Guide Data Outage - 2019 Summer Edition

Global guide related discussion. All Windows versions.
davidhp

HTPC Specs: Show details

Guide Data Outage - 2019 Summer Edition

Post by davidhp » Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:30 am

Thought with more outages in recent months, time for a new thread for 2019.

Chalres

Post by Chalres » Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:50 pm

So I'm new to all this. How long does it typically take before the guide downloads start working again?

davidhp

Post by davidhp » Thu Jun 20, 2019 3:09 pm

I informed Rovi of the error message on failure to connect to remote server, they responded: Hi David,

We will reach out to Microsoft to ensure they are aware of the issue and can work to resolve it.

Thank you,
Miranda

Chalres Rovi has already contacted Microsoft, now Microsoft has to fix it. They can take anywhere from a day to over a week to fix the problem.

adam1991

Post by adam1991 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:48 pm

Chalres wrote: Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:50 pm So I'm new to all this. How long does it typically take before the guide downloads start working again?
It varies.

For a long while, the people involved took care of it pretty quickly. Then about 18-24 months ago the problem hung on so long, it passed my tolerance level. I was down to three days of guide, with no end in sight. I took the plunge and dumped the Rovi stuff.

But right after I did that the guide came back, and the last several times it's happened it's come back up in a reasonable time (according to the people here).

But there are no guarantees.

Short answer: there is no "typical".

Slightly longer answer: the alternative guide product has never burped like this at all even once, never mind going away for several days.

garyh140

Post by garyh140 » Fri Jun 21, 2019 10:59 am

any updates? My Guide has been out for about 24 hours (it's friday 6/21 7am edt)

Chalres

Post by Chalres » Fri Jun 21, 2019 12:23 pm