Beta firmware candidate for InfiniTV available - 15.1.13.152

Ask fellow members about Ceton's infiniTV tuners here.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
kd6icz

Posts: 512
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:38 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: Beta firmware candidate for InfiniTV available - 15.1.13

#141

Post by kd6icz » Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:56 pm

JohnW248 wrote:The advertised fixes as

The changes are:
-Remove legacy (CGMS-A, APS, RC) Copy Protection Support
-Improve ability to lock OOB signal in a poor signal environment

The change in Fw that causes a Cisco card to restart is you open the diagnostic tab were present in the earlier stable version.

Aside from others experience I've been running this on two ETH and tow PCIe tuners for six months now with only the nuance of not being able to look at the diagnostic page and the fact that running the Ceton diagnostic tool to send in a trouble report discovers and thus resets all tuners on the network so running it on a PCIe tuner will also reset both the ETH tuners. Not an issue if you only have one device.
So to sum up what you're saying. If I'm in a Motorola market with an abundance of signal I'm better off using the last 14.xxx released back in October. The legacy DRM doesn't seem like would make a difference one way or another. Is that a accurate summary?

JohnW248

Posts: 759
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#142

Post by JohnW248 » Tue Aug 04, 2015 1:38 pm

If you don't have any channels that drop in old commercials that have CGMS-A that triggers a copy once on an open recording, then it's unlikely you'll notice any change with the beta FW.

jal1234

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:26 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#143

Post by jal1234 » Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:40 pm

Did anyone keep a copy of the abort-system-shutdown program, or have a link that still works? Mikinho's website apparently no longer exists, and the Wayback Machine doesn't seem to have a copy.

Jon


DavidinCT wrote:
cybrsage wrote:I have had no issues with the latest beta firmware...but it still has a slow memory leak which means I have to reboot it at least once a month.
Do what I do. Use the Task Scheduler in Windows and schedule a reboot once a week. If you use Sleep you can have the task wake the computer to run. You just need to setup the task with using the shutdown command. I set mine to go at like 4am on a Wednesday, as I know everyone works and there is a VERY slim chance of recording or someone watching at that time.

And for a failsafe, you can install this.
http://mikinho.com/WMC/abort-system-shutdown/

This is the app I personally requested back in the day for this feature.

When you use the shutdown command and set the time out for 60 or 120 seconds, this app will prompt in WMC and say a "Scheduled reboot is coming, do you wish to cancel ?" so if your using the PC, you can select cancel and it will stop the reboot from happening. Neat huh ?

soapdishbandit

Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:06 pm
Location: Derby, CT

HTPC Specs: Show details

#144

Post by soapdishbandit » Tue Jun 28, 2016 3:04 pm

Any newer firmware updates? Just want to make sure I am up-to-date. Everything is running great here on my setup. Would be nice if changing channels happened faster but I won't hold my breath :)

grecoder

Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:26 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#145

Post by grecoder » Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:33 pm

soapdishbandit wrote:Any newer firmware updates?
Not that I'm aware of. Ceton has been dead for awhile.

ddevonb

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:13 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#146

Post by ddevonb » Mon Aug 01, 2016 6:29 am

erkotz wrote:We have a new pre-beta InfiniTV firmware that we are releasing today, as CableLabs has approved a request that Ceton submitted to remove legacy copy protection requirements. This firmware has undergone very limited testing and is only intended for advanced users. There are no known new issues in this firmware.

The changes are:
-Remove legacy (CGMS-A, APS, RC) Copy Protection Support
-Improve ability to lock OOB signal in a poor signal environment

The removal of legacy copy protection support will resolve issues that people had recording Copy Freely (CCI 0x00) channels after CableCARD firmware updates.

As always, this is pre-beta firmware. If you have trouble, please revert to our newest public beta firmware (http://update.cetoncorp.com/get/infinit ... _163.IMAGE) to see if the problem still occurs. If you are on this firmware and open a support ticket with us, our support staff may ask you to downgrade.

Firmware is at http://www.cetoncorp.com/downloads/ceto ... _152.IMAGE - have fun
I would like to install it. How do I get my ceton software to see the new firmware?

choliscott

Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:56 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#147

Post by choliscott » Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:28 am

Bring up the Ceton Diagnostics program. On one of the tabs, you can view the webpage for your Ceton card. Under the webpage is the ability to upload the firmware.

mrchad

Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 4:59 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#148

Post by mrchad » Fri Nov 25, 2016 5:04 pm

I'm trying to apply this firmware update to my InfiniTV 4 PCIe card, but it fails at step 4/8 every time. Ceton's support site doesn't seem to be working for ticket submission. Am I out of luck? Log messages below:

Code: Select all

Jan  1 00:02:40 ocur[21]: ocur: firmware_update.cgi get info 5993278
Jan  1 00:02:40 ocur[21]: ocur: firmware_update.cgi open 5993278
Jan  1 00:02:40 ocur[21]: ocur: web update filename ceton_infinitv_beta_fw_15_1_13_152.IMAGE
Jan  1 00:02:45 ocur[21]: ocur: firmware_update.cgi close, got 5993087 bytes
Jan  1 00:02:45 ocur[21]: ocur: Starting update from ceton_infinitv_beta_fw_15_1_13_152.IMAGE (5992942)
Jan  1 00:02:45 ocur[21]: ocur: Built cert store
Jan  1 00:02:45 ocur[21]: ocur: Parsed PKCS7
Jan  1 00:02:45 ocur[21]: ocur: No dp fields specified
Jan  1 00:02:45 ocur[21]: ocur: Got download params
Jan  1 00:03:05 ocur[21]: ocur: Checking signer 1/1
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: Verified signer
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: currentOCUROrganizationName "CableLabs"
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: currentMFGOrganizationName "Ceton Corp."
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: NotAfter: Tue May 22 23:59:59 2018 (0x5b04aeff) UTC
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: NotBefore: Fri May 23 00:00:00 2008 (0x48360900) UTC
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: SigningTime: Tue Jan 13 22:22:54 2015 (0x54b59abe) UTC
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: Signed during validity period
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: Found Mfg signature
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: Verified mfg signature
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: Verify Done.
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: Got valid code image offset
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: board version 17
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: Checking 1 hardware ids
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: This firmware matches our hardware id
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: Firmware version of image 0xf010d98 >= current version 0xd050684, continuing
Jan  1 00:03:06 ocur[21]: ocur: Actual Code Image Size 5991578 (header was 144)
Jan  1 00:03:23 ocur[21]: ocur: Saving signature to "/ceton/rw/ocur/slot_two/sig.dat"
Jan  1 00:03:23 ocur[21]: ocur: WARNING: Failed to write sig, trying again
Jan  1 00:03:23 ocur[21]: ocur: ERROR: Failed to write sig
Jan  1 00:03:23 ocur[21]: ocur: ERROR: Unable to write new firmware
Jan  1 00:03:23 ocur[21]: ocur: ERROR: Failed to write firmware
Jan  1 00:03:23 ocur[21]: ocur: ERROR: Unable to handle image
Jan  1 00:03:23 ocur[21]: ocur: ERROR: Failed
Jan  1 00:03:23 ocur[21]: ocur: WebUpdate done

RyC

Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#149

Post by RyC » Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:37 pm

The flash memory is going bad and historically, they've done an RMA for that error, but with the state of things at Ceton, I would suggest getting a Prime as a replacement instead.

Sent from my HP Slate7 Extreme using Tapatalk

resarfekim

Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#150

Post by resarfekim » Sat Nov 26, 2016 5:30 pm

RyC wrote:The flash memory is going bad and historically, they've done an RMA for that error, but with the state of things at Ceton, I would suggest getting a Prime as a replacement instead.

Sent from my HP Slate7 Extreme using Tapatalk
I'm getting the same error while flashing this firmware. Was trying to update because I'm login CP Auth every time PC sleeps/shuts down.
So I guess I'm shopping for a Prime today.
BTW, Ceton offered me an InfiniTV 6 eth for $170. Refurbed I believe...

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4356
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#151

Post by Crash2009 » Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:54 am

resarfekim wrote:
RyC wrote:The flash memory is going bad and historically, they've done an RMA for that error, but with the state of things at Ceton, I would suggest getting a Prime as a replacement instead.

Sent from my HP Slate7 Extreme using Tapatalk
I'm getting the same error while flashing this firmware. Was trying to update because I'm login CP Auth every time PC sleeps/shuts down.
So I guess I'm shopping for a Prime today.
BTW, Ceton offered me an InfiniTV 6 eth for $170. Refurbed I believe...
Before you "Ditch it" try the Factory Reset, (I forget if the Factory Reset is in the Ceton Diag Software or in the Web Config 192.168.200.1 ) then try Upgrade Firmware.

Post Reply