Netflix "Adjusting for better playback..."

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4355
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Re: Netflix "Adjusting for better playback..."

#21

Post by Crash2009 » Fri May 15, 2015 4:38 am

AtomicCEO wrote:
3rob3 wrote:
AtomicCEO wrote:To clarify, this does not appear to have been caused by a Windows update.
Oh, ok. Strange then and probably Silverlight related. Do you guys run the Netflix search fix posted here on the forums?
Yes, I did a while back.
Crash2009 wrote:
AtomicCEO wrote: I had auto updates disabled, and didn't do any manually, and it started happening to me.
Even though you have auto update disabled, in some cases, Critical Updates can still get through.

What are you using for antivirus?
I don't think I allow any updates, not even important ones. I am not using anti-virus.
I was just confirming that you were not using MSE, which does invite Critical Updates even though Updates have been turned off. Looks like the solution is going in a different direction anyway. Thanks for eliminating Windows Updates. That's always my first suspect.

blupupher

Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:27 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#22

Post by blupupher » Fri May 15, 2015 4:57 am

Doing it for me too on 3 computers. I hope it is just another short time glitch.

AtomicCEO

Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:14 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#23

Post by AtomicCEO » Fri May 15, 2015 5:01 am

Just FYI, I tried monkeying with Silverlight versions, and on a whim I tried enabling NPAPI (Silverlight ability) in Chrome, but that didn't help either.

Jlunman, Is that failing line of script something that's in the WMC Netflix app (MS issue), or is it something that's getting downloaded from Netflix's web server (netflix issue)?

Just13d

Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#24

Post by Just13d » Fri May 15, 2015 12:56 pm

Count me in with the broken Netflix app.

audinutt

Posts: 114
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 2:43 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#25

Post by audinutt » Fri May 15, 2015 12:59 pm


cyrano

Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 12:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#26

Post by cyrano » Fri May 15, 2015 2:51 pm

Barb Bowman, Community Moderator at "Microsoft Community" reports: "Microsoft is aware of this issue and is investigating with Netflix. If I receive updates on the situation, I will post them here."(Microsoft Community)

audinutt

Posts: 114
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 2:43 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#27

Post by audinutt » Fri May 15, 2015 3:35 pm

Yes,

I created the microsoft question and attempted to speak with them on the phone the other day.
They wanted $99 to "fix it" which I doubt would have worked.
I am about to go out of town otherwise I would have entertained the notion.

I am hoping microsoft and netflix can work together to resolve this issue.
In the meantime, if you have the problem please CALL netflix and complain!

-R

TV_MCE

Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:04 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#28

Post by TV_MCE » Fri May 15, 2015 7:59 pm

I see the error on multiple Win 7 SP1 systems also.

I posted this in the Microsoft Connect Media Center Program Guide Data Feedback page:
https://connect.microsoft.com/site1145/ ... ls/1336299

Please vote it up!

I also clicked on the "Me To" link at:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 1719517696

I also called Netflix on 5/15 and logged this error in detail with a supervisor and the technical team, after dispensing with the usual "Media Center Netflix plugin wasn't intended to work with Netflix" garbage.

jlunman

Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 1:40 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#29

Post by jlunman » Fri May 15, 2015 9:08 pm

Jlunman, Is that failing line of script something that's in the WMC Netflix app (MS issue), or is it something that's getting downloaded from Netflix's web server (netflix issue)?
It's in the javascript file from Netflix, so it would be much quicker and easier for Netflix engineers to fix it, simply by adding a bit of error handling around that statement.

AtomicCEO

Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:14 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#30

Post by AtomicCEO » Fri May 15, 2015 10:21 pm

jlunman wrote:
Jlunman, Is that failing line of script something that's in the WMC Netflix app (MS issue), or is it something that's getting downloaded from Netflix's web server (netflix issue)?
It's in the javascript file from Netflix, so it would be much quicker and easier for Netflix engineers to fix it, simply by adding a bit of error handling around that statement.
Good, that's what I told Netflix support. I'm glad I wasn't just making stuff up. :)

User avatar
newfiend

Posts: 2495
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: Earth

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#31

Post by newfiend » Sat May 16, 2015 12:39 am

So i just installed a couple windows updates tonight on my Win 8.1 HTPC. launched Netflix in WMC and its working for me. Anyone else confirm its working again for them?

etc6849

Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:13 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#32

Post by etc6849 » Sat May 16, 2015 1:07 am

It's fixed! I'm using Windows 7 with WMC.

User avatar
newfiend

Posts: 2495
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: Earth

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#33

Post by newfiend » Sat May 16, 2015 2:29 am

I don't know if one of the updates fixed it or if MS fixed it on the backend with Netflix but glad to see it working again.

mdavej

Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:52 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#34

Post by mdavej » Sat May 16, 2015 2:34 am

Yep, fixed here too. Search is still broken. Can't have everything I guess. I'm shocked they (Netflix?) fixed it so quickly. Must be on the back end since there have been no new updates.

While we have their attention, we should push to get Search fixed too.

AtomicCEO

Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:14 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#35

Post by AtomicCEO » Sat May 16, 2015 4:13 am

It started working for me without any updates.

Thanks, Netflix!

jlunman

Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 1:40 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#36

Post by jlunman » Sat May 16, 2015 11:49 am

mdavej wrote:Yep, fixed here too. Search is still broken. Can't have everything I guess. I'm shocked they (Netflix?) fixed it so quickly. Must be on the back end since there have been no new updates.

While we have their attention, we should push to get Search fixed too.
Actually, I already created a solution for the search. See http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/vie ... 733#p78733

mdavej

Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:52 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#37

Post by mdavej » Sat May 16, 2015 2:09 pm

I know. I use it and am very grateful. Just would be nice for MS to fix it.

jlunman

Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 1:40 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#38

Post by jlunman » Sat May 16, 2015 3:31 pm

Ah, yes that would be nice... But that one's on Microsoft, not Netflix. And I long ago stopped holding my breath expecting Microsoft to fix anything related to Media Center.

BubbaGeek

Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 4:14 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#39

Post by BubbaGeek » Sat May 16, 2015 4:49 pm

Hello,
Noob to this forum however I have a possible fix. Encountered this issue a few days ago Microsoft Silverlight update for Netflix was updated.
Currently running WMC with W7 Ultimate

Uninstall through Control Panel from add/remove programs New Microsoft Silverlight update.
reboot computer(not usually necessary but this is what I did)
From WMC open Netflix app it just after you click on any program(movie)and click play you will be asked to install Silverlight app. It was a little buggy at first install seemed to stall but the launcher finally came up and installed. rebooted again and seems to be working as previously.
Hope this helps! I know some day this will all end but for now..

rytomi

Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:52 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#40

Post by rytomi » Sat May 16, 2015 9:23 pm

I can confirm the Netflix plugin is working again on Windows Vista, Windows 7, and Windows 8.1 WMC. My machine did not install any additional updates, so I believe the fix was performed on Netflix's end.

Post Reply