WMC Passthrough settings

russds

HTPC Specs: Show details

WMC Passthrough settings

Post by russds » Tue Mar 10, 2015 5:49 am

I'm stumped. I can't seem to tell Windows/WMC to just send audio to my AVR (passthrough).

My setup is this:

HTPC --> ONKYO AVR --> TV (HDMI on each).

What I can't figure out is what settings I should use in Windows (Control Panel -> Sounds) and WMC (Settings -> ?) so that my AVR will receive the source audio format, and output accordingly. I know that my HTPC can do it, I've installed Plex Home Theater, and it works perfect, I choose a Movie, and the AVR says (input: DTS), I choose a TV station and the AVR says Input: "Dolby D", etc. But when I use WMC, the AVR always says Input: "Multich PCM 5.1". So it appears I'm getting 5.1 channels, but WMC is doing the audio conversion, where I would like just just send the audio unfiltered/passthrough to the AVR.

Anyone with experience with this? I'm fairly new to this, and might be missing something.

Thanks!
-Russ

Crash2009

Post by Crash2009 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 6:33 am

joecrow

Post by joecrow » Tue Mar 10, 2015 7:22 am

Crash2009 wrote:Try these settings

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/7363
Maybe I'm missing something but that link does not appear to be relavent! :?

russds

Post by russds » Tue Mar 10, 2015 12:25 pm

joecrow wrote:
Crash2009 wrote:Try these settings

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/7363
Maybe I'm missing something but that link does not appear to be relavent! :?
Thank you, but that appears to be a list of modern settings, wrong link maybe?

Crash2009

Post by Crash2009 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 2:02 pm

russds

Post by russds » Tue Mar 10, 2015 5:10 pm

Crash2009 wrote:oops!

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/vie ... 092#p85092

try this one.
Oh, terrific, this is an excellent write up. I'll do these settings tonight. Little question on number 2:
2. WMC is attempting to play a DD, DTS, or WMA Pro stream.