InfiniTV 6 Ethernet on Spectrum?

Ask fellow members about Ceton's infiniTV tuners here.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
Post Reply
mls001

Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

InfiniTV 6 Ethernet on Spectrum?

#1

Post by mls001 » Sun Jul 14, 2019 12:39 am

Can anyone tell me if they are still successfully running an InfiniTV-6 Ethernet on Spectrum? am having a problem that only impacts the Ethernet tuners and not the or USB tuners. Weird.

Thanks,

Mike

User avatar
mmurley

Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:44 pm
Location: Fayetteville NC

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by mmurley » Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:21 am

I am.

User avatar
d00zah

Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 7:20 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by d00zah » Sun Jul 14, 2019 12:10 pm

ditto

unclebun

Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:06 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by unclebun » Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:07 pm

Me too

DSperber

Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:35 am
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#5

Post by DSperber » Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:34 pm

mls001 wrote:
Sun Jul 14, 2019 12:39 am
Can anyone tell me if they are still successfully running an InfiniTV-6 Ethernet on Spectrum? am having a problem that only impacts the Ethernet tuners and not the or USB tuners.
I am as well. I have two HTPC's, one with Ceton-ETH and a second with Ceton-PCIe, am on Spectrum, and no issues.

If you would describe your "problem" that you say is ETH-only perhaps we could contribute to help.

mls001

Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by mls001 » Sat Jul 27, 2019 2:39 am

Thanks for responding. I am at a loss to understand what is going on.

I did post the detailed description of my problem here viewtopic.php?f=5&t=12285 but no one has responded.

Briefly, a little over a month ago my ETH-6 tuners on two different WMCs started hanging at "Waiting for Channel Map". The log shows errors (specifically a length error) decoding the channel map. What is difficult to understand is that each WMC has another tuner, One a PCI the other a USB and neither of those tuners are experiencing this error. The problem only impacts the two ETH-6 tuners. The two ETH-6 tuners and their associated WMC are on different networks with one even being on a dedicated NIC.

No amount of futzing around, reloading drivers, resetting, rediscovering, etc. has had any positive result.

Any suggestions you might have are sincerely appreciated.

Thanks,

Mike

User avatar
Bee_Dee_3_Dee

Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:39 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by Bee_Dee_3_Dee » Sun Aug 04, 2019 1:32 pm

mls001 wrote:
Sat Jul 27, 2019 2:39 am
Thanks for responding. I am at a loss to understand what is going on.

I did post the detailed description of my problem here viewtopic.php?f=5&t=12285 but no one has responded.

Briefly, a little over a month ago my ETH-6 tuners on two different WMCs started hanging at "Waiting for Channel Map". The log shows errors (specifically a length error) decoding the channel map. What is difficult to understand is that each WMC has another tuner, One a PCI the other a USB and neither of those tuners are experiencing this error. The problem only impacts the two ETH-6 tuners. The two ETH-6 tuners and their associated WMC are on different networks with one even being on a dedicated NIC.

No amount of futzing around, reloading drivers, resetting, rediscovering, etc. has had any positive result.

Any suggestions you might have are sincerely appreciated.

Thanks,

Mike
Have you tried the following?

1. Restart PC- then before launching WMC, Power-cycle TA and ETH-6 tuner. (Unplug both for 60 seconds then plug them back in.) Edit: "wait until the TA has completed its startup cycle and it has a solid LED" (ty jaimeknapp).

2. Before launching WMC, open Windows "Services" and Stop the "Windows Media Center Service". Then start it again. You don't need to wait any specific amount of time. A few seconds after stopping it is enough time to wait before starting it again. Just make sure it is fully restarted.

3. Launch WMC and open the guide and select a channel; and you'll see the info displayed, "Searching For Tuners"; then after about 30 seconds it will hopefully tune the channel.

GL
Last edited by Bee_Dee_3_Dee on Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

jaimeknapp

Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 4:49 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by jaimeknapp » Sun Aug 04, 2019 4:07 pm

I might add that between steps 1 & 2 you wait until the TA has completed its startup cycle and it has a solid LED. In my experience, the TAs and their power supplies in particular have been more prone to failure than the tuners themselves once you have them working.

User avatar
Bee_Dee_3_Dee

Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:39 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by Bee_Dee_3_Dee » Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:57 am

jaimeknapp wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 4:07 pm
I might add that between steps 1 & 2 you wait until the TA has completed its startup cycle and it has a solid LED. In my experience, the TAs and their power supplies in particular have been more prone to failure than the tuners themselves once you have them working.
done. ty :)

mls001

Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by mls001 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:33 am

Gentlemen,

Thank you for your suggestion but unfortunately, it didn't alter the situation.

I followed the steps you recommended, as in

1 Restart the WMC PC
2 Unplug the power (only) of the Ethernet tuner and it's associated TA, waited about 10 minutes, powered them both back on.
3 Waited for the TA complete and the Amber light to go solid
4 Went in to Services and stopped both the WMC Receiver Service and Scheduler Service
5 Restarted both services
6 Launched WMC and tried to tune a channel.

This failed because the TA associated with the Ethernet tuner was "Waiting for Channel Map" and displaying the repetitive errors I listed in the other incident.

In fact, if I reboot the WMC PC and not start the Windows Media Center application, but instead

a Start the Ceton Diagnostic Tool
b Go to the webpage for the ethernet tuner
c Display the Tuning Adapter - Status is hung on "Waiting for Channel Map"
d Going into the log I can see:
Jan 1 00:00:37 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: WARNING: Check failed
Jan 1 00:00:37 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: WARNING: Check failed
Jan 1 00:00:37 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: WARNING: expected 16450 bytes 962 channels and only got 962 channels
Jan 1 00:00:37 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: WARNING: Check failed
Jan 1 00:00:37 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: ERROR: trif[6] Failed to unpack channel_table_rsp message (len 16384)
Jan 1 00:00:37 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: WARNING: Unhandled trif apdu. (0x58)
Jan 1 00:00:47 ocur[21]: cyrano: [zccard/s:INFO] SPDU - session_number(): 000d
Jan 1 00:00:47 ocur[21]: cyrano: [zccard/a:INFO] <- {cp_sync_req}
Jan 1 00:00:47 ocur[21]: cyrano: [zccard/a:INFO] -> {cp_sync_cnf}
Jan 1 00:00:47 ocur[21]: cyrano: [zccard/a:INFO] -> status = OK
Jan 1 00:00:47 ocur[21]: cyrano: [zccard/a:INFO] -> {/cp_sync_cnf}
Jan 1 00:00:52 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: trif[6] re requesting channel map
Jan 1 00:00:52 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: [channel_table_req]
Jan 1 00:00:52 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: [request_header]
Jan 1 00:00:52 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: trif_revision_code: 0x1
Jan 1 00:00:52 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: request_id: 0x4
Jan 1 00:00:52 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: [/request_header]
Jan 1 00:00:52 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: [/channel_table_req]
Jan 1 00:00:53 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: WARNING: Check failed
Jan 1 00:00:53 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: WARNING: Check failed
Jan 1 00:00:53 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: WARNING: expected 16450 bytes 962 channels and only got 962 channels
Jan 1 00:00:53 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: WARNING: Check failed
Jan 1 00:00:53 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: ERROR: trif[6] Failed to unpack channel_table_rsp message (len 16384)
Jan 1 00:00:53 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: WARNING: Unhandled trif apdu. (0x58)
Jan 1 00:01:08 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: trif[6] re requesting channel map
Jan 1 00:01:08 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: [channel_table_req]
Jan 1 00:01:08 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: [request_header]
Jan 1 00:01:08 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: trif_revision_code: 0x1
Jan 1 00:01:08 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: request_id: 0x5
Jan 1 00:01:08 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: [/request_header]
Jan 1 00:01:08 ocur[21]: libcetontrif: [/channel_table_req]

A subset of these messages are repeated over and over and the TA never receives a valid channel map.

I have swapped Ethernet-6 tuners, Tuning Adapters, the USB cable between the TA and the ETH-6 and power supplies multiple times - and the problem always "follows" the ETH-6. Further I have replaced COAX cables, swapped COAX cables with working PICe and USB tuners with no change in the symptoms. Finally, I have the same failure on two different WMC PCs, neither of which fail with PCIe or USB tuners.

Other than giving up on the ethernet tuners, I'm at a loss of how to proceed.

regards,

M

DSperber

Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:35 am
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#11

Post by DSperber » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:38 am

Just out of curiosity, have you requested a replacement cablecard for the ETH tuner? What about replacing the DTA as well?

The combination of cablecard and Ceton tuner (either PCIe or ETH) must be "paired" by Spectrum head-end (using the HOST ID and DATA values presented by the Ceton drivers during TV Signal setup in WMC) in order for this all to work, and it seems reasonable that if the cablecard goes south for some reason or simply becomes un-paired this might explain your current difficulties.

And of course the DTA must be working properly for SDV to behave as expected.

I have replaced cablecards and DTA's many times over the past decade of using WMC and Ceton cards on two HTPC's. This included in one HTPC the replacement of a 4-tuner PCIe Ceton card with a 6-tuner PCIe card, and then with a 6-tuner ETH tuner, and in the other HTPC the replacement of a 6-tuner PCIe Ceton card with a different 6-tuner PCIe card. Independently I've probably gone through six different DTA's on the two HTPCs and five different cablecards. Every time one piece of the puzzle got voluntarily changed or involuntarily replaced because of a hardware issue or suspected defect I've had to go through the re-pairing with TWC/Spectrum's head-end, and this has never gone smoothly when only the 1st-line phone people were involved.

I usually only eventually had success after a minimum of 30 minutes on the phone, and even then only when 2nd-level supervisory personnel were brought in to "override something". Seems the HOST ID and DATA values were somehow "not recognized" or "in the wrong format" or "had an extra digit" or some other nonsense. Eventually, something the supervisor did (which apparently the 1st-level folks couldn't do) did the trick, and I finally was able to tune successfully to SDV channels (which of course meant that the channel map had finally been downloaded properly and processed through all of the hardware/software/driver components involved).

My point is only that I'd try going with a brand new DTA and cablecard, and do the whole TV Signal setup/pairing thing from scratch.

mls001

Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by mls001 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:19 pm

Ah, yes I have. At the very beginning of the problem I picked up an additional Cable Card and TA and went through the self install route. As you described the situation is very much the norm. The support of Cable Cards has become somewhat of an arcane art and any interaction requires excessive effort and time tp complete the process.

In total, either via self install or with a Spectrum technician onsite, the Cable Cards have been replaced 4 times and the Tuning Adapter replaced three times with no change in symptoms.

If I only had a single InfiniTV 6 Ethernet, the overwhelming evidence would point to that being bad. But when this problem first began I had two InfiniTV 6 Ethernet tuners active. One in use on each of two WMC PCs. I noticed the failure on one system first, but the second tuner was still functioning normally. For a few days, at least. When the Spectrum Tech was onsite, he suggested swapping the two Ethernet tuners. This was done by powering off both tuners (and the associated TAs), swapping just the ethernet cables (as the WMC PCs were on different networks) and powering on the tuners, TAs and restarting the WMC PCs. After this process neither Ethernet tuner worked - both demonstrated the same "Waiting for Channel Map" issue no matter what WMC PC they were connected to. Continued attempts to diagnose/correct the issue (again, replacing Cable Cards, TAs, cables, etc.) have been unsuccessful.

User avatar
Bee_Dee_3_Dee

Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:39 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by Bee_Dee_3_Dee » Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:58 pm

is the following url new? ("[Spectrum] CableCARD Reference and Troubleshooting")
https://www.spectrum.net/support/tv/cab ... leshooting

Post Reply