HOW TO: Install 8.1 WMC with just the WMC key

User avatar
12noon

Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 4:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: HOW TO: Install 8.1 WMC with just the WMC key

#41

Post by 12noon » Fri Jun 12, 2020 4:23 am

Oh, great! But then I don't think you need DCA. (I didn't run it myself.) I made a mistake about PlayReady though. (I'll correct my previous post.) You will almost certainly need PlayReady though. Mine failed the first time I told WMC to install it, but the second time worked.
USA 60005
WOW Chicago Suburbs - Digital
USA-IL58819-X

stuartm

Posts: 486
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Longmont, CO

HTPC Specs: Show details

#42

Post by stuartm » Fri Jun 12, 2020 4:27 am

I don't think the 6 tuner prime is out yet and also I don't think the SiliconDust software allows recording/later playback of DRM content yet. At least last I heard that was the case.

User avatar
12noon

Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 4:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#43

Post by 12noon » Fri Jun 12, 2020 5:20 am

Yup, it's still in devlopment. Well, you already have a network tuner, so you should still be able to skip DCA. I didn't mean to suggest you should use SD's DVR. I don't think they're CableCARD-certified yet (if ever). For example, I use my Windows 8.1 WMC with a SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime 3, never ran DCA, installed PlayReady, and I can record/play DRM successfully. I can even copy the WTV files to a Windows 10 box and play them there in VLC.

https://www.silicondust.com/product/hdhomerun-prime-6/
USA 60005
WOW Chicago Suburbs - Digital
USA-IL58819-X

Space

Posts: 2053
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#44

Post by Space » Fri Jun 12, 2020 6:08 am

6athome wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 2:33 am
12noon wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 2:27 am
This might not be appropriate for this thread, but I recommend SiliconDust's network tuners. The HomeRun Prime 6 includes six tuners and uses one CableCARD. It basically "broadcasts" the tuners on your network. After you install the SiliconDust drivers on your WMC machine, WMC will see the tuners. You won't need PlayReady, and you'll get the DRM channels just fine. I realize it's adding more hardware and expense to your build, but IMO, in the long run, it makes things much easier.
I have HD Homerun prime with 3 turners, I didn't know they finally came out with the 6 turner!
They didn't release is yet, will they ever release it? Who knows?

There are a few posts on here regarding how to get PlayReady working, just search for PlayReady.

cleothyme

Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 5:26 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#45

Post by cleothyme » Tue Oct 27, 2020 7:02 pm

12noon wrote:
Tue May 05, 2020 6:32 pm
FYI, I can confirm that a "Windows 8.1 Pro Pack (Move up from Windows 8.1 to Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center)" does not work with this install.

I purchased this key on eBay (which is the same as the one linked to earlier, but cheaper):

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Microsoft-Wind ... 3353256112

I installed Windows 8.1 WMC using the ESD/ISO process detailed in this thread. I definitely DISABLED Internet during the installation and enabled it only after the install. I went to the Activate Windows page, where it said the install key I used was blocked. (This is probably expected.) However, when I entered my Windows 8.1 Pro Pack key, it said it wasn't valid. I don't think the seller is defrauding me (since they refunded the $54 shipping and e-mailed me a picture of the key). I think the W8PP keys just don't work for this edition of Windows. Can Microsoft make their SKUs any more confusing?

I guess I'll try installing Windows 8.1 and "upgrading" to Windows 8.1 Pro Pack then add the Media Center feature.

Update: I downloaded the Windows 8.1 ISO from Microsoft (x64) and installed it as a bare-metal install. I entered a Windows 8.1 key during the installation. After Windows finished installing, I went to "Add features to Windows 8.1" and entered my "Windows 8.1 Pro Pack key. Success. I don't think it needed to download anything--it just "unlocked" the features that were already on the drive.
I'm looking to buy the Pro Pack on eBay for a new build. Thanks so much for your posts on getting it working. I have one question though. Was Windows 8.1 vanilla activated when you used "Add features..." to upgrade? In other words, what was the nature of the Windows 8.1 key you used for the initial install? Was it an off-the-shelf PC with a valid key on a sticker on the case (which would activate) or was it just a random key off the internet to get the installer to proceed (which would not activate)?

I am trying to determine beyond any doubt if I need to have Windows 8.1 vanilla activated before using "Add features....." with the Pro Pack key to upgrade. I do not know if I can get Windows 8.1 vanilla activated on a new build. I can get Windows 8.1 Pro activated with a grey market key but I don't know if that will work. Thanks in advance for any input. :thumbup:

User avatar
12noon

Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 4:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#46

Post by 12noon » Tue Oct 27, 2020 8:31 pm

You must have an activated install of Windows 8.1 in order to add the Windows 8.1 Pro Pack. So, yes, I used an actual Windows 8.1 key to activate Windows before using Add features to Windows 8.1 to install Windows 8.1 Pro Pack.
USA 60005
WOW Chicago Suburbs - Digital
USA-IL58819-X

Post Reply