The end of Macrotube?

JonDeutsch

Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 9:46 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

The end of Macrotube?

Post by JonDeutsch » Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:33 pm

Macrotube has stopped working for me with YouTube over the last few weeks. I know it broke a few months ago, and some resourceful soul figured out how to update the XML file, and MacroTube started streaming YouTube again successfully.

Now, even though I re-downloaded the new XML again, it's still not working for me.

I've corroborated this with a friend who also finds MacroTube not working, so it seems to be more than just my PC. However, I'm surprised I haven't read more about it online. So, are we the only ones? Is MacroTube still working for others? If so, perhaps you can attach a zip file of your xml directory?

Any info appreciated! MacroTube is the ONLY app that makes WMC anything close to a contemporary media center. It's centered around last-generation media (physical & cable), and has almost no growth in the area of nextgen media (internet & streaming). A shame. Apps like MacroTube are critical. Would love to see MSFT come out with some official apps for the mainstream video & audio streaming services... but I'm not holding my breath.

Cheers,
Jon

User avatar
bbusato

Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by bbusato » Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:37 pm

I'm on the same boat, my YouTube stopped working as well. I found the fix created by Jon on theHTPC.net but it no longer works as YouTube has updated their settings on their website once again. I wish I knew how to fix it myself but I don't.

Does anyone out there know how to get in touch with Jasmio or the creator of MacroTube?

rickybeef

Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:06 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by rickybeef » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:19 pm

Same thing here. I tried the YouTube HD option on there, which worked for a while, but even that appears to have stopped working now. I quite happily pay for this YouTube add-on to be working again.

rcscs

Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by rcscs » Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:26 pm

Hi,
For what its worth - I've taken a look at the contents of the youtubehd.xml and from what I can make out (and others may correct me on this) I think this XML file only provides the necessary information for providing a list of youtube videos to display in MacroTube - it does not contain the parameters for playing the video itself - and this would seem to be the bit at which MacroTube is now failing. I think the original developer will need to revisit the original program code and issue an update in order to get this working again. :(

I've had a look a MCE SDK in times gone by but it all seems a bit complicated to my mind (and I'm a fairly experienced VB.NET programmer). I'd love to be able to write a replacement myself as I can see there is a demand for it (even as a paid addon) but I suspect I would find the learning curve pretty steep and ultimately not worth pursuing... :(

Fleadh

Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:26 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by Fleadh » Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:37 pm

is this the prob where macro tube looks like it wants to play a video but just doesnt?

Pita that was, I ditched it and just use youtube on kylo.

hotbuddha

Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:01 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by hotbuddha » Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:22 am

I had the same problem. Looked at the C# code in the xml and researched, found out that the code does not work with recent YouTube updates to their download links. I found some example sites that allow downloads and tried to reverse engineer a fix using the get_movie_info code, but YouTube removes part of the URL and jumps some of the other stuff around. I'll work on it some more tomorrow if I have time, think I am close to fixing.

hotbuddha

Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:01 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by hotbuddha » Mon Aug 29, 2011 6:05 am

I was working on a solution but someone beat me to it: http://code.google.com/p/macrotube-prov ... loads/list

I tested it, it works. The code grabs the mp4 version of the youtube video and it works very well. I made a very simple change to it so to first grab the webm version which I believe is often higher res. To view webm in media center you would probably have to install the webm filter for ie9 (needed for more than just ie9) from here http://webm.html5.org/ and the directshow filters from here http://xiph.org/dshow/. If anyone is interested in that modified youtube.xml (and can't figure it out themselves) let me know and I will ask for permission to post it on the macrotube site or just ask the guy who did the fix to do it.

Cafe.Racer

Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:00 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by Cafe.Racer » Sat Sep 17, 2011 3:20 pm

You guys are great...

basik

Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:11 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by basik » Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:24 am

hotbuddha wrote:I was working on a solution but someone beat me to it: http://code.google.com/p/macrotube-prov ... loads/list

I tested it, it works. The code grabs the mp4 version of the youtube video and it works very well. I made a very simple change to it so to first grab the webm version which I believe is often higher res. To view webm in media center you would probably have to install the webm filter for ie9 (needed for more than just ie9) from here http://webm.html5.org/ and the directshow filters from here http://xiph.org/dshow/. If anyone is interested in that modified youtube.xml (and can't figure it out themselves) let me know and I will ask for permission to post it on the macrotube site or just ask the guy who did the fix to do it.
I was the one who provided the youtube provider fix;) Anyone is welcome to contribute to the providers project. If you would like to be a project member just email a request from the providers project. The MP4 video works without any dependency and probably why it was used for the YouTube provider. Btw, does this site replace the migrated Green Button which moved to Windows Expert, but they lost most of the forum posts?

hotbuddha

Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:01 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by hotbuddha » Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:48 pm

Basik thanks for the fix and thanks for the info, I'll keep that in mind in case I ever have to be the one to actually fix this in the future. No one asked me about the webm version so I won't bother to post it for now.

Seems that macrotube is written to try just one file type per provider, if it were written above the call outs to the providers to try multiple file types or a hierarchy of providers whenever their was a failure to start playing a video that would be cool. Then it could try to play the webm version and if that fails play the mp4 and if that fails flv (etc etc). Does anyone have access to the macrotube source that calls the providers, so that change could be made?

Dr Talk

Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by Dr Talk » Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:09 pm

Pardon the "noobness" of this, but I cannot find a WORKING download link for Macrotube. I am running a 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium system, btw. Please help. :!:

Dr Talk

Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by Dr Talk » Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:31 pm

hotbuddha wrote:I was working on a solution but someone beat me to it: http://code.google.com/p/macrotube-prov ... loads/list

I tested it, it works. The code grabs the mp4 version of the youtube video and it works very well. I made a very simple change to it so to first grab the webm version which I believe is often higher res. To view webm in media center you would probably have to install the webm filter for ie9 (needed for more than just ie9) from here http://webm.html5.org/ and the directshow filters from here http://xiph.org/dshow/. If anyone is interested in that modified youtube.xml (and can't figure it out themselves) let me know and I will ask for permission to post it on the macrotube site or just ask the guy who did the fix to do it.
Please help this noobie. What exactly do I do with the xml file? Please be as specific as you can. TY!

basik

Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:11 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by basik » Sun Oct 16, 2011 8:57 pm

hotbuddha wrote:Basik thanks for the fix and thanks for the info, I'll keep that in mind in case I ever have to be the one to actually fix this in the future. No one asked me about the webm version so I won't bother to post it for now.

Seems that macrotube is written to try just one file type per provider, if it were written above the call outs to the providers to try multiple file types or a hierarchy of providers whenever their was a failure to start playing a video that would be cool. Then it could try to play the webm version and if that fails play the mp4 and if that fails flv (etc etc). Does anyone have access to the macrotube source that calls the providers, so that change could be made?
This would be an enhancement to the application, but the developer appears to have shelved this or no longer wants to develop it further. I have been trying to find him for a while now, without any luck. Does anyone know where to contact the macrotube developer?

basik

Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:11 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by basik » Sun Oct 16, 2011 8:58 pm

Dr Talk wrote:
hotbuddha wrote:I was working on a solution but someone beat me to it: http://code.google.com/p/macrotube-prov ... loads/list

I tested it, it works. The code grabs the mp4 version of the youtube video and it works very well. I made a very simple change to it so to first grab the webm version which I believe is often higher res. To view webm in media center you would probably have to install the webm filter for ie9 (needed for more than just ie9) from here http://webm.html5.org/ and the directshow filters from here http://xiph.org/dshow/. If anyone is interested in that modified youtube.xml (and can't figure it out themselves) let me know and I will ask for permission to post it on the macrotube site or just ask the guy who did the fix to do it.
Please help this noobie. What exactly do I do with the xml file? Please be as specific as you can. TY!
Follow the providers project link - http://code.google.com/p/macrotube-prov ... loads/list , click the file name and a step by step list of instructions is provided. The Project Home page of the project also has links to the installer for Macrotube - you would run this first if you haven't got it installed and then replace the xml files from the macrotube-providers Downloads section. Hope this is specific enough:)

puntipik

Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:59 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by puntipik » Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:07 pm

hi, i had the macro-version installed - only copied new xml-file to place.

before this i get an info that video couldn't be played because of changes - now WMC breaks?

known case?

basik

Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:11 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by basik » Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:40 am

puntipik wrote:hi, i had the macro-version installed - only copied new xml-file to place.

before this i get an info that video couldn't be played because of changes - now WMC breaks?

known case?
There is no known issue of the xml files breaking WMC - at worst Macrotube would not be able to play the YouTube videos. You'd have to be more specific about what version of macrotube you have, media center, OS etc. and what exactly you mean by "now WMC breaks".

But, suggest you follow the instructions provided to Dr Talk(above your post) and re-install Macrotube and then replace the xml files - be sure you replace the files and not leave copies of the ones you are replacing in the folder.

puntipik

Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:59 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by puntipik » Tue Oct 18, 2011 12:05 pm

hi, thanks for reply.
i have win 7 32 bit installed, latest version of macrotube.

i found out the main problem:
because i have films and series with subs and two languages i have installed mediaControl and the shark007 codec-pack for win7. i need avi and audio opened with ffd-show and therefore i deactivated microsoft audio and video in shark007. now i found out, that if i deactivate microsoft audio WMC breaks with an error (i mean WMC is clossing with an error where i can choose "send report" or "restart WMC").

with the old xml-version it was working as long as youtube worked :)

so i guess there is no workaround for this problem - because i need shark007 and to deactivate microsoft audio decoder so i can choose sub and audiofile through remote.

JonDeutsch

Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 9:46 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by JonDeutsch » Mon Jan 02, 2012 1:21 am

Hey guys -- this is GREAT news. Very glad to have an elegant YouTube client for WMC again! I was using the YouTube app in Boxee for a while when I thought this was no longer working, but this is far far better.

Again, THANK YOU.

PS - Now, who's gonna develop that Pandora client for WMC? :)

hettar987

Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by hettar987 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:38 pm

basik wrote:
hotbuddha wrote:I was working on a solution but someone beat me to it: http://code.google.com/p/macrotube-prov ... loads/list

I tested it, it works. The code grabs the mp4 version of the youtube video and it works very well. I made a very simple change to it so to first grab the webm version which I believe is often higher res. To view webm in media center you would probably have to install the webm filter for ie9 (needed for more than just ie9) from here http://webm.html5.org/ and the directshow filters from here http://xiph.org/dshow/. If anyone is interested in that modified youtube.xml (and can't figure it out themselves) let me know and I will ask for permission to post it on the macrotube site or just ask the guy who did the fix to do it.
I was the one who provided the youtube provider fix;) Anyone is welcome to contribute to the providers project. If you would like to be a project member just email a request from the providers project. The MP4 video works without any dependency and probably why it was used for the YouTube provider. Btw, does this site replace the migrated Green Button which moved to Windows Expert, but they lost most of the forum posts?
Hi there, and thank you for that !

Does anyone know any tutorial for writing Macrotube providers ? I'm digging in the examples provided with the software, but it takes times :)

User avatar
NWW

Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by NWW » Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:03 pm

Just create a www.youtube.com/leanback shortcut using Media Center Studio (minimize WMC, launch internet browser). Only way i can access my subscriptions

Post Reply