Ceton Domain Expires 5/30/18

Talk with fellow members about Ceton's Media Center Extender.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
Locked
RyC

Posts: 698
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Ceton Domain Expires 5/30/18

#1

Post by RyC » Tue May 29, 2018 2:41 am

I don't know many people are still using Ceton Echo Extenders, but I still am and it still works nearly flawlessly. Ceton has been dead for years, but their website has remained up. However, cetoncorp.com expires with GoDaddy on May 30th, 2018. I'm not sure how long their Linode hosting has left, but that will probably run out some time this year too.

Echos still contact cetoncorp.com at start up to pull update data. This is the only time Echos seem to "call home". Echos actually POST JSON to update-echo.cetoncorp.com, which returns an update list. As far as I can tell, Echos will continue to operate normally after cetoncorp.com is gone.

I'm sure some of us remember the reliability and other issues plaguing the Echos. This topic describes some steps to "unbrick" Echos: http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/vie ... =69&t=3689 I've never had to run these steps on my Echo, but they sure won't work when cetoncorp.com is down (if they even still work now).

I've pulled as much as I can from the API just in case we need it later, but there's probably not much I can do with it.

Sammy2

Posts: 1673
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Sammy2 » Tue May 29, 2018 5:17 pm

RyC wrote:I don't know many people are still using Ceton Echo Extenders, but I still am and it still works nearly flawlessly. Ceton has been dead for years, but their website has remained up. However, cetoncorp.com expires with GoDaddy on May 30th, 2018. I'm not sure how long their Linode hosting has left, but that will probably run out some time this year too.

Echos still contact cetoncorp.com at start up to pull update data. This is the only time Echos seem to "call home". Echos actually POST JSON to update-echo.cetoncorp.com, which returns an update list. As far as I can tell, Echos will continue to operate normally after cetoncorp.com is gone.

I'm sure some of us remember the reliability and other issues plaguing the Echos. This topic describes some steps to "unbrick" Echos: http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/vie ... =69&t=3689 I've never had to run these steps on my Echo, but they sure won't work when cetoncorp.com is down (if they even still work now).

I've pulled as much as I can from the API just in case we need it later, but there's probably not much I can do with it.
Hmm.. of my eight echos, two are problematic. One is stuck on updating forever and the other is just plane "flaky" with reboots and bazaar noises when changing channels etc. I suppose I need to try to recover the one that is stuck tonight and the other one, IDK, I guess I'll just live with it.

Thanks for the head's up and I'll go through the unbrick thread one last time.

jachin99

Posts: 1184
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by jachin99 » Wed May 30, 2018 2:25 am

I just checked and ceton.com is officially for sale!! :)

choliscott

Posts: 579
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:56 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by choliscott » Wed May 30, 2018 4:43 am

The website is cetoncorp.com
jachin99 wrote:I just checked and ceton.com is officially for sale!! :)

Sammy2

Posts: 1673
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by Sammy2 » Wed May 30, 2018 12:06 pm

So I guess this one is headed to the trash heap. Been like this for 5 hours now and doing recovery brings it back to this state.Image

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Sammy2

Posts: 1673
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Sammy2 » Wed May 30, 2018 3:57 pm

Echo Recovery.JPG
And I'm doing the full recovery but of course there's likely nobody on the other end to "approve" my MAC ID for the f/w.

Maybe I'll see about flashing this unit to just be another AndroidTV Box? Anyone know how to do something like that? Is there a pin header to serial into the unit then go to SSH / PuTTy to flash a new image on it?

jachin99

Posts: 1184
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by jachin99 » Wed May 30, 2018 9:33 pm

Would saving any of this to the webarchive help?

Sammy2

Posts: 1673
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by Sammy2 » Wed May 30, 2018 10:03 pm

Better hurry!!

jachin99

Posts: 1184
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by jachin99 » Wed May 30, 2018 10:31 pm

What ip or web address does it call home to

Sammy2

Posts: 1673
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by Sammy2 » Wed May 30, 2018 10:39 pm

jachin99 wrote:What ip or web address does it call home to
I have no Idea. I never checked.

Sammy2

Posts: 1673
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by Sammy2 » Wed May 30, 2018 11:06 pm

jachin99 wrote:What ip or web address does it call home to
The answer may be in here.

RyC

Posts: 698
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by RyC » Thu May 31, 2018 10:30 am

Looks like cetoncorp.com is still up for now, but the whois data says it's expired. I expect it to come down any time now.

jachin99

Posts: 1184
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by jachin99 » Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:31 pm

Its been extended for a year according to whois. The last updated date was on 5-31-18, and it expires one year from then.

RyC

Posts: 698
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by RyC » Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:09 pm

Oh nice! I fully 100% expected it not to be renewed this year. Never mind everything then!

Sammy2

Posts: 1673
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by Sammy2 » Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:12 pm

I did contact Motz. Maybe he got in touch with the right peeps?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

john321

Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 9:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by john321 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:33 pm

I am so happy that I dumped this POS during the beta.

adam1991

Posts: 2680
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#17

Post by adam1991 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:11 pm

my Echo works to this day. Go figure.

mldenison

Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 1:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by mldenison » Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:16 pm

As do all 3 of my Echo's and 2 ETH tuners.

Locked