HomeRunPrime 6 Tuners

Ask about SiliconDusts HomeRun tuners here.
Post Reply
mldenison

Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 1:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

HomeRunPrime 6 Tuners

#1

Post by mldenison » Thu Oct 04, 2018 2:54 pm

Since the 3 channel tuners have been discontinued by SiliconDust, what's the consensus about the viability of the 6 channel tuners?

It's been over a year since SiliconDust first started talking about these. Since then, there's been no mention of them for the most part.

It looks to me that they've encountered some hardware/firmware issues that they can't solve or they've decided not to support TV tuners any longer.

In either case, I wish they'd be up front about them.

MediaCowboy

Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:40 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by MediaCowboy » Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:14 pm

Their website has been updated to show they are coming. When is the question.

Sammy2

Posts: 1644
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Sammy2 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:11 pm

Does this mean you are abandoning the HDHomeRun Prime?
Absolutely not. We are dedicated to cordcutters and cordshavers alike. We are even now working hard on getting the six tuner Prime ready to go, though we are unable to commit to an exact release date at this time.
https://www.silicondust.com/support/faq ... erun-prime

aseries

Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 5:23 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by aseries » Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:19 pm

SILICONDUST site says PRIME 6 in 2019. I just wonder if they are having DCMA certification issues. I think that is why Microsoft bailed on WMC.

joelkirzner

Posts: 76
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 3:18 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by joelkirzner » Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:38 pm

I'm just curious how many units SD expects to sell.
This is such a niche product and most of us that have the HDHomerun Prime are not necessarily going to upgrade.

We'll see about this 2019 timeframe... seems pretty vague!

toshfive

Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by toshfive » Sat May 04, 2019 5:50 pm

Even though it's just two of us in the house now with 2 primes, I'll be adding the new 6, (Maybe two)

Headless Win7 DVR, running ServerWMC for 6 RaspberryPi Kodi TV clients. Heaviest recording Starts @ 4am and after 7am (Local news, opening bell) until around 2pm, starting back up around 4pm. Along with some shows...

Since we're with FiOS, they have those music channels. 2 headless RaspberryPi's, HiFi Berry Digi-DAC hatboard, 1 pretty much streams 24/7, just simply press button on AVR remote to switch between tv audio and music. Selecting the FiOS music is done with phone.

4 (Possibly more later) In-wall RaspberryPi- HiFi Berry Digi DAC with 10" touchscreens capable of live tv, or music.

Lastly, our iPhone's both have HDhomerun app, laptops (Linux) also have Kodi & vlc....So yeah, maybe two....

joelkirzner

Posts: 76
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 3:18 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by joelkirzner » Tue May 14, 2019 7:02 pm

toshfive wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 5:50 pm
Even though it's just two of us in the house now with 2 primes, I'll be adding the new 6, (Maybe two)

Headless Win7 DVR, running ServerWMC for 6 RaspberryPi Kodi TV clients. Heaviest recording Starts @ 4am and after 7am (Local news, opening bell) until around 2pm, starting back up around 4pm. Along with some shows...
What the heck are you recording at 4am-7am? News? Are you kidding me?

Honestly, I have FIOS with an upper tier package and over the recent years, I'm watching less and less broadcast TV. I find my DVR just filling up with shows I no longer really watch. Majority of content is now streamed directly through my LG OLED: Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, and Youtube... LOTS of Youtube.

I have 2 Primes and I'll just stick with it for now. 6 tuners is enough.

Rickt1962

Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:40 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by Rickt1962 » Tue May 14, 2019 7:57 pm

joelkirzner wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 7:02 pm
toshfive wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 5:50 pm
Even though it's just two of us in the house now with 2 primes, I'll be adding the new 6, (Maybe two)

Headless Win7 DVR, running ServerWMC for 6 RaspberryPi Kodi TV clients. Heaviest recording Starts @ 4am and after 7am (Local news, opening bell) until around 2pm, starting back up around 4pm. Along with some shows...
What the heck are you recording at 4am-7am? News? Are you kidding me?

Honestly, I have FIOS with an upper tier package and over the recent years, I'm watching less and less broadcast TV. I find my DVR just filling up with shows I no longer really watch. Majority of content is now streamed directly through my LG OLED: Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, and Youtube... LOTS of Youtube.

I have 2 Primes and I'll just stick with it for now. 6 tuners is enough.
I use all 6 to record everything with MCEbuddy commercial free like I have Black Sheep Squadron TV series which you can't stream
HTPC W7 pro with HDhomerun with 6 tuners scanned by MCEbuddy uploaded to network to be watched by KODI

toshfive

Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by toshfive » Wed May 15, 2019 7:06 am

YouTube app within Kodi for live global news like Sky news, Al Jazeera, Anna News (raw graphic coverage) and other stuff that I don't receive from FiOS.

If you're having issues with live playback, be sure to check/install "InputStream" & "RTMP Input", YouTube settings, enable MPEG-DASH & install Inputstream helper. Assuming you're using RaspberryPi attached on tv.

Yeah, with smart TV apps some stuff we no longer record, Amazon prime gives us HBO, Showtime, Starz and something else.

Post Reply