Page 1 of 1

XBOX 360 extender and HD content

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:20 pm
by etrin
I have been using a 360 extender for years, hardwired with cat 5e cable. Things like roku have no problems with shows and movies.
The 360 with things like showtime HD content either displays a black screen with audio or a stream with long pauses in it. Never a fluid motion.

IS this the 100mb ethernet port or a limitation of the processor?

Is there something I can use for an extender that will carry these things?

any and all ideas are very welcome

Re: xbox 360 extender and hd content

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:33 pm
by Cory98122
Unfortunately, there's nothing that can be done for those channels on an extender. It has nothing to do with it being HD. It's because the channel is encrypted with the "copy-once" flag and your provider is now sending it with H.264 instead of MPEG2. Your non-HD showtime channels haven't likely moved to H.264 yet because they are lower bandwidth already.

The playready DRM with H.264 content may work on the console of a WMC machine if you have the right video card. However, it's never going to work on an extender. :(

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk


Re: XBOX 360 extender and HD content

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:20 pm
by etrin
thanks so much for explaining this to me.
I thought it was the unit.
Yep they play fine on the console.