New to WMC TV - No Signal when Recording

CynthiaBlue

HTPC Specs: Show details

New to WMC TV - No Signal when Recording

Post by CynthiaBlue » Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:55 pm

I'm brand new to Windows Media Center. After exploring various options of cutting the cable (we used to have Comcast Xfinity and a Tivo), my husband discovered that we can use WMC to act as a DVR. Cool! We bought a Hauppauge 2250 tuner card and plopped it into our spare Windows 7 computer and hooked it up to the TV.

So far so good... however, when I try to record shows, I'm getting the message that there is no signal. But if I stop the recording, I can go and view that channel fine.

Anyway so been looking around and found the Channel Edit Sources Option... the Hauppauge is a Duel Tuner card, but when I look at the Edit Sources I see four entries ( Digital Antenna (ATSC) ). Two for each tuner. Another strange thing is that for, say, channel 2.1, for Tuner #2 there is a Channel Number 34.1 and a Channel Number 41.1. From what I'm reading, 34.1 is the real channel number and 2.1 is the virtual. So I don't know why each tuner has two options...?

I'm still quite new and learning, want to understand it all. I was a techie by profession before I retired so want to get the gist of it all. Also... how do I see which tuner is looking at which channel?

Thanks,
Cyn

CynthiaBlue

Post by CynthiaBlue » Fri Sep 05, 2014 8:45 pm