Manually adding channels to guide

Post Reply
Tardisious

Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:09 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Manually adding channels to guide

#1

Post by Tardisious » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:16 am

Im setting up EPG123 and I need to manually add a couple of DTV stations. http://epg123.garyan2.net/tools/ page says the frequencies are easy to find on the websites suggested. I have NOT been able to find a list of station actual frequencies despite searching online for an hour. Is there a website that will list the frequencies of each TV station in a local area?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3835
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:30 am

All 3 of the sites listed can give you the physical channel.

On TV Fool, click the >> Click Here << hotspot under "Check you address for Free TV". Enter your address and you will see the physical and digital stations for your area.

Antenna Web is probably better, click the 'Antenna Info' on the top right of the page, click the 'Enter Your Location', enter your zip code and the scroll down the results to see your physical channel (RF Channel) from that.

I think Rabbit Ears is a little different, but the other 2 should get you all you need.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Tardisious

Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:09 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Tardisious » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:33 am

well then I am not understanding. I added channel 10.1 and the physical channel is 10.3 KSAZ Phoenix AZ USA. but WMC does not allow a decimal or more than 2 digits in the 'frequency' box, I never had a problem setting up WMC before with the built in EPG but this time with EPG123 the guide is missing lots of channels and only lists about 20 when the scan actually found around 60. This is so very confusing. WMC is still trying to do automatic updates (and failing) even though I thought EPG123 would take care of updates

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3835
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by garyan2 » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:44 am

All the digital channel 10's are on physical channel 10.

You will put 10.1 on the first screen, and then 10 on the second screen. Repeat for 10.2, 10.3, 10.4.
antennawebFox10.PNG
antennawebFox10.PNG (4.16 KiB) Viewed 567 times
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3835
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by garyan2 » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:49 am

You never had a problem before because when WMC downloaded your guide information from MS/Rovi, it included your tuner setups. Those setups included the VHF channels and it didn't have to scan them. Doing a TV Setup without that information requires an actual tuner scan and MS in their infinite wisdom decided that ATSC would surely not reside in the VHF band. Hence why we have to add them manually.

If the scan actually found 60 channels, and you only see 20 in the guide, did you only download 20 channels? If you didn't download guide information for the channels, they will be disabled (hidden) in the guide.

WMC will still do updates. There are other packages it downloads other than the guide. Since we denied the ToS, WMC will not try to download a guide which is all we care about.
Last edited by garyan2 on Mon Nov 11, 2019 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3835
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by garyan2 » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:54 am

Here is from TV Fool:
Radar-Digital.png
The physical channels are the "Real" column, the digital channel number are the (Virt)ual number.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Tardisious

Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:09 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by Tardisious » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:55 am

OK will keep trying thanks

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3835
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by garyan2 » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:59 am

Just one more thing. The first station in a digital channel will always be x.1 regardless of what the actual tuner says. If your very first channel says 10.3, you will put 10.1 in WMC. The subchannels will always be in sequence whatever the starting number may be, but in WMC, always start with x.1.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Tardisious

Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:09 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by Tardisious » Mon Nov 11, 2019 4:18 am

OK getting it slowly, sent a paypal donation, thanks for your time

User avatar
StinkyImp

Posts: 211
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by StinkyImp » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:24 pm

Tardisious wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 4:18 am
OK getting it slowly...
Check your private messages. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. ;)

Tardisious

Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:09 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by Tardisious » Mon Nov 11, 2019 4:24 pm

StinkyImp wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:24 pm
Tardisious wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 4:18 am
OK getting it slowly...
Check your private messages. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. ;)
Yes, very cool Thank You

Post Reply