W7CallerID

User avatar
sberghici

Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Toronto

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: CallerID on X64 WMC

#21

Post by sberghici » Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:29 pm

Setting up Bluetooth is tricky and and I spent hours to do it. Not all phones have modem Bluetooth drivers etc.
I'm planning to develop android application to send caller id by network to the W7 Caller ID server, then may be I’ll port it to blackberry. This solution will be 100% compatible with all droids
Lost in 8 bits. Born In The USSR. Hockey Dad. My mother's tongue - assembler...
http://www.w7callerid.com
http://www.berghicisoft.com

barnabas1969

Posts: 5738
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: Titusville, Florida, USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#22

Post by barnabas1969 » Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:33 pm

sberghici wrote:I'm planning to develop android application to send caller id by network to the W7 Caller ID server, then may be I’ll port it to blackberry. This solution will be 100% compatible with all droids
That would be much better than bluetooth due to the short range of bluetooth. I have WiFi coverage throughout my entire house, and even out into the yard.

barnabas1969

Posts: 5738
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: Titusville, Florida, USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#23

Post by barnabas1969 » Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:17 pm

I ordered a new Bluetooth dongle. It's the IOGear BTU321. Very similar to the one you bought, but with higher signal strength for longer range. Hopefully the phone will have enough signal strength also... so it will work throughout the house.

Jay

Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Camp Hill, PA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#24

Post by Jay » Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:20 pm

Definetly will keep an eye on this. As soon as you have the Droid feature enabled, let me know and I will install.

User avatar
sberghici

Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Toronto

HTPC Specs: Show details

#25

Post by sberghici » Thu Feb 16, 2012 11:55 pm

Version 2.0 has been released. Here are the added updates.

- Added import of contacts from Google and Outlook.
- The number of supported remote computers is increased to 8.
- The number of supported MCE extenders is increased to 5.
- Fixed issue with the program’s popup window not always showing up on screen if blocked by another window.
- Added sorting of callers by phone number and by name.
- A double click on the Logs row will open a new Caller window.
- Limited support of Bluetooth (unfortunately not all cellphones support the Bluetooth modem).

Image
Lost in 8 bits. Born In The USSR. Hockey Dad. My mother's tongue - assembler...
http://www.w7callerid.com
http://www.berghicisoft.com

epete

Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 12:19 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#26

Post by epete » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:06 am

sberghici wrote: Image
Image
Would be nice to have an option for the display to pop-up for a user defined period of tome and than fade away without having to click ok.

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#27

Post by STC » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:36 am

If it works in the same way as yac with the DTB addin it does close out automatically five seconds after the last ring. It shows the okay button so you can also close it at will.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

User avatar
sberghici

Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Toronto

HTPC Specs: Show details

#28

Post by sberghici » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:59 am

I've fixed some problems reported by users with Gmail and network security. Please download and reinstall server, mce plugin and client. Sorry for inconvenience.
Lost in 8 bits. Born In The USSR. Hockey Dad. My mother's tongue - assembler...
http://www.w7callerid.com
http://www.berghicisoft.com

User avatar
sberghici

Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Toronto

HTPC Specs: Show details

#29

Post by sberghici » Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:18 am

epete wrote: Would be nice to have an option for the display to pop-up for a user defined period of tome and than fade away without having to click ok.
I'll add custom popup duration parameter to the next release(now it's hardcoded to 10 secs)
Lost in 8 bits. Born In The USSR. Hockey Dad. My mother's tongue - assembler...
http://www.w7callerid.com
http://www.berghicisoft.com

snakethis69

Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:51 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#30

Post by snakethis69 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:39 pm

Did you ever get that android network notifier going? Ill invest if that works. Alas as of right now I cant even get the basic home phone working, I know the service works because it shows on both computers however I cant get it to pop up into MC or my MCE

User avatar
sberghici

Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Toronto

HTPC Specs: Show details

#31

Post by sberghici » Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:45 pm

snakethis69 wrote:Did you ever get that android network notifier going? Ill invest if that works. Alas as of right now I cant even get the basic home phone working, I know the service works because it shows on both computers however I cant get it to pop up into MC or my MCE
Please reinstall the latest version from the website(both server and plugin). Some users had problem related to network security and this version has a fix.
If this does not work send me e-mail to support@w7callerid.com - I'll try to help. I'm working on droid version right now and hope to finish in a month.
Lost in 8 bits. Born In The USSR. Hockey Dad. My mother's tongue - assembler...
http://www.w7callerid.com
http://www.berghicisoft.com

barnabas1969

Posts: 5738
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: Titusville, Florida, USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#32

Post by barnabas1969 » Sat Feb 25, 2012 4:12 am

I got the new Bluetooth dongle, and had the same problem. There are devices on the phone that are not recognized by Windows. No driver is found. I searched around, and I found a nifty free application that enables Dial Up Networking (DUN) on any Android phone. It is called PDANet. You don't have to root your phone, but you do have to enable USB debugging in order to install the app.

Now, my PC recognizes the Bluetooth Modem on my Android phone. I was really happy! For a moment. :(

Then, I took my wife's iPhone, and tried to add it as a Bluetooth device on the PC. Unfortunately, in order to enable DUN, I have to enable the "Personal Hotspot" feature from Sprint. This costs an additional $29.99 per month! This really has me upset because when I first signed up with Sprint, I was told that tethering via USB or Bluetooth was free... only the Mobile WiFi Hotspot feature was an extra charge. I just got off a long chat with a support person and her supervisor. It was a dead end.

So... when is this new feature going to be available to use a smart phone with W7CallerID over a WiFi network? Will it work with both Android and iPhone?

Jay

Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Camp Hill, PA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#33

Post by Jay » Sat Feb 25, 2012 5:22 pm

Thumbs up, great app. Once you have an Android App (there's an app for that?), this will be an awesome add-in.

ptranluu

Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#34

Post by ptranluu » Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:36 pm

i have this for my iphone via bluetooth - Xtreme Technologies Xlink BTTN Bluetooth Gateway. i have this device connected to my landline at home and my iphone whenever i'm home. the caller id software works successfully for the landline but not for the iphone. however, i have a pansonic 5ghz phone connected to it and it gets the callerid information from my iphone. i am puzzled as to why my panasonic 5ghz gets the callerid info out of the xlink and not the w7callerid software????

User avatar
sberghici

Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Toronto

HTPC Specs: Show details

#35

Post by sberghici » Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:28 pm

I’ve redesigned Bluetooth module using low level library and got success with the main cell brands IPhone, Android and Blackberry. New version will be available pretty soon. Check our website for updates: http://w7callerid.com/news.aspx
Lost in 8 bits. Born In The USSR. Hockey Dad. My mother's tongue - assembler...
http://www.w7callerid.com
http://www.berghicisoft.com

User avatar
sberghici

Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Toronto

HTPC Specs: Show details

#36

Post by sberghici » Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:55 am

barnabas1969 wrote:So... when is this new feature going to be available to use a smart phone with W7CallerID over a WiFi network? Will it work with both Android and iPhone?
In a few days I'm planning to release the version with full bluetooth support for the main brands - iphone, android and blackberry. I am using bluetooth handsfree mode to communicate with the phone and bluetooth modem is not required.
Lost in 8 bits. Born In The USSR. Hockey Dad. My mother's tongue - assembler...
http://www.w7callerid.com
http://www.berghicisoft.com

User avatar
sberghici

Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Toronto

HTPC Specs: Show details

#37

Post by sberghici » Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:07 am

Version 2.1 has been released. Full Bluetooth support!

- Bluetooth support of the following smart phone brands: Blackberry, iPhone, and Android
- Added pop-up duration configuration
- Minor bug fixes
Lost in 8 bits. Born In The USSR. Hockey Dad. My mother's tongue - assembler...
http://www.w7callerid.com
http://www.berghicisoft.com

sccrgoalie1

Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 5:52 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#38

Post by sccrgoalie1 » Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:44 pm

Anyone get their iPhone to pair with their computer successfully? Mine pairs and immediately says need troubleshooting. Thus it doesn't work with this addin. Built in Bluetooth dell xps 420.

User avatar
sberghici

Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Toronto

HTPC Specs: Show details

#39

Post by sberghici » Wed Mar 14, 2012 1:01 pm

iPhone 4 works fine with both Asus and Belkin dongles.(tested with iOS 5.0.1 and 5.1)
http://www.w7callerid.com/modems.aspx
Lost in 8 bits. Born In The USSR. Hockey Dad. My mother's tongue - assembler...
http://www.w7callerid.com
http://www.berghicisoft.com

asm495

Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:07 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#40

Post by asm495 » Wed Mar 14, 2012 1:17 pm

Any idea on the type of modem needed in the UK to support landline caller ID please? Our ordinary phones report the number but it would be great if I could get this working too.

Post Reply