Media Center EPG Cutover

Global guide related discussion. All Windows versions.
webminster

Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: Media Center EPG Cutover

#61

Post by webminster » Fri Jul 10, 2015 11:28 pm

I just got hit by several anomalies in Guide updates this morning... is this a possible reason, or just a slew of bizarre happenings?

* Channel 739 (FX HD) here had a whole day of just "FX programming", with real programming showing starting at 6pm.
* A bunch of scheduled recording I cancelled suddenly reappeared on the recording schedule.
* A scheduled recording of "7 News" (series recording) for some reason is missing off of one day, only one day thus far.

I note this morning (7/10) there were a lot of mcupdate errors in the event log ("2:53:09 AM - Failed to retrieve nettv (Error: PackageName is invalid.)"

Maybe only a one-day mess... but wondering WTF happened, everything had been working well for a while...

And... just checked "about guide"... and does now show Rovi.
-Alan

webminster

Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#62

Post by webminster » Fri Jul 10, 2015 11:42 pm

Is there some Rovi web site where you can see the schedule, like zap2it's web site has?
-Alan

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#63

Post by STC » Fri Jul 10, 2015 11:45 pm

^ I have been trying to find that out including a contact mechanism for missing channels/changes. No luck yet.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

harbisd

Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:32 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#64

Post by harbisd » Sat Jul 11, 2015 12:04 am

Tvguide.com listings appear to have the same headend names as the TV signal setup in WMC does now that I was switched to Rovi. So they probably pull their data from them.

I can't find any way to contact Rovi. Their website contact form seems to require you to be a service provider or other direct customer in order to talk to them. End users don't seem to have a way to let them know about errors. I hope someone finds a way, as my channel lineup is completely wrong now.

It seems Microsoft has been using them as the data provider for the Xbox One OneGuide since it was released. On the Xbox forums there are multiple complaints about incorrect listings and no way to leave feedback or that feedback left through Microsoft was completely ignored. Doesn't bode well.

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#65

Post by STC » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:30 am

By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

tzr916

Posts: 445
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 11:56 pm
Location: Stockton CA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#66

Post by tzr916 » Sat Jul 11, 2015 1:48 pm

tzr916 wrote:removed host file fix
flushed dns
rebooted PC
re-ran WMC tv setup
same markets to choose from
setup completed
still says Zap2it through 7/22
manual guide update added two more days to 7/24 but still says Zap2it

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#67

Post by STC » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:09 pm

Mine is still zap2it, but has stuck on 22/07 2:00am for the last three days.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

DOS4EVER

Posts: 193
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 1:24 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#68

Post by DOS4EVER » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:15 pm

I am getting a download failure when trying to setup the TV again. It says, "The new TV setup data could not be downloaded." Anyone else running into this problem?

Also, when I try to ping data.tvdownload.microsoft.com I get "Request timed out" errors. Is that related to my problem?

NNate

Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#69

Post by NNate » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:39 pm

DOS4EVER wrote:I am getting a download failure when trying to setup the TV again. It says, "The new TV setup data could not be downloaded." Anyone else running into this problem?

Also, when I try to ping data.tvdownload.microsoft.com I get "Request timed out" errors. Is that related to my problem?
Yes, I got it too. I'm already on the Rovio guide, but I wanted to see what my other guide options were. I tried multiple times and had the same result.

DOS4EVER

Posts: 193
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 1:24 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#70

Post by DOS4EVER » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:48 pm

NNate wrote:
DOS4EVER wrote:I am getting a download failure when trying to setup the TV again. It says, "The new TV setup data could not be downloaded." Anyone else running into this problem?

Also, when I try to ping data.tvdownload.microsoft.com I get "Request timed out" errors. Is that related to my problem?
Yes, I got it too. I'm already on the Rovio guide, but I wanted to see what my other guide options were. I tried multiple times and had the same result.
Ugh. My guide is all screwed up since the Rovi switch and now I can't even set up the guide again. Come on, Microsoft.

Tester

Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#71

Post by Tester » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:52 pm

Like beggehorn in post #34, I also formatted my system with fresh copy of Win7x64. I also cannot download guide data.
Following instructions to flush out new IP and still no data.

Tried the following without success:
65.55.5.170 data.tvdownload.microsoft.com
2.16.216.176 cdn.epg.tvdownload.microsoft.com

65.55.186.113 data.tvdownload.microsoft.com
72.246.56.59 cdn.epg.tvdownload.microsoft.com

Also, noob question, I am unable to find where you guys see the guide's provider.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thx

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#72

Post by STC » Sat Jul 11, 2015 3:35 pm

If Microsoft are in the process of updating DNS, they're doing it very badly.

As far as rerunning setup, I'd only be doing so, once a problem is discovered, as performing setup prematurely could lead to a non working guide, temporarily, hopefully.
Whilst I haven't had a fresh update in three days with zap2it, my guide is still operable.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

glorp

Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:54 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#73

Post by glorp » Sat Jul 11, 2015 3:51 pm

DOS4EVER wrote:I am getting a download failure when trying to setup the TV again. It says, "The new TV setup data could not be downloaded." Anyone else running into this problem?

Also, when I try to ping data.tvdownload.microsoft.com I get "Request timed out" errors. Is that related to my problem?
Those servers reject ICMP/ping requests. You can attempt to connect in a browser https://... (and you can use a specific IP here or the domain name, either one). You should get an immediate 403 Error (Unauthorized)indicating a successful connect to the server, but it should connect and not just hang or time out indicating a useless/broken IP.

Tester

Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#74

Post by Tester » Sat Jul 11, 2015 4:08 pm

glorp, I used your suggestion to check the IPs I listed in post #71. Following your logic, it seems 65.55.5.170 & 2.16.216.176 are down/broken.
But 65.55.186.113 & 72.246.56.59 are 403 Error working.

Yet I am still unable to download a guide, any suggestions ?

chadg

Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2015 4:09 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#75

Post by chadg » Sat Jul 11, 2015 4:15 pm

I just built a brand new 8.1 box and I'm getting the dreaded "Can downlaod gude data" message. :( I tried the google DNS, no luck. Hope we find a solution soon....

glorp

Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:54 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#76

Post by glorp » Sat Jul 11, 2015 4:19 pm

I suspect initial TV set up may use different URLs for the data packages than the ones for daily guide downloads. I recall that in a discussion somewhere in these forums at one point but can't recall ever seeing a specific URL for the set up data. I was pretty impressed someone knew the guide download URLs in the first place.

When I connect to https://65.55.5.170 I get an immediate 403 error, indicating it is "OK". That is also the IP I get handed by my default DNS (nslookup data.tvdownload....). Are you saying you get a different result when testing 65.55.5.170? That would be yet another mystery as I have been getting successful daily guide updates (including last nights') and am also showing Rovi as the guide provider now.

DOS4EVER

Posts: 193
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 1:24 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#77

Post by DOS4EVER » Sat Jul 11, 2015 4:28 pm

Sounds like we're all having a common issue. It was working for me last night so it seems like this problem started within the past few hours.

Tester

Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#78

Post by Tester » Sat Jul 11, 2015 4:49 pm

@glorp. I stand corrected, 65.55.5.170 does also work.
According to beggehorn in post #34, he/she was able to resolve the issue by changing the IPs from a clean format.
I have tried the initial TV setup, then changed the IPs and still same issue.

How does one check/verify the guide provider, I looked everywhere and cannot find it. Clearly I am missing it.

Lastly, is there a way to manual update the guide instead of using the TV Setup ?

DOS4EVER

Posts: 193
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 1:24 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#79

Post by DOS4EVER » Sat Jul 11, 2015 4:54 pm

Tester wrote:@glorp. I stand corrected, 65.55.5.170 does also work.
According to beggehorn in post #34, he/she was able to resolve the issue by changing the IPs from a clean format.
I have tried the initial TV setup, then changed the IPs and still same issue.

How does one check/verify the guide provider, I looked everywhere and cannot find it. Clearly I am missing it.

Lastly, is there a way to manual update the guide instead of using the TV Setup ?
I'm not sure how to find that information, but the pattern suggests that this is a Microsoft issue and we probably just have to wait until they fix it.

glorp

Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:54 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#80

Post by glorp » Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:02 pm

OK. Good to know x.5.170 is live for you as well.

Tasks > TV > Guide. You should find options for "About Guide Listings" and also "Get Latest Guide Listings".

In the About, you should see some info for each guide ID (there may be more than one) indicating who the provider is. Not sure what state you are in if you've failed tv setup. That option to get latest listings is for previously set up guides.

Locked