2 PCIe Tuner Cards?

Ask fellow members about Ceton's infiniTV tuners here.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
Post Reply
rakosnik

Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:48 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

2 PCIe Tuner Cards?

#1

Post by rakosnik » Sun Oct 20, 2019 12:10 am

I just cut the cord! However, since my father hasn't, I gave him my old Ceton infiniTV 4 PCIe - 4-channel Cable TV Tuner Card for CableCARD. The motherboard of his HTPC has room for two, so I figured on the rare occasion when he needs more than four tuners he will have them now. However, there are a few things about multiple tuner cards that I never thought about before.

Does he need a second CableCard from Charter Spectrum?

Does he need the coaxial cable plugged into both tuner cards?

I already downloaded and ran TunerSalad to increase the number of tuners that Windows Media Center will allow.

choliscott

Posts: 578
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:56 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by choliscott » Sun Oct 20, 2019 6:21 am

Yes, he will need a 2nd cable card and also another coax cable plugged in.

By the way does he record a bunch of shows or have a bunch of series setup?

rakosnik

Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:48 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by rakosnik » Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:28 pm

I hooked up the second cable card, tuning adapter and plugged in all of the necessary coaxial cables. Then I called Charter Spectrum to activate the new card. I gave them the serial number for the new cablecard from a picture of it I took before I inserted it into the Ceton tuner. When they asked for the host ID and the Data number I had to get that from the Ceton Diagnostic software. It was then that I noticed that the serial number I gave them from the picture of the physical card did not match the number in the CEton software. Then Charter told me that the Host ID and Data number were identical to the other cable card. I clicked on the drop down menu and checked the original tuner and cable card. It turns out that all of the numbers were identical. That is why the serial number from the picture of the cable card did not match the number I saw in the software.

The software has all of the same numbers (CableCard ID, Host ID, Data: and Serial number) for both Ceton InfiniTV PCIe card.

The drop down menu for the two cards have different numbers. And one of the Ceton InfiniTV PCIe card says that its CableCard has been authorized and the other one says it has not been.

Charter Spectrum says that they can't do anything until they have two different Host and Data IDs.

What do I do?

unclebun

Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:06 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by unclebun » Tue Nov 19, 2019 2:39 am

put only the "new" card in (take out the other) and see what the software says.

Post Reply