Page 3 of 3

Re: HOW TO: Install 8.1 WMC with just the WMC key

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 4:23 am
by 12noon
Oh, great! But then I don't think you need DCA. (I didn't run it myself.) I made a mistake about PlayReady though. (I'll correct my previous post.) You will almost certainly need PlayReady though. Mine failed the first time I told WMC to install it, but the second time worked.

Re: HOW TO: Install 8.1 WMC with just the WMC key

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 4:27 am
by stuartm
I don't think the 6 tuner prime is out yet and also I don't think the SiliconDust software allows recording/later playback of DRM content yet. At least last I heard that was the case.

Re: HOW TO: Install 8.1 WMC with just the WMC key

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 5:20 am
by 12noon
Yup, it's still in devlopment. Well, you already have a network tuner, so you should still be able to skip DCA. I didn't mean to suggest you should use SD's DVR. I don't think they're CableCARD-certified yet (if ever). For example, I use my Windows 8.1 WMC with a SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime 3, never ran DCA, installed PlayReady, and I can record/play DRM successfully. I can even copy the WTV files to a Windows 10 box and play them there in VLC.

https://www.silicondust.com/product/hdhomerun-prime-6/

Re: HOW TO: Install 8.1 WMC with just the WMC key

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 6:08 am
by Space
6athome wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 2:33 am
12noon wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 2:27 am
This might not be appropriate for this thread, but I recommend SiliconDust's network tuners. The HomeRun Prime 6 includes six tuners and uses one CableCARD. It basically "broadcasts" the tuners on your network. After you install the SiliconDust drivers on your WMC machine, WMC will see the tuners. You won't need PlayReady, and you'll get the DRM channels just fine. I realize it's adding more hardware and expense to your build, but IMO, in the long run, it makes things much easier.
I have HD Homerun prime with 3 turners, I didn't know they finally came out with the 6 turner!
They didn't release is yet, will they ever release it? Who knows?

There are a few posts on here regarding how to get PlayReady working, just search for PlayReady.