

STC wrote:Probably a question for JonFincherMSFT at MS via the Connect site
https://connect.microsoft.com/site1145/Feedback

/edited

The link does not work for me ? This happened before in the UK and it got resolved after 2 weeks or so the license was finally updated/extended. I don't know if it will be done this time or a tactic to force people to use a newer version of windows well I'm on vista x64 ultimate anyone else ?

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by STC » Tue Sep 01, 2015 7:10 pm

You have to have a MS account. Strange but true....:
https://signup.live.com/signup
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

ricardoroberto

Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:33 pm
Location: UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by ricardoroberto » Tue Sep 01, 2015 7:47 pm

I record tv on both Vista and W7 computers and confirm it has happened with both albeit different licence expiry dates. Vista expired 31st August and W7 on the 6th September.

The odd thing though is that on the W7 computer it has some guide data for one channel (C4) up to the 8th September.
I have use of 6 desktops and 1 laptop. I use WMC to record Freeview with both Vista and Windows7.

pieroxy

Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by pieroxy » Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:33 pm

I came back from vacation last Saturday only to find my EPG empty. I did reset my tuner config and everything went smoothly. EPG downloaded, channels found, but the guide is still empty.

I tried to re-download the guide manually and it says every time that everything went successfully. But I still cannot see anything in the guide which is empty.

I thought it was linked to the current provider change in north america, but France is not in the list of impacted countries. I've tried about 5 different zip codes from all over France to no avail.

One other thing to notice is that there was a power outage during my vacation, so the PC was abruptly shut down.

Does anyone has any idea at what I could try?

Edit: This is a Vista WMC, running smoothly for 5+ years

[Moderator note: topic merged]

User avatar
kennyken

Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:36 pm
Location: UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by kennyken » Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:16 pm

STC wrote:You have to have a MS account. Strange but true....:
https://signup.live.com/signup
Ah apologies for that.

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by STC » Tue Sep 01, 2015 11:05 pm

It's foxed many people, not only yourself.

Luckily, I was already a member ;)

It's completely unintuitive, counter productive and woefully Microsoft 2015. Enjoy.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

User avatar
Vistaar

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:11 pm
Location: United States

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by Vistaar » Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:28 am

ricardoroberto wrote:I record tv on both Vista and W7 computers and confirm it has happened with both albeit different licence expiry dates. Vista expired 31st August and W7 on the 6th September.
In the U.S. guide data for Vista and W7 are different unless Vista has TV Pack, which uses the same data as W7. BTW I am quite convinced that there is no longer any Vista data in the U.S. and have a foreboding that the situation in the UK will turn out the same way, but time will tell. (Installing TV Pack is a drastic step that should be carefully considered.)

Meanwhile, W7 can at least use the 7 days of inband EPG data for Freeview SD channels, but Vista cannot (at least not without TV Pack). Perhaps the best explanation I have seen is CyberSimian's reply in this short thread: http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/vie ... 28&p=64389

User avatar
Vistaar

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:11 pm
Location: United States

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by Vistaar » Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:02 am

Hello pieroxy. In WMC settings select TV > Guide > About Guide Listings. Are the TV listings provided by Broadcasting Dataservices Ltd (BDS)? What was the End Date?

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 653
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by IT Troll » Wed Sep 02, 2015 10:54 am

Hmm, I wonder if this is linked to the changes to the listings detailed here:
http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/vie ... f=5&t=8903

The change is only meant to affect the Americas, but it would seem to be a bit of a coincidence.

MGilbert

Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:18 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by MGilbert » Wed Sep 02, 2015 8:00 pm

Hi, I am getting no guide data beyond the early hours of Sunday 6th September here in the UK. The guide data about page lists Broadcasting Dataservices as the provider with an end date of 06/09/2015. Manual updates appear to work but don't provide any more data. We usually get 14 days of guide. I am wondering if this is another glitch in the relay through Microsoft, or a change in the UK mirroring the Rovi change in the US but not yet causing widespread concern. It is possible my system has some local fault, but it has been working fine for 2 years with Freesat (yes I had to manually tune) so wanted to check this forum to see if anyone else has noticed a problem before I start to do time-consuming things like removing and re-installing WMC along with the inevitable manually retuning all my Freesat stations. I am running Windows 7.

[Moderator note: topic merged; search before posting]

Blue407

Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:41 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by Blue407 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 8:59 pm

I am experiencing the same issue of expiry this weekend on two windows 8.1 WMC installations!

jack_kelly

Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 4:15 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by jack_kelly » Wed Sep 02, 2015 10:28 pm

I am seeing the same issue: the guide says "No data available". This has been an issue since the start of September. I have tried flushing the DNS cache, and asked WMC to download the guide many times (which is claims to do successfully but, on checking the guide, I see there is still "No data available") I'm using Vista64 (without TV pack).

The "ABOUT" page for the TV guide says my guide comes from BDS Broadcasting Dataservices Ltd. ID: 5. Version 2908549628. Freeview - Crystal Palace. ID: 120020. Schema version 5. End date: 8/31/2015 7:00:00 PM.

pieroxy

Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by pieroxy » Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:39 am

Image

Here is the about screen. It basically said that the end date is Aug 31 2015

jack_kelly

Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 4:15 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#17

Post by jack_kelly » Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:47 am

Has anyone informed Microsoft of this issue? If not, does way one know how we report this issue to Microsoft? Maybe they simply aren't aware of the issue?

Blue407

Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:41 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by Blue407 » Thu Sep 03, 2015 6:22 am

I have reported it to Microsoft:-

https://connect.microsoft.com/site1145/Feedback

Find my report for the UK and vote it up.

You may need. MS account to login with first.

jack_kelly

Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 4:15 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#19

Post by jack_kelly » Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:16 am

Good work Blue407. I have voted up both of your bug reports.

For those of you who, like me, did not have an MS account: you need to sign up *twice*. First get an MS account. Then sign up for an "MS Connect" account (which I think is associated with your MS account). Without both of these things, you'll see "page not available" when you click on Blue407's link above.

Blue407

Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:41 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#20

Post by Blue407 » Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:37 am

I also noticed that somebody else had already reported it, so I voted theirs up too!

Post Reply