Google Will Open Source SageTV Software

Latest and Greatest in the world of Technology and/or Media Center.
Post Reply
werds

Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Google Will Open Source SageTV Software

#1

Post by werds » Mon Mar 09, 2015 11:33 pm

http://www.missingremote.com/news/2015- ... v-software

"Google Will Open Source SageTV Software" - Missing Remote

adam1991

Posts: 2627
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by adam1991 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:08 am

hmmmm, just as I'm about to build my WMC box Mark II in prep for dumping the pay TV service and going all OTA, here comes this news.

My infrastructure is all WMC--that is to say, two XBox and one Echo for extenders--but I would explore a known open source alternative that isn't Myth.

JTScribe

Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:46 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by JTScribe » Tue Mar 10, 2015 2:12 am

Interesting, Sage works with Ceton tuners, doesn't it?

Ed 

Posts: 769
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:14 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Ed  » Tue Mar 10, 2015 2:21 am

Only for copy-freely channels iirc.

LuckyDay

Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:42 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by LuckyDay » Tue Mar 10, 2015 2:49 am

Ed  wrote:Only for copy-freely channels iirc.
That doesn't have anything to do with Sage going open source though, if they want copy protection they, or someone, can pay to implement it. It wouldn't be in Sage's code.

Ed 

Posts: 769
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:14 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Ed  » Tue Mar 10, 2015 2:53 am

You sure about that? He asked if Sage worked with Ceton tuners, seems like an applicable answer to me.

LuckyDay

Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:42 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by LuckyDay » Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:07 am

Ed  wrote:You sure about that? He asked if Sage worked with Ceton tuners, seems like an applicable answer to me.
Yeah, I didn't see you were responding to someone else's question, I just saw your post and thought you were commenting that the program only works with copy freely stuff in general.

I can't edit my original post for some reason to clarify the mistake so oh well.

Ed 

Posts: 769
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:14 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by Ed  » Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:24 am

Eh, poop happens it's all good :)

User avatar
makryger

Posts: 2132
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 2:01 pm
Location: Illinois

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Staff

#9

Post by makryger » Tue Mar 10, 2015 12:55 pm

What was SageTV before Google bought them? Just a paid program?
My Channel Logos XL: Get your Guide looking good! ~~~~ TunerSalad: Increase the 4-tuner limit in 7MC

3rob3

Posts: 548
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:48 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#10

Post by 3rob3 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:46 pm

Interesting.....wish Microsoft would do the same. I used SageTV for awhile and it's client/server architecture was awesome. Google Fiber TV runs some form of SageTV as seen here:
https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5494/145 ... 3438_z.jpg
Unfortunately time has marched on and powerful metadata (ie Plex/MediaBrowser) and internet streaming is now equally as important. I think the big question will be what version they open source, and how many devs come back. The last released one was v7.x. Google TV runs V8.x as seen in that screen shot. If it’s the newest version and we can access the streaming apps too that would be huge. I am guessing that won’t be the case.

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2582
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Staff

#11

Post by holidayboy » Tue Mar 10, 2015 5:42 pm

I always fancied trying sage tv with one of the extenders that they produced.
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

werds

Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by werds » Tue Mar 10, 2015 11:24 pm

3rob3 wrote:Interesting.....wish Microsoft would do the same. I used SageTV for awhile and it's client/server architecture was awesome. Google Fiber TV runs some form of SageTV as seen here:
https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5494/145 ... 3438_z.jpg
Unfortunately time has marched on and powerful metadata (ie Plex/MediaBrowser) and internet streaming is now equally as important. I think the big question will be what version they open source, and how many devs come back. The last released one was v7.x. Google TV runs V8.x as seen in that screen shot. If it’s the newest version and we can access the streaming apps too that would be huge. I am guessing that won’t be the case.
If Google released an open source V8.x that would be a DEFINITE shot across Microsoft's bow IMO... I am hopeful that something great if not good comes out of this!

Ed 

Posts: 769
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:14 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by Ed  » Wed Mar 11, 2015 12:33 am

He already said on the forum, it's gonna be an updated version 7 that goes open source, with all the Google Fiber stuff (that includes streaming apps) omitted; and some specific hardware binaries in regards to the existing Sage extenders omitted. The only thing to be updated is some java stuff in the backend. No UI or any drastic changes.

It could enable some form of Sage to be built for RasPi/Android devices (to be used as extenders). So I guess there's that. This doesn't interest me personally, I don't see it doing anything new for the HTPC or WMC crowd; simply extending the life of Sage for those who use/wanna use Sage. So there's that I guess. But, developers will have to get on board to squash bugs, add things, and build. And then continue to do so.
Last edited by Ed  on Wed Mar 11, 2015 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

3rob3

Posts: 548
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:48 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#14

Post by 3rob3 » Wed Mar 11, 2015 12:42 am

Ed  wrote:He already said on the forum, it's gonna be an updated version 7 that goes open source
At the time I posted he hadn't said what it would and wouldn't include, but I agree that this doesn't really interest me. If a ton of devs get on board it may be a different story but kinda seems like too little/too late.

brianlich

Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:49 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by brianlich » Wed Mar 11, 2015 4:38 pm

3rob3 wrote:Interesting.....wish Microsoft would do the same.
Here's a uservoice request to open source Media Center:
http://xboxvideo.uservoice.com/forums/2 ... dia-center

werds

Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by werds » Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:43 am

brianlich wrote:
3rob3 wrote:Interesting.....wish Microsoft would do the same.
Here's a uservoice request to open source Media Center:
http://xboxvideo.uservoice.com/forums/2 ... dia-center
Added my 3 votes!

Post Reply