Is there a way to remove guide data images?

Global guide related discussion. All Windows versions.
Post Reply
dgraff1

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:39 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Is there a way to remove guide data images?

#1

Post by dgraff1 » Wed May 01, 2019 10:21 pm

First post.

I have been using WMC for 6 years. No insurmountable problems but there is one annoyance.

At random, I will get either a few or sometimes many erroneous images in the guide . For example, right now in the guide, if I select Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer, at the bottom of the screen the program description is correct but the image is from "The Wild Wild West" series. Admittedly funny at times but also annoying.

Is there a way to suppress these images entirely (don't really need 'em) and just display the program description ?


Thanks so much for any help.

stuartm

Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Longmont, CO

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by stuartm » Wed May 01, 2019 11:31 pm

I don't know how to suppress the images but this problem has been in the guide at least since the Rovi data switchover. You can of course switch to using epg123 for guide data and it does not have this problem.

dgraff1

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:39 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by dgraff1 » Wed May 01, 2019 11:48 pm

In the thread linked below, a member named HTbrucem posted this:

"I had the lmhosts redirect in place for a few months to eliminate ALL thumbnails."

Anyone have an idea about what this means or can point me to a thread with more details ?

viewtopic.php?f=96&t=9446&p=101112&hili ... s#p101112

Space

Posts: 1563
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Space » Thu May 02, 2019 3:46 am

I believe this is referencing editing the hosts file on your system so that DNS lookups of the domain that hosts the images does not return the correct IP address. In this way images will not be downloaded (although images that have already been downloaded and cached will still be there, I suppose).

Here is a post about doing this.

More info on how to edit hosts file:
https://helpdeskgeek.com/windows-7/wind ... osts-file/

dgraff1

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:39 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by dgraff1 » Thu May 02, 2019 1:43 pm

I implemented that change to my hosts file this morning and all images have been suppressed.

A huge thank you to everyone here and especially the member named space. We very much appreciate all the help !

Space

Posts: 1563
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Space » Thu May 02, 2019 1:46 pm

You're welcome!

Post Reply