WMC Setup - no EPG

Global guide related discussion. All Windows versions.
alect71

HTPC Specs: Show details

WMC Setup - no EPG

Post by alect71 » Mon Feb 26, 2024 10:40 pm

I am setting up a replacement HTPC (last one died) - I have been using WMC on Win7/8/10 for many years.

When I set up WMC, I either get stuck at WMC trying to download MS TV guides (as they don't exist), or if I disable internet always on, then it skips that step and scans channels successfully and shows live TV but no guide is created - there is not even a "Guide" option under the TV WMC menu.

So it seems the setup is not even creating a structure for EPG ? I have a local EPG provider (IceTV) which fills in the EPG but it cannot seem to do so as there is no EPG structure in WMC.

This wasn't a problem in my prior running HTPCs - not sure why unless the current WMC download version is different to the prior Win8 version?

Any help appreciated.

TIA

garyan2

Post by garyan2 » Tue Feb 27, 2024 12:30 am

If you did not agree to the guide terms of service during TV Setup, then you will have to manually set some registry entries to activate the 'Guide' selection.

Code: Select all

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Media Center\Settings\ProgramGuide
"fAgreeTOS": 1
"strAgreedTOSVersion": "1.0"
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

alect71

Post by alect71 » Tue Feb 27, 2024 7:36 am

garyan2 wrote: Tue Feb 27, 2024 12:30 am If you did not agree to the guide terms of service during TV Setup, then you will have to manually set some registry entries to activate the 'Guide' selection.

Code: Select all

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Media Center\Settings\ProgramGuide
"fAgreeTOS": 1
"strAgreedTOSVersion": "1.0"
You sir are a legend! Simple reg edit and now it's working fine as in all prior instances/versions.

prsa01

Post by prsa01 » Tue Feb 27, 2024 4:03 pm