Windows 8 Media Center Screenies

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Staff

Windows 8 Media Center Screenies

Post by STC » Tue Jul 26, 2011 4:32 pm

I bumped into these during my hintonet trawling and thought they might be nice eye candy.
Good to see MC is still there, even though it seems to be a direct port of the existing verision. My W7MC version is 6.1x and the last image shows 6.2x but perhaps this is just to make it work under a Win8 shell.


Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

Fleadh

Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:26 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by Fleadh » Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:43 pm

Ehhhhm the last screen says windows 7?

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Staff

Post by STC » Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:45 pm

Yes! Whacky, no?
They just haven't updated the info on that screen. It's certainly running on Windows 8.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

Dwight2001

Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:28 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Post by Dwight2001 » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:32 pm

Hope this is nowhere near complete. I don't see Netflix :o

milli260876

Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:56 pm
Location: Barnsley Sth Yorks

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by milli260876 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:04 am

I was kinda hoping mediacenter would get swallowed up in the "tiles" UI .... can't see much reason to upgrade tbh??
Lee

kingwr

Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 1:48 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by kingwr » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:23 am

Plus the last screen says Copyright 2009. That is probably the last time anything significant happended with Media Center.

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2571
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Staff

Post by holidayboy » Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:31 am

The software version number is interesting I guess - 6.2..... rather than 6.1.... for Win7

I haven't really looked at build numbers for Win8 yet - what's the latest build that people have spotted out in the wild?

It is weird that they left the 2009 date in there!
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

User avatar
cw-kid

Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:53 pm
Location: United Kingdom

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Microsoft MVP

Post by cw-kid » Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:44 am

These are real images. These early Windows 8 builds are running on top of Windows 7 I.e the installer is the Windows 7 one.
Stuart

The Media Center Blog Tips Tricks & News!
The Digital Lifestyle

User avatar
cw-kid

Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:53 pm
Location: United Kingdom

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Microsoft MVP

Post by cw-kid » Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:48 am

Rob

For build numbers and which have been leaked look at the spreadsheet

https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreads ... 4dUE&hl=en
Stuart

The Media Center Blog Tips Tricks & News!
The Digital Lifestyle

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2571
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Staff

Post by holidayboy » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:32 pm

Thanks Stuart, nice link :D
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Staff

Post by STC » Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:01 pm

The version numbers make sense to me now. I assumed they referred to the version of MC, not Windows.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

User avatar
cw-kid

Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:53 pm
Location: United Kingdom

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Microsoft MVP

Post by cw-kid » Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:09 pm

stonethecrows wrote:The version numbers make sense to me now. I assumed they referred to the version of MC, not Windows.
7955 is the Windows 8 Build number
Stuart

The Media Center Blog Tips Tricks & News!
The Digital Lifestyle

User avatar
newfiend

Posts: 2494
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: Earth

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by newfiend » Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:06 pm

I will be happy if some of the bugs get fixed.. like things hanging in "Now Playing" after my video finished playing on the main menu .. And how about some more codec support? FLAC and .MKV anyone?
newfiend~

Fleadh

Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:26 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by Fleadh » Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:36 pm

S2 and t2 support nativly would be nice but my guess is they'll just throw it in to windows 8 as is without investing anything into it, like calculator and solitare

gcoupe

Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: The Netherlands

HTPC Specs: Show details
1+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by gcoupe » Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:06 pm

Fleadh wrote:S2 and t2 support nativly would be nice but my guess is they'll just throw it in to windows 8 as is without investing anything into it, like calculator and solitare
+1
I'm a glass half-empty person.
Geoff Coupe

richard1980

Posts: 2623
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:15 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by richard1980 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:46 pm

OK, I must be dumb or something because I have no idea what you mean by S2 and t2 support. To me S2 is a sleep state...and t2 is....Terminator 2?

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2571
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Staff

Post by holidayboy » Fri Jul 29, 2011 7:41 am

richard1980 wrote:OK, I must be dumb or something because I have no idea what you mean by S2 and t2 support. To me S2 is a sleep state...and t2 is....Terminator 2?
:D

It's OK Richard, it's that Atlantic divide rearing it's head again!

S2 = DVB-S2 (digital satellite TV broadcasts)
T2 = DVB-T2 (digital terrestrial TV broadcasts)
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

Fleadh

Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:26 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by Fleadh » Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:19 am

yep, they're the next gen terrestrial and satellite broadcasts. In the UK Channel 4 HD is S2 and lots of folk have problems recieving it.

User avatar
cw-kid

Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:53 pm
Location: United Kingdom

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Microsoft MVP

Post by cw-kid » Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:28 pm

They discuss these screen shots on this podcast

http://thedigitalmediazone.com/2011/07/ ... windows-8/
Stuart

The Media Center Blog Tips Tricks & News!
The Digital Lifestyle

richard1980

Posts: 2623
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:15 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Post by richard1980 » Sat Jul 30, 2011 1:12 am

holidayboy wrote:
richard1980 wrote:OK, I must be dumb or something because I have no idea what you mean by S2 and t2 support. To me S2 is a sleep state...and t2 is....Terminator 2?
:D

It's OK Richard, it's that Atlantic divide rearing it's head again!

S2 = DVB-S2 (digital satellite TV broadcasts)
T2 = DVB-T2 (digital terrestrial TV broadcasts)
Thanks for the explanation! Now I don't feel quite so stupid.

Post Reply