Setting Up IPTV service for WMC with extenders

nicolade

HTPC Specs: Show details

Setting Up IPTV service for WMC with extenders

Post by nicolade » Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:19 pm

I am new to the discussion board and will apologize in advance. I absolutely love Windows Media Center and think its probably the most user friendly and versatile media player I have come across. Microsoft's decision to drop WMC for future development came right about the time that I really started to use it extensively.

Since then, I have pretty much wired our house using WMC in every room with a TV. I have also since come across the cost cutting phenomenon of IPTV service. I know from scouring the web that people have gotten IPTV service to work with WMC. I have had very limited success. Last year I was even able to get one IPTV service to work through extenders but kept getting the "weak signal strength" message periodically which made it impractical to use as a service for the house. I went through all the fixes but could never get the message to go away even after changing the buffer setting in Windows Registry. My dream is to get WMC to work with all of my media including IPTV service, Netflix and Hulu. Unfortunately, the success I have had has been rather limited.

The setup I have used is a Windows 7 Athlon II X2 B28 3.4 GHz processor with 12 GB of RAM with an NVIDIA GeForce GT 710 video card. The closest I have come to porting IPTV service has been by using DVBlink software. I currently have a subscription with an IPTV service called IPTVNUMBERS. The hyper link provided ends with a "TS" and has m3u indicated as well.

I have also tried other backend PVR programs such as serverWMC but it does not appear to have a way to port IPTV service in.

Does anyone have any advice or recommendations I could try? Should I try a different backend PVR program? Should I tweek a setting with DVBlink? Has someone developed an addon that might work?

Crash2009