Page 1 of 1

Search Results may be incomplete

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:38 pm
by brettrobi
I have a fresh Windows 8 Release Preview install of MediaCenter. When I try to add a recording using the Search method I see this warning down in the lower right corner: "SEARCH RESULTS MAY BE INCOMPLETE BECAUSE THE GUIDE LISTINGS ARE STILL BEING INDEXED"
Any idea how I get the guide to be indexed?

Re: Search Results may be incomplete

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:44 pm
by STC
Usually you just have to wait a while. RP may have a bug though that is causing the error.

Re: Search Results may be incomplete

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:45 pm
by brettrobi
stonethecrows wrote:Usually you just have to wait a while. RP may have a bug though that is causing the error.
It's been 3 days for me. I don't think waiting will help.

Re: Search Results may be incomplete

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:51 pm
by holidayboy
You can try running both of the commands below under an admin cmd prompt (find a cmd prompt shortcut somehow!, or type cmd (into a start menu?) and right click - run as administrator) :

%SystemRoot%\ehome\ehPrivJob.exe /DoRegisterSearch

Wait and then run:

%SystemRoot%\ehome\ehPrivJob.exe /DoReindexSearchRoot

Re: Search Results may be incomplete

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 10:14 pm
by STC
brettrobi wrote:
stonethecrows wrote:Usually you just have to wait a while. RP may have a bug though that is causing the error.
It's been 3 days for me. I don't think waiting will help.
Ahh okay you didn't say that bit to begin with. Try HB's suggestion.

Re: Search Results may be incomplete

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 12:59 am
by brettrobi
holidayboy wrote:You can try running both of the commands below under an admin cmd prompt (find a cmd prompt shortcut somehow!, or type cmd (into a start menu?) and right click - run as administrator) :

%SystemRoot%\ehome\ehPrivJob.exe /DoRegisterSearch

Wait and then run:

%SystemRoot%\ehome\ehPrivJob.exe /DoReindexSearchRoot

Tries this and it had no effect. Neither did manually restarting the Windows Search service, even uninstalling said service, rebooting then installing again had no effect.
Makes it hard to find anything to record in MediaCenter!

Re: Search Results may be incomplete

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 8:17 pm
by librarynerd
This worked for me:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... ea5?page=1

The cmd stuff is the same as what holidayboy wrote, but adds a few more steps to do with the registry and verifying the presence of MCE in the Indexing Options.

Double-check to make sure you're opening an elevated command window. (WinLogoKey > type 'cmd' > right-click > "Run as administrator").

Here's what happened when I followed the steps:
The registry value was not present on my system. (initially)

After running ehprivjob there was about a minute of disk activity, then the system went idle but the cmd window didn't return to a prompt, just a blinking cursor. I checked my indexing options and WMC was present, so I restarted and everything appears to be working, and the registry value has been added.

Re: Search Results may be incomplete

Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 8:56 am
by holidayboy
Good stuff :thumbup:

I remember having to run the two commands quite often when I ran Vista with TVPack 2008 due to seeing the results incomplete message.

Maybe MS are giving us snippets of TVPack code in Win8 to wean us off Media Center! :lol:

Re: Search Results may be incomplete

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:43 pm
by brettrobi
librarynerd wrote:This worked for me:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... ea5?page=1

The cmd stuff is the same as what holidayboy wrote, but adds a few more steps to do with the registry and verifying the presence of MCE in the Indexing Options.

Double-check to make sure you're opening an elevated command window. (WinLogoKey > type 'cmd' > right-click > "Run as administrator").

Here's what happened when I followed the steps:
The registry value was not present on my system. (initially)

After running ehprivjob there was about a minute of disk activity, then the system went idle but the cmd window didn't return to a prompt, just a blinking cursor. I checked my indexing options and WMC was present, so I restarted and everything appears to be working, and the registry value has been added.
Perfect! That did the trick.