Windows 8 and Linksys DMA2100 - Does it work with Retail?

BobX360

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Windows 8 and Linksys DMA2100 - Does it work with Retail?

#1

Post by BobX360 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:37 pm

Hi,

I've read that the Linksys DMA2100 does not work pre-release versions of Windows 8... Black screen only on the extender.

Does anyone know if the retail version of Windows 8 has improved the compatibility with the Linksys extender?

Windows 8 is a non-starter if this is not solved.. Shame really, I was poised to upgrade today :-(

Regards
Bob

slowbiscuit

Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:52 pm
Location: In the ATL

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by slowbiscuit » Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:44 pm

I'm trying to figure out why anyone with a working 7MC setup would want to 'upgrade' to Win8, assuming you don't need or want the storage spaces feature.

foxwood

Posts: 1747
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 3:43 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by foxwood » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:58 pm

slowbiscuit wrote:I'm trying to figure out why anyone with a working 7MC setup would want to 'upgrade' to Win8, assuming you don't need or want the storage spaces feature.
Well we won't know unless someone does it first! :D

worthywow

Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by worthywow » Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:42 am

I might take the plunge over the weekend and give it a go ! If they don't work then it might be the final straw for replacing the extenders since they can't play the HD freeview recordings.

My main concern is around drivers for my tv cards (Black Gold TV BGT3620) - will do a bit of research but will probably just go for it and install Windows 8 on an spare disk

Cheers,

Richard

BobX360

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by BobX360 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:47 am

Hi Richard,

Very interested to know how your testing over the weekend goes..

The DMA2100 suits me as an extender in the kitchen. It's an older LCD tv with no HDMI input, so analogue stereo and standard definition pictures are fine.

I don't want an xbox as an extender in the kitchen (overkill). Apart from the Linsys DMA 2100, what would be my other options for extending the media centre to the kitchen? (apart from keeping my 7MC and not upgrading to Win8).

Regards
Bob

SoundForSound

Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:37 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by SoundForSound » Sat Oct 27, 2012 2:39 pm

Ceton Echo. Ships soon.

BobX360

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by BobX360 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:41 pm

Hi,

I checked out the Ceton Echo... HDMI output and Optical output.. no good for my TV in the kitchen.
Also, has the Ceton Echo been tested with Win8 yet ?

Regards
Bob

worthywow

Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by worthywow » Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:44 pm

Bob,

What type of output do you need from the media extender into your TV ?

BTW I'm still waiting for my free media center serial number so once I have it can test out the extender.

Cheers,

Richard

worthywow

Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by worthywow » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:07 pm

Bob,

Something this might do the trick since has composite and component output.

http://www.appliancesdirect.co.uk/p/smp ... tAod52MAsw

This won't give you access to the windows media center interface but you might be able to play the recorded tv files directly (assuming DRM's ok etc)

Cheers,

Richard

foxwood

Posts: 1747
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 3:43 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by foxwood » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:10 pm

Let's wait until someone can answer the original question before looking for alternative solutions!

BobX360

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by BobX360 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:38 pm

Hi Richard,

Currently the DMA 2100 outputs via the standard low def composite video and audio outs.. It seriously does not need to me more than that in the kitchen.

In summary, I have a 7MC workstation in the study, with three Xbox extenders around the house, 1x living room, 2xBedroom.
I have 1 Linksys DMA 2100 in the kitchen serving an old LCD tv with std def inputs.

I would like to upgrade to Win8 which should be fine for the three xboxes, but not for the DMA2100.. Unless the retail Win8 has fixed the pre-release black screen problem on the DMA2100.

I guess my alternative would be to...
Upgrade to Win8
Buy a Ceton Echo
Buy a new TV with HDMI for the kitchen
(combining these items makes it an expensive Windows 8 Upgrade)

The cheaper option is for MS to have fixed the compatibility problem with the DMA2100 :-(

Regards
Bob

SilverRubicon

Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:18 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by SilverRubicon » Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:45 pm

Not even the Ceton supports W8 at the moment. I wanted to test out my HP extender, but Microsoft is very slow in sending out the WMC keys. I don't believe it will work, but wanted to try. I think those of us with older extenders are basically out of luck.

foxwood

Posts: 1747
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 3:43 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by foxwood » Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:41 pm

SilverRubicon wrote:Not even the Ceton supports W8 at the moment.
It's not a question of the Extenders supporting Windows 8 - it's about Windows 8 supporting the Extenders. If they don't work with Windows 8, we know for a fact that Linksys and HP won't be realeasing updates, so the question is whether Microsoft fixed whatever the problem was with the Preview builds.

In the case of Ceton, they WILL be delivering whatever drivers are necessary to make the InfiniTV work woth Windows 8.

skioutwest

Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:47 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by skioutwest » Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:52 am

I just tried to setup my Dlink DSM-750 and it is NOT working. I get an error during setup, then I try again and it seems to work, but my TV is showing a black screen. WTF? Guess I should have read the forum before jumping in....

-Mark

SilverRubicon

Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:18 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by SilverRubicon » Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:41 am

foxwood wrote:
SilverRubicon wrote:Not even the Ceton supports W8 at the moment.
It's not a question of the Extenders supporting Windows 8 - it's about Windows 8 supporting the Extenders. If they don't work with Windows 8, we know for a fact that Linksys and HP won't be realeasing updates, so the question is whether Microsoft fixed whatever the problem was with the Preview builds.

In the case of Ceton, they WILL be delivering whatever drivers are necessary to make the InfiniTV work woth Windows 8.
InfiniTV has worked for awhile, the Echo does not. Ceton is working with Microsoft to get the Echo working. Extenders do work, if they're an xbox 360. I don't see Microsoft supporting old extenders as few of them sold.

TheKLB

Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:29 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by TheKLB » Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:33 am

I registered just to confirm this:

My Ceton InfiniTV4 USB works with windows 8 using the windows 7 driver.
DMA2100/DMA2200 do not fully work.

I have a DMA2200 and it goes to the black screen but it does actually work. You can hit the Guide button and hit Enter and it will load live tv. There is just no menu functionality.

User avatar
Motz

Posts: 2038
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:28 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#17

Post by Motz » Sun Oct 28, 2012 7:08 am

I believe only the Xbox currently works on extender mode with windows 8 currently.
I Write, Code, and Tweet

BobX360

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by BobX360 » Sun Oct 28, 2012 8:23 am

TheKLB wrote:I registered just to confirm this:

My Ceton InfiniTV4 USB works with windows 8 using the windows 7 driver.
DMA2100/DMA2200 do not fully work.

I have a DMA2200 and it goes to the black screen but it does actually work. You can hit the Guide button and hit Enter and it will load live tv. There is just no menu functionality.
Hi, Thanks for posting this..

To check, you tested the DMA2200 on the retail version of Windows 8 and you are confirming that the DMA2200 still behaves in exactly the same way that it did on pre-release versions of Windows 8?

Regards
Bob

benjames

Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 2:15 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#19

Post by benjames » Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:17 pm

I setup my DMA2200 with the Retail Version and have the same behavior (Black screen, guide-Enter takes me to live TV which works).

I noticed a specific error which shows up only the very first time when you add the extender. The 2nd time when you go through the add extender it seems to add it properly and you won't see this error.

"Media Center Extender Setup failed to associate the Extender with ID: uuid:ED312F83-2AAE-4093-8B58-9485E69D3826.

Error: Unknown HResult Error code: 0x80640010"

It almost makes me think that the problem may be in the registry although I doubt MS would make it that easy on us.

slowbiscuit

Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:52 pm
Location: In the ATL

HTPC Specs: Show details

#20

Post by slowbiscuit » Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:59 pm

Motz wrote:I believe only the Xbox currently works on extender mode with windows 8 currently.
That's just beyond stupid, given that Win8 MC hasn't added anything new. They've got to patch this ASAP and stop giving out 8MC keys until they do.

Post Reply