Xbox Freezes When Selecting Recorded TV

Troubleshoot and discuss the XBOX 360, XBOX One, Linksys, and other extenders.
osujd

HTPC Specs: Show details

Xbox Freezes When Selecting Recorded TV

Post by osujd » Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:43 pm

Hello All,

To Start out with I am a complete Noob to this forum so I apologize if this problem has been covered before. I am finding that when I use my 360 as an extender for Windows Media Center it freezes when I choose recorded tv. When I look at the event log I see the error "The Media Center Extender was abruptly disconnected". I have tried uninstalling/reinstalling the extender several times. I have also tried using two different xbox 360s as well as two different servers (laptop/desktop) to host the windows media center. The Set Up is this: I have an hd homerun and the windows server machine running directly to the router. I have the xbox 360 bridged to my router. I have full signal strength when I optimize the connection. I have turned off the firewall on the server and I have opened up the following tcp/upd ports on the router. At this point I am at my wits end trying to figure out what is causing the drop. Any suggestions?

Port 88 (UDP)
Port 3074 (UDP and TCP)
Port 53 (UDP and TCP)
Port 80 (TCP)

Thanks,

Josh

Port 3390 (TCP)

Crash2009

Post by Crash2009 » Wed Oct 15, 2014 1:13 pm

When you say xbox is bridged to the router does this mean wireless bridge?

Is it possible that your router is isolating the wifi from the lan? Here is a shot of mine, maybe yours has a similar feature. What model router do you have?

You might have to un-bridge, change the setting, then bridge again.
Attachments
IsolatedWifi.jpg

osujd

Post by osujd » Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:12 pm