Page 1 of 4

SkypeMCEAnswer.0.4.2

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:30 pm
by nxsfan
UPDATE - SkypeMCEAnswer 0.4.2 Available

Download the newest version from http://nxsfan.co.uk/MCEPopups/SkypeMCEAnswer.0.4.2.zip

While SkypeMCEAnswer works perfectly on my 2 HTPCs, I'm sure it isn't bug free, please let me know if you have problems!
If new to SkypeMCEAnswer, it is dependent on http://nxsfan.co.uk/MCEPopups/MCEPopups.0.3.msi

Original Post
SkypeMCEAnswer is an imaginatively named program that allows you to answer incoming Skype calls from within the Media Center interface.

The following image shows an incoming call:
Image

When the call comes in the currently playing content is immediately paused.

From here there are 3 options.

1. Press Video/Voice:
Media center is minimized. Skype is brought to the front and switched to the incoming caller. The call is answered, outgoing video is enabled if selected and incoming video is enabled if available. When the call is ended by either party media center is maximized and media center automatically resumes.

2. Press Reject:
The call is terminated and a busy status is sent. The video resumes if automatically paused.

3. Do nothing:
After 30 seconds the dialog disappears. The following message is sent automatically to the caller: "This is an automated message. It seems no one is at the computer right now. Sorry!". Video resumes if automatically paused.

Installation:

1) First install the MCEPopups addin: http://nxsfan.co.uk/MCEPopups/MCEPopups.0.3.msi

2) Then SkypeMCEAnswer.

3) There is no installer for SkypeMCEAnswer, just double click on it to run, and add a shortcut to "Startup" in order to run on boot. To exit right click on the tray icon and select "Exit".

You will need to authorize SkypeMCEAnswer within Skype (it should automatically prompt after a short while).

DEBUG: While any errors are written to Error.log, you can get more detailed output by creating an "Output.log" file in the SkypeMCEAnswer root directory.

Changelog:
0.4.2 - Allows Unicode characters.
0.4.1 - Changed the method for activating the skype window.
0.4 - Control Skype with remote, fixed 30 second hangup bug.
0.3 - Enable selection of outgoing video/voice upon incoming call. If no camera is available the video option will not be available.
0.2 - Enable automatic pausing if content is playing upon incoming call

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:21 pm
by makryger
Very nice! I had never installed skype on my HTPC, but this makes it a much more fluid solution.

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 3:15 pm
by Fleadh
does it pause what you're currently watching? this has been my biggest issue with other solutions as they do not do this.

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 5:30 pm
by nxsfan
Fleadh wrote:does it pause what you're currently watching? this has been my biggest issue with other solutions as they do not do this.
It does not. My biggest issue was that there was no way of switching to skype with just the remote (and you can pause media with the remote at any time). I could arbitrary issue the pause command, but I might accidentally resume something that was already paused. I'm planning to add the ability to query the media state and control media to the MCEPopups addin, so I should hopefully be able to add automatic pause (and subsequent resume) within the next day or 2.

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:22 pm
by Ragin Cajun
Holy cow! So, you asked around for a feature (in the previous post), found that it doesn't exist, so you created something? BRAVO!!!! And thanks! I'll be trying this out soon!

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:52 pm
by Fleadh
Thats epic, if you do put in a pause put up a paypal donate link, i'd throw a beer or two your way no problemo.

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:07 pm
by nxsfan
Fleadh wrote:Thats epic, if you do put in a pause put up a paypal donate link, i'd throw a beer or two your way no problemo.
Ha! Actually don't worry about the beers, I would much rather borrow some of your time for input and application testing.

I have finished adding pause functionality. It is described above and here:

0.2 Update:
Pause functionality added. If something is playing on Media Center the program will pause upon receiving an incoming call. If you cancel, or it timeouts the content will resume. If you answer call it remains paused until the call is complete, at which point your video will resume.


I had to update MCEPopups in order to add the ability to query and modify the playstate. So the procedure is as before, download and isntall MCEPopups, and then simply run SkypeMCEAnswer. I have tested on a 32bit and 64bit machine, but it would be great if someone else tested and verify everything works ok.

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:36 pm
by Fleadh
will test tomorrow and let you know

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:50 pm
by brantmacga
does it work on extenders?

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer

Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:17 am
by nxsfan
brantmacga wrote:does it work on extenders?
Well I'll be honest, I have no idea! I'm guessing for now if you already have media center running on your HTPC then the addin will try to launch on the extender account and fail because the port is already in use. Perhaps if you launch extender while media center is closed on the MCE it might work. Or maybe nothing will happen at all. :lol:

When I have a chance I will try to get one of my extenders operational for some testing.

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer.0.3

Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 1:29 pm
by Fleadh
Things From first run.

It paused the show I was watching and minimised the screen and resumed after we hung up. I could not hear the wife on the Mic though. i have to look further as she wouldn't let me do any more messing with the computer at the time (because everytime I mess with it it "breaks"

Will check mic is working before testing this time!!

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer.0.3

Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 4:19 pm
by nxsfan
Yay, Thank you for checking it!

I also have a WAF to contend with so I sympathise. Truthfully the plugin does not touch any of the input devices (voice and video), so if you can place/receive a call within skype and everything works, it should also work in my application. I'm glad the other aspects worked though. It only just occurred to me that it is not necessary to minimise mce/maximise skype if neither party has video.

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer.0.3

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:31 pm
by Fleadh
ok, ive been usingthis for a while and so far its been absolutly fantastic. great simple addon that just makes the whole WMC experience so much better

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer.0.3

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:25 pm
by milli260876
i'm having some of this now, just re-installed windows on my new SSD and Skype works... winner!!
I'll post back how i get on...

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer.0.3

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:10 pm
by milli260876
ok so i've had a little play, can you exit a call with the remote?? also how do you get back into mediacenter when the skype call ends? i skyped the MC from netbook that went ok could answer ok but...
one time the call just ended after a minute or so, i was left with mediacenter minimised and skype open after a call was ended everytime.

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer.0.3

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:59 pm
by nxsfan
Thanks for the feedback guys. I'm still here! I was dragged away from my media center for a little while due to a family matter, but I'll be back to it next week. I'll make a fatal mistake and promise some bug fixes and potential feature updates then.

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer.0.3

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:12 pm
by milli260876
nxsfan wrote:Thanks for the feedback guys. I'm still here! I was dragged away from my media center for a little while due to a family matter, but I'll be back to it next week. I'll make a fatal mistake and promise some bug fixes and potential feature updates then.
any ideas on my issues mate? this has some great potential, i've been looking for something like this for ages...
i'd definately set up a paypal donate account if i were you - i'd throw you a beer or two for sure!

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer.0.3

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:36 pm
by Fleadh
if the call is endedc by the remote party then it goes back to WMC for sure. i actually havent used the keyboard or remote for a call recievedd in the living room yet.

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer.0.3

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:32 pm
by milli260876
i did some extensive testing with this over the weekend, i seem to get call drops,skype not coming up full-screen sometimes and also there is NO way for you to end the call you have to rely on the other caller to do it....
I SO want this to work for me and when it works it seems great, it just won't always work for me. Is there a dump or something i could do to aid any bug finding????

Re: SkypeMCEAnswer.0.4

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:35 am
by nxsfan
Let's pretend SkypeMCEAnswer0.4 didn't happen :D Sorry for the rapid replacement.

SkypeMCEAnswer0.4.1 has been released. Upon accepting an incoming call, the code mimimizes media center, sends a command to minimize all other windows and then maximises Skype. This isn't 100% robust, but it works unless you have funky system windows open. I'd appreciate feedback if it doesn't work for you.