Media Center Crashes When Scrolling Recorded TV

prje

HTPC Specs: Show details

Media Center Crashes When Scrolling Recorded TV

Post by prje » Mon Mar 30, 2015 11:26 pm

I ran into a strange situation causing media center to crash when scrolling through recorded TV. When scrolling through the recorded TV listings, occasionally hitting a recorded show would cause media center to crash and restart. This only happened when scrolling from left to right. If I scrolled into the recorded show that caused the crash from the top or the bottom it was no problem. I could open the show, play it, delete it, with no problems. If I deleted the show that was causing the crash the problem would then move to some other show somewhere else in the listing. The problem occurred on the main PC, my Linksys extender, and my Xbox 360 extender. I have been using media center since 2005 and never experienced this problem before. I'm currently running Windows 7 with all the latest patches.

Fixes I tried that did not work:
- Deleting the problem show just caused the problem to move to some other show in the listing.
- I tried deleting all shows that were recorded on and after the time the problem started. That did not help.
- Deleted the thmb files in the programdata/microsoft/ehome directory, that did not help.
- Did a system restore to a point before the problem started, that did not help.

What I did to finally fix it:
After searching around I found references in Microsoft trouble tickets stating that you can delete the programdata/microsoft/ehome directory and it will re-create itself when you restart media center. Here are the steps I took:
1. Copy the programdata/microsoft/ehome directory to a place to save it just in case.
2. Take a snapshot of everything you have set for series recordings.
3. Reboot in safe mode (hit F8 while your system is booting to get the start menu and select safe mode).