Building My Media Center with Blu-ray

puremick

HTPC Specs: Show details

Building My Media Center with Blu-ray

Post by puremick » Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:01 pm

I want to say hi to all and thank everyone in advance for their help in answering my questions and helping me address issues I may have!I am new to this forum and new to building media centers even though I have been a PC tech and built many custom towers in the past! But it's been a while!

I put together a media center. Compononents below;
Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced Mini Itx Case
ASRock Z87E-itx Motherboard
Intel Pentium G3220 3.2 Ghz Processor
8 GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
WD Green 1 TB Hard Drive to start(have other TB and Larger Hard Drives around for extra media)
LG BluRay
Corsair CX430M Power Supply
Rosewill Remote
Windows 7 Ultimate

Everything is running fine! I have it booting directly to Windows Media Center where my 1st problem lies. It seems I have to ok PowerConfig.Exe(My Remote Dongle Program/Driver) to run at startup which is quite annoying since I really don't want a keyboard a mouse around. I know there is a way to ok this at boot but don't remember how to do it!

2nd issue is the BluRay. I know there was an issue with Sony and Microsoft and they didn't allow their Media Player to play Blu Rays. Is their any codec for the Windows Media Center that will allow me to play Blu Ray Discs through Windows Media Center? I don't want to have to switch to a 3rd party program

When Ripping Dvd's, what is going to be the best quality format and allow me to keep 5.1 or 7.1 surround if that's possible? The quality on some of my different video file types becomes pixelated on 50+ inch LED. A DVD plays perfect but I want to rip my DVD's to keep that quality