Xbox extender freezes upon opening WMC

Troubleshoot and discuss the XBOX 360, XBOX One, Linksys, and other extenders.
merleau79

HTPC Specs: Show details

Xbox extender freezes upon opening WMC

Post by merleau79 » Mon Jul 28, 2014 5:43 am

Hello all. You'll see below that I am just learning about HTPC. I just discovered that you could set one up this past week so please be patient haha. I have been researching it as much as possible, but the lags are very frustrating.

I just borrowed a HDhomerun prime to test it out and see in I want that or the Ceton 6. I like it a lot, however, even though I was just using two turners my laptop and Xbox extender lagged tremendously. My laptop lagged somewhat on its own, but it wasn't too bad. The extender didn't work that great by itself. At first, I thought an extender could only display what your main HTPC was displaying.

My laptop is a Dell Inspiron 15R with a 2.30 Ghz (boost up to 2.7), i5 2410M, 4GB Ram, 64 bit. I'm not to sure if the Ethernet is a 1000G. My Xbox is pretty old (it was manufactured in 2007 and was one of my brothers old system). Also, my internet connection is 25mbps I really don't want to purchase a tower hard drive, but I will if I need to. My setup is pretty simple. It is just for my bedroom, but I want two screen to air different channels for when football season starts. I am moving this week where the modem will be 1 story below. Unfortunately, my router broke yesterday so I'm not too sure what to do. Perhaps a switch? My new place will have a 30mbps, but two others will be there as well.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

Brian

blueiedgod

Post by blueiedgod » Mon Jul 28, 2014 4:57 pm

A) Your internet speed has nothing do with WMC, unless you are streaming internet videos through it. All of your communications between tuners, HTPC and XBOX are on the internal network. You can sign up for dial up internet, and it won't make a difference.