Page 1 of 4

Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:10 pm
by DavidinCT
Hey all,

I know there is a http://www.youtube.com/tv site that will work with a remote. From what I have seen it works pretty well. If you try to go to it on a PC you will get an error of "You tube TV is not supported on this device" (even with Re-launch)

Anyone find a work-a-round to get it in WMC ?

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:39 pm
by mdavej
Works for me in Chrome on a PC.

Try this URL:

https://www.youtube.com/tv#/browse-sets ... ult&resume

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:59 pm
by 3rob3
DavidinCT wrote:Hey all,

I know there is a http://www.youtube.com/tv site that will work with a remote. From what I have seen it works pretty well. If you try to go to it on a PC you will get an error of "You tube TV is not supported on this device" (even with Re-launch)

Anyone find a work-a-round to get it in WMC ?
Pretty sure it only works in Chrome.

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 2:55 pm
by DavidinCT
mdavej wrote:Works for me in Chrome on a PC.

Try this URL:

https://www.youtube.com/tv#/browse-sets ... ult&resume
Interesting. I tried this on Windows 10 with IE 11 (not Edge) and it worked PERFECT but, in Windows 7, it gives me the same error "You tube TV is not supported on this device"". If I set YouTube.com to compatibly mode in IE, it just shows a full Red screen with a white youtube logo.

I assume you can use Chrome or Firefox (it worked in firefox in WIndows 10 too) with ReLaunch ?

Not a big Chrome fan so if Firefox would work, I would install that on my HTPC...

Edit: Tried firefox, failure, Tried Chrome, worked perfect, sweet. When I run it the mouse curser sits in the middle of the screen, any way to disable it just for that session ?

And after running it once, a little popup Chrome didn't close properly... any way to hide that ?

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:41 pm
by mdavej
Cool. Unfortunately I don't know what to do about the cursor.

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:52 am
by newfiend
To hide the mouse cursor you can use this...
http://www.softwareok.com/?Download=AutoHideMouseCursor
Keep in mind that if you use this you will need to disable it if you use STEAM on that same PC. You will run into conflicts with Games if you leave it enabled using STEAM.

To get rid of the "Chrome did not close successfully bar" at the top ..

From the Desktop launch Chrome. Clear the drop down box that says it didn't close properly.

Close Chrome.

Open Windows Explorer and navigate to %LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default
Find the Preferences file, Right click it and select properties. Under Attributes check mark the box Read-only, click Apply, then OK.
All Login's etc. used in chrome (You-Tube Log-in with Relaunch etc.) must be done prior to setting the preference file "read only".

If you still get the bar after setting preferences file to "read only" then reset the preferences file so it is no longer read only.. then do the next step below..

Launch Chrome > type About:Flags in the address bar and scroll through the list until you find better session restore and disable it. Then set the preferences file in %LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default to read only again.

The last time I did this I only had to set the preference file to read only to get rid of the "chrome did not close properly" bar with the latest version of chrome installed.
HTH,
newfiend~

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:23 am
by DavidinCT
newfiend wrote:To hide the mouse cursor you can use this...
http://www.softwareok.com/?Download=AutoHideMouseCursor
Keep in mind that if you use this you will need to disable it if you use STEAM on that same PC. You will run into conflicts with Games if you leave it enabled using STEAM.

To get rid of the "Chrome did not close successfully bar" at the top ..

From the Desktop launch Chrome. Clear the drop down box that says it didn't close properly.

Close Chrome.

Open Windows Explorer and navigate to %LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default
Find the Preferences file, Right click it and select properties. Under Attributes check mark the box Read-only, click Apply, then OK.
All Login's etc. used in chrome (You-Tube Log-in with Relaunch etc.) must be done prior to setting the preference file "read only".

If you still get the bar after setting preferences file to "read only" then reset the preferences file so it is no longer read only.. then do the next step below..

Launch Chrome > type About:Flags in the address bar and scroll through the list until you find better session restore and disable it. Then set the preferences file in %LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default to read only again.

The last time I did this I only had to set the preference file to read only to get rid of the "chrome did not close properly" bar with the latest version of chrome installed.
HTH,
newfiend~
Thanks Bro, I'll give this a shot tonight, I see where your going with it, Just didn't really use Chrome that much (Ya know that Google taking over the world thing... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7yfV6RzE30 )

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 7:57 pm
by newfiend
Ya I use chrome for YouTube in WMC.. That's all. In fact after awhile I just removed that too.

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 5:32 pm
by DavidinCT
I never updated this. This works AWESOME. I have Youtube built into my 4k TV and it's the same thing. So I used Relaunch to set it up, it's fast and easy to use. I would only wish that all the transport keys worked in it but, it's easy enough to get around to deal with.

Now if there was any other streaming websites that were designed for a TV that would work like this it would give me more options for streaming sources....

Thanks again for the ideas to try to get this working...

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 11:03 pm
by newfiend
Glad this worked out for you. I have to give props for this solution where there due.. Staknhalo helped me with this a year or so back when I wanted to add YouTube to WMC. He's the one who taught me about auto hide cursor and setting the preference file "read only". Ed's a damn smart guy. :thumbup:
newfiend~

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:10 pm
by Crash2009
Any of you guys ever use WebM to upgrade older IE browsers, (within Win7), and eliminate the need for Chrome. I don't remember exactly why I installed this. (many projects ago) I might have installed it so my older browsers could watch Live TV from Emby without installing the Emby Client.

http://www.webmproject.org/users/

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:51 pm
by newfiend
Crash2009 wrote:Any of you guys ever use WebM to upgrade older IE browsers, (within Win7), and eliminate the need for Chrome. I don't remember exactly why I installed this. (many projects ago) I might have installed it so my older browsers could watch Live TV from Emby without installing the Emby Client.

http://www.webmproject.org/users/
I installed it when I used Emby.. I think (and it's been awhile now) that when I tinkered with EmbyTV it was a requirement at one point... tbh I don't remember why exactly.
newfiend~

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 5:09 am
by Will Pittenger
For the most part, I end up just downloading the video with Pale Moon and the FlashGot extension. Then I can do things that Google's sites won't allow—like fast forwarding and rewind. Plus, it never needs to pause for buffering.

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Fri May 06, 2016 1:41 am
by JackLuminous
Looks just...like..the YouTube app on Xbox..

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 6:57 am
by jbamford92
I'm using a program called Relauch and YouTube TV works perfectly fine even the remote works. FYI I'm using Windows 7 Media Center not 8 or 10.

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 5:41 pm
by DavidinCT
jbamford92 wrote:I'm using a program called Relauch and YouTube TV works perfectly fine even the remote works. FYI I'm using Windows 7 Media Center not 8 or 10.
Same here, been using it on WIndows 7 WMC..... Anyway about it, if your looking for a machine OS for WMC...Windows 7 is the best one...

My primary HTPC is on 7....I have a dual boot setup and I tried 8.1 and 10....Still using 7 all the time...

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 1:26 am
by jbamford92
DavidinCT wrote:
jbamford92 wrote:I'm using a program called Relauch and YouTube TV works perfectly fine even the remote works. FYI I'm using Windows 7 Media Center not 8 or 10.
Same here, been using it on WIndows 7 WMC..... Anyway about it, if your looking for a machine OS for WMC...Windows 7 is the best one...

My primary HTPC is on 7....I have a dual boot setup and I tried 8.1 and 10....Still using 7 all the time...
I generally think Windows 7 is the best one for a HTPC. Everything works but one thing doesn't is the Guide Listings until you select the channel.

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:49 pm
by DavidinCT
jbamford92 wrote:
DavidinCT wrote:
jbamford92 wrote:I'm using a program called Relauch and YouTube TV works perfectly fine even the remote works. FYI I'm using Windows 7 Media Center not 8 or 10.
Same here, been using it on WIndows 7 WMC..... Anyway about it, if your looking for a machine OS for WMC...Windows 7 is the best one...

My primary HTPC is on 7....I have a dual boot setup and I tried 8.1 and 10....Still using 7 all the time...
I generally think Windows 7 is the best one for a HTPC. Everything works but one thing doesn't is the Guide Listings until you select the channel.
Just remember, Windows Media Center (the version we are using on 7/8/ or hacked on 10) WAS designed around Windows 7. In WMC's big days, it was being updated all the time and all 3rd party hardware was tested on 7. When they went to 8.1, they "patched it" to work on 8.1 in the processes they removed some features on it, so it just proves more and more, if you want WMC 7 is your OS.

If your building a WMC machine.... unless you NEED a feature from 8.1...you should stick with Windows 7..

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:28 am
by ThunderboltsRock
Wincast cast addin for WMC works and also allows you to send youtube selection from you phone to your tv, pause etc from phone but hasn't been supported for sometime and seems to work intermittently

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 3:47 pm
by DavidinCT
newfiend wrote:To hide the mouse cursor you can use this...
http://www.softwareok.com/?Download=AutoHideMouseCursor
Keep in mind that if you use this you will need to disable it if you use STEAM on that same PC. You will run into conflicts with Games if you leave it enabled using STEAM.

To get rid of the "Chrome did not close successfully bar" at the top ..

From the Desktop launch Chrome. Clear the drop down box that says it didn't close properly.

Close Chrome.

Open Windows Explorer and navigate to %LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default
Find the Preferences file, Right click it and select properties. Under Attributes check mark the box Read-only, click Apply, then OK.
All Login's etc. used in chrome (You-Tube Log-in with Relaunch etc.) must be done prior to setting the preference file "read only".

If you still get the bar after setting preferences file to "read only" then reset the preferences file so it is no longer read only.. then do the next step below..

Launch Chrome > type About:Flags in the address bar and scroll through the list until you find better session restore and disable it. Then set the preferences file in %LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default to read only again.

The last time I did this I only had to set the preference file to read only to get rid of the "chrome did not close properly" bar with the latest version of chrome installed.
HTH,
newfiend~
Ran into a new issue on this, this just started a week ago.... (I use a LOT of YouTube), it now always has a line across the top "Chrome is not the default browser" with a button to change it. I DONT want Chrome as my default browser. Going in settings in Chrome only gives an option to set it as default, no option to stop checking if it's the default.

Anyone run into a way to disable this message ? There is a way through the command lime to do no default browser check but, I setup this with ReLaunch, any way to edit the file it created so it runs with the switch to disable the check ?

Its' really annoying and with the restrictions I set on chrome, I ONLY want it to be used for YoutubeTV (and it works perfect besides this)

Anyone know where I can edit the MCL so I can add the "-no-default-browser-check" or the "-disable-infobars" to Chrome so I can disable this ?

Note, I also want the...Hit the green button to close chrome and go back to WMC...