Youtube TV in WMC ?

tonywagner

Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:53 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: Youtube TV in WMC ?

#41

Post by tonywagner » Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:16 pm

If anyone is interested, here's a Reddit thread with some more detailed discussion about the user-agent workaround:

https://www.reddit.com/r/HTPC/comments/ ... ternative/

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1434
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#42

Post by DavidinCT » Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:43 pm

tonywagner wrote:
Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:16 pm
If anyone is interested, here's a Reddit thread with some more detailed discussion about the user-agent workaround:

https://www.reddit.com/r/HTPC/comments/ ... ternative/
Thanks for the link (I live on Reddit)

Found in that thread....

Code: Select all

chrome.exe --start-fullscreen --user-agent="Mozilla/5.0 (Web0S; Linux/SmartTV) AppleWebKit/538.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Large Screen Safari/538.2 LG Browser/7.00.00(LGE; 24LF4820-BU; 03.20.14; 1; DTV_W15L); webOS.TV-2015; LG NetCast.TV-2013 Compatible (LGE, 24LF4820-BU, wireless)" https://www.youtube.com/tv
On Windows 10, ran that command and bing it worked...(if it does not work on first go, clean up all temp/cookies then try again)

I'll test with changing my link in ReLanuch and moving my iCON...

AWESOME !
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1434
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#43

Post by DavidinCT » Mon Nov 18, 2019 5:00 pm

DavidinCT wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:43 pm
tonywagner wrote:
Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:16 pm
If anyone is interested, here's a Reddit thread with some more detailed discussion about the user-agent workaround:

https://www.reddit.com/r/HTPC/comments/ ... ternative/
Thanks for the link (I live on Reddit)

Found in that thread....

Code: Select all

chrome.exe --start-fullscreen --user-agent="Mozilla/5.0 (Web0S; Linux/SmartTV) AppleWebKit/538.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Large Screen Safari/538.2 LG Browser/7.00.00(LGE; 24LF4820-BU; 03.20.14; 1; DTV_W15L); webOS.TV-2015; LG NetCast.TV-2013 Compatible (LGE, 24LF4820-BU, wireless)" https://www.youtube.com/tv
On Windows 10, ran that command and bing it worked...(if it does not work on first go, clean up all temp/cookies then try again)

I'll test with changing my link in ReLanuch and moving my iCON...

AWESOME !
Tried this on my Windows 7 HTPC... and I just get a white screen...oh, well... back to the drawing board.
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

User avatar
aquadextrous

Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:09 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#44

Post by aquadextrous » Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:27 am

I have managed to get this working (almost) perfectly using MCE Reset ToolBox (Other launchers may work, I have not tried with ReLaunch as it never seems to work properly for me.) I have had to create a batch file to make it work, then create an application in MCE RTB pointing to the batch file. When I first did this YouTube would load correctly but upon exiting when WMC loaded back up there would be an MCE Reset Toolbox error on screen and this error box would not be in focus for the remote meaning having to get the mouse to click it. Simply adding a kill (and also a delay as sometimes WMC would pop back up) to WMC in the batch file fixes this. WMC doesn't then automatically restart upon exiting YouTube so it requires pressing of the green button, but no more annoying errors on screen and reaching for the mouse so this works for me.



I hope this helps anyone struggling to get YouTube TV working on their WMC PC


Code: Select all

start C:\Progra~2\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe --start-fullscreen --user-agent="Mozilla/5.0 (SMART-TV; Linux; Tizen 4.0.0.2) AppleWebkit/605.1.15 (KHTML, like Gecko) SamsungBrowser/9.2 TV Safari/605.1.15" https://www.youtube.com/tv"
Sleep 5
TASKKILL /IM ehshell.exe/code]

Post Reply