Best Choice for Universal / Programmable Remote - New HTPC

Talk about speakers, TVs, receivers, STBs, etc.
demersus

HTPC Specs: Show details

Best Choice for Universal / Programmable Remote - New HTPC

Post by demersus » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:07 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum, but not new to the concept of HTPC/Media Center, and I also work in IT. I still have my first HTPC, which is an Asus DAV A33 that I purchased used in late 2009. https://gizmodo.com/266185/asuss-dav-ce ... c-plus-amp

It's getting time to retire it, so in the process I'm also assessing my overall home theater set up while I decide how I will build my next HTPC. Of course, now we're in the world of Windows 10, so Media Center is basically defunct. I will most likely stick with Windows, but I am not sure how well a remote works with it. I am considering KODI though, which does have good remote control support I believe. I want to purchase a universal / programmable remote that will function well with all of my devices

My set up is pretty basic, just an LG smart TV with WebOS and an older Sony STR-DB820 A/V receiver with optical inputs, and my current HTPC. For audio, I run optical out from the LG TV to the Sony receiver whether I am using the smart TV apps, or the HTPC via HDMI. I can also run optical out directly from the HTPC to the receiver if I'm listening to music instead of watching video.

I don't want to spend a lot of money on a new remote, such as the Harmony Ultimate or Companion, for example. But I have found a few contenders in the under $40 range. One is the Logitech 350 & 650, as well as the Inteset INT-422.

Does anyone have experience with these? I do need pretty full functionality for the smart TV and for the HTPC, but for the receiver I would be satisfied with power, input and volume only.