Individual Series Recording Settings

element192

HTPC Specs: Show details

Individual Series Recording Settings

Post by element192 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:06 pm

Hello,

I'm new to the WMC world and I've got a question regarding the DVR (Recorded TV) function. To start, I'm using an HD Homerun Prime cablecard tuner with Comcast Xfinity.

I've gone through the WMC settings and I see that there is a setting for choosing between only new and new/reruns, but what I'm looking for is to make those choices per series. For example for TV Show A I want to stockpile them so I want both old shows and reruns. But for TV Show B I only want it recording new episodes. This was something I could do even with my lowly Comcast box, is there a setting for this? It's kind of maddening.

Thanks in advance.

barnabas1969

Post by barnabas1969 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:28 pm

It sounds like you're talking about the default settings for series recordings. In the default settings (under the Tasks -> Settings menu), choose the one you want to use most often (probably New only). Then, when you create a new series recording schedule, you can change it to New/Rerun if you want to. You can even change the settings after you've created a series recording schedule by viewing your scheduled series and changing the settings for each.

element192

Post by element192 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:11 pm

barnabas1969 wrote:You can even change the settings after you've created a series recording schedule by viewing your scheduled series and changing the settings for each.
I think this is what I'm looking for. I dont want to have to change the default settings all the time, I'd like something along the lines of having the default be "New Only" and then choose a TV show and have just THAT show record "New/Reruns" while keeping all of my other recordings as "New Only".

It sounds like I can do this?

barnabas1969

Post by barnabas1969 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:17 pm