WMC flashes "Subscription required" (live TV and recordings)

Bear on the job

HTPC Specs: Show details

WMC flashes "Subscription required" (live TV and recordings)

Post by Bear on the job » Mon Jul 21, 2014 4:43 am

I've been using HTPC setups for almost a decade now, but I'm a little new to the WMC game...I just added an InfiniTV 6 ETH to my Gigabit network a few weeks ago, and setup my current HTPC with Win 7 WMC and 3 Xbox 360 extenders. For the most part, everything has been surprisingly painless, but I've been seeing a recurring problem this week with live and recorded TV shows...

Periodically throughout some shows, I will see the screen flash the "Subscription required" or "Protected content" messages, but then immediately recover and continue. The flashes are extremely quick, usually only 1-2 frames of a 24 FPS show. This has happened to multiple shows on different channels at different times of the day. It seems like it may happen more frequently when multiple tuners are being used at the same time (happened tonight when recording 3 shows + watching 1 live TV). But that may be anecdotal, as I haven't collected enough data.

My HTPC is:
Shuttle SG33 case + Motherboard (Intell G33 chipset)
Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 2.5GHz
4GB G Skill PC2-6400 DDR2
Nvidia GeForce GT 430 1GB DDR3
Onboard Marvell Gigabit ethernet
Recording drive - Samsung HD103UJ 1TB SATA 3Gb/s

For the InfiniTV, all 6 tuners show signal levels in the +0.8 to -0.8 dB ranges, with a SNR between 33 to 35 dB, so the signal seems clean. The motherboard also has an onboard Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 3100, but I've disabled that and use the GT 430 for all video output.

Does anyone have suggestions? The problem right now is bearable, as it only flashes the screen for a split second. But sometimes multiple flashes will happen in a short period (2 or 3 in a minute), and it can be very distracting.

DSperber

Post by DSperber » Mon Jul 21, 2014 8:55 am