Yammm - Where?

aeblank

Posts: 263
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:33 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Yammm - Where?

#1

Post by aeblank » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:53 pm

I am rebuilding a 7MC box.
I'd like to use Yammm. I have 8.13.10.26, which is on a win10 stick computer, but it won't install on Win7.
I have 1.0.3867, but it isn't working. The checkboxes to actually monitor the folder(s) is greyed out. It doesn't seem to *do* anything.

What version can I use for Windows 7?
Where can I get it?

Thanks!

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Crash2009 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:16 am

I think...YAMM is included with the Ceton InfiniTV4 software.

I have the YAMM standalone around here somewhere.

Yup, there it is.
Attachments
yammm_setup_w8_13_10_26_0827.zip
(540.55 KiB) Downloaded 360 times

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Crash2009 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:18 am

Damm, mine is the same version as yours.

What error do you get when you try to install.

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Crash2009 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:35 am

Not sure how to do this but....

Have you tried RegisterMceApp

Code: Select all

%windir%\ehome\registermceapp.exe /allusers "C:\Program Files\YammApp /u

%windir%\ehome\registermceapp.exe /allusers "C:\Program Files\YammApp


aeblank

Posts: 263
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:33 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by aeblank » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:36 am

Crash2009 wrote:Damm, mine is the same version as yours.

What error do you get when you try to install.
No error, it just doesn't do anything....

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

aeblank

Posts: 263
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:33 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by aeblank » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:38 am

Crash2009 wrote:I think...YAMM is included with the Ceton InfiniTV4 software.

I have the YAMM standalone around here somewhere.

Yup, there it is.
Might explain why it disappeared. I have that version, it won't install on win7. Says it needs win8 or above.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by Crash2009 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:05 am

Anybody know how to make this Yamm installer run on Win7?

If RegisterMceApp would work....Which file do we register?
Attachments
Yamm001.jpg

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by Crash2009 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:44 am

Try playing around with compatibility mode

See if the InfiniTV software will install

PM the author Mikinho

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/mem ... file&u=181

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by Crash2009 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:50 am

Scratch all that. Go get MMC (My Media Center) from Ceton. Yamm is included with MMC
Attachments
ceton_my_media_center_setup_w7_13_02_26_1062.zip
(2.41 MiB) Downloaded 161 times

jachin99

Posts: 1243
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by jachin99 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:42 pm

A version of YAMM that runs on home server 2011 would be nice too. MMC won't install on it. Im looking at media center master right now but I don't know how well it will work.

aeblank

Posts: 263
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:33 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by aeblank » Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:32 pm

So, installed the Ceton (bleah) version of yammm. It didn't seem to be working either. Set up WMC, that didn't help (this machine lives not-at-my-house, so I was holding off setting up WMC).

Saw there was an update to the verison you posted (7.14.02.20.0821). Amazingly, it seems to work. Yipee!!

So, thanks crash. I guess that's the solution.........the ceton version of the app. That was impressively complicated. I wasn't far from giving up.

Unless someone could make the win8.1+ version install on windows 7.

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by Crash2009 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:59 pm


vseven

Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:11 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by vseven » Sat Mar 10, 2018 2:56 am

I have the last version (well I think it is) of the Windows 7 install. Running it currently.
Attachments
yammm_setup_w7_13_10_28_1336.zip
(539.25 KiB) Downloaded 185 times

jachin99

Posts: 1243
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by jachin99 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:17 pm

I might upgrade my YAMM just for the sake of seeing what happens. I also run MMC but I know Mikhino had worked on later versions. Other users reported problems with it but I have found a fix for at least one version of it. I'm not sure if this is for WIn 7 or 8, or if it is x86 or x64.

See here https://www.missingremote.com/forums/to ... 6/page/16/

It does work but you need to manually edit the config.

1. Open Notepad as admin by right clicking the icon and select “Run as administrator”

2. click file->open and paste C:ProgramDataYammm in the address bart of the open file dialog and press enter

3. change from “text documents” to all files and double click yammm_config.json

4. at the very end of the config file, before the closing } you need to add the following:

,”ehome_metadata_cache_folders”:[],”ehome_metadata_for_users”:null

i added this between false and }

5. Save, restart the computer or service, and it should begin to work

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1527
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by DavidinCT » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:16 pm

jachin99 wrote:I might upgrade my YAMM just for the sake of seeing what happens. I also run MMC but I know Mikhino had worked on later versions. Other users reported problems with it but I have found a fix for at least one version of it. I'm not sure if this is for WIn 7 or 8, or if it is x86 or x64.

See here https://www.missingremote.com/forums/to ... 6/page/16/
Just to clear something up here. I am running the newest (that I could find) of the Windows 8 version on Windows 7. It works fine.

I think there was ONLY a problem if you tried to install a Windows 7 version on WIndows 8 but, the other way around worked perfect (so you can run the Windows 8 version of YAMMM on Windows 7 with out any problems)
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

vseven

Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:11 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by vseven » Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:04 am

I am running Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and the Win8 version of Yamm won't even install. Pops up a warning that you must be running Windows 8 or higher. The author did mention on missingremote that there were newer versions from 2016 floating around but went silent after that. If I could get the source code I could probably compile it, maybe someone with a account over there can tag him and ask again.

jachin99

Posts: 1243
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#17

Post by jachin99 » Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:32 am

Let me try to track him down. Maybe others from. Back in the day know how to get ahold of him as well.

vseven

Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:11 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by vseven » Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:44 am

Also it doesn't seem to pull down artwork anymore, at least for me. Pulls movie info, synopsis, etc, but no artwork. If we had access to the source code I'm sure someone could figure out why.

jachin99

Posts: 1243
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#19

Post by jachin99 » Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:17 am

From the missing remote above


I installed W7_13_10_26_0827 on my Windows 7 64-bit system and it looks like it was a success. The service shows that it is running.

However, it does not seem to be renaming or getting any images. I hae the first 4 boxes checked in the genreal tab (both rename boxes and the sub boxes under them). I picked a location where I have movie folders. I renamed one to the movie name and then added [tmdb=274857].

It has been a couple hours and nothing has happened to any of the folders. Is the service still working?


It does work but you need to manually edit the config.

1. Open Notepad as admin by right clicking the icon and select “Run as administrator”

2. click file->open and paste C:ProgramDataYammm in the address bart of the open file dialog and press enter

3. change from “text documents” to all files and double click yammm_config.json

4. at the very end of the config file, before the closing } you need to add the following:

,”ehome_metadata_cache_folders”:[],”ehome_metadata_for_users”:null

i added this between false and }

5. Save, restart the computer or service, and it should begin to work

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1527
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#20

Post by DavidinCT » Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:47 pm

vseven wrote:I am running Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and the Win8 version of Yamm won't even install. Pops up a warning that you must be running Windows 8 or higher. The author did mention on missingremote that there were newer versions from 2016 floating around but went silent after that. If I could get the source code I could probably compile it, maybe someone with a account over there can tag him and ask again.
Interesting. I ran the W8 version on 7 with no problems. Right now, I am running the 7 version because it was the newest version I could find.

For others wondering for a updated YAMMM like over at missingremote.com. I pinged Michael on Twitter, he said he might have something. I'll post back if we get something. I am hoping to add actors, etc, so it can be indexed in Windows... So if you did a search in WMC, it could find a movie in your library, not just on TV.

The version I have STILL brings art and Meta data (yammm_setup_w7_13_10_28_1336.exe), I checked my Programs & Features to verify version.

https://www.missingremote.com/forums/to ... post-33560

If you look at the 2 latest versions (that he posted), the W7 version has a higher number meaning higher version.
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

Post Reply