Comcast H264 channels moving to 720?

For questions regarding Co-ax wiring, and to complain about your cable co.
Post Reply
webminster

Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Comcast H264 channels moving to 720?

#1

Post by webminster » Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:15 am

So is this right? All the channels I've found that have moved to MPEG4/H.264, according to 411info, show a native size of 1280x720. Is anyone else seeing or aware of Comcast reducing the resolution of channels along with this conversion? I swear before conversion the channels I've looked at were 1080...

Or is this some issue in WMC? If they're really decreasing resolution, this seems like a huge service issue...
-Alan

RyC

Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by RyC » Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:30 am

Yep, Comcast is doing this intentionally. See these threads: http://www.tivocommunity.com/community/ ... 0p.542203/

https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r29813023-Video-MPEG-4 (towards the end)

webminster

Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by webminster » Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:48 am

Thanks for those refs. I feel taken advantage of... again.
-Alan

Post Reply