Low Bit Rate / Service is unavailable

Help with tuners from ATI, Hauppauge, AverMedia and more.
lord xeon

HTPC Specs: Show details

Low Bit Rate / Service is unavailable

Post by lord xeon » Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:41 am

I just started getting Low Bit Rate & Service is unavailable errors in MCE.
My setup:
core i7 2600K @4410MHz
8gb Ram
Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1600 NTSC/ATSC/QAM Combo.
Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64

My provider is Cablevision, just basic (no box, no card), on the NTSC channel, & an OTA antenna on the ATSC one.
I've been recording shows fine since Dec 01, 2011. Friday, Feb. 03, 2012 everything stopped working. I've spent the following few days trying to figure out what's wrong, and how to fix it.

The HD channels give a Service is unavaiable Error, while the NTSC ones give a Low Bit Rate error.
I can set MCE to record an SD show, but when the show is over the size of the resulting .wtv file is 512kb, and there's nothing in it. HD shows won't record at all.
If I go to check the signal strength, everything is at full bars.
I've tried restarting my computer, restarting MCE, going through the whole setup of the MCE and nothing works.

I tried to install KB981130, I get an error saying This update is not applicable to your computer.

How do I go about fixing this?

Scallica

Post by Scallica » Mon Feb 06, 2012 4:40 am

If you connect the cable wire to your TV's digital tuner, do all of the local broadcast channels tune successfully? Is the picture clear?

You should also consider scheduling a visit from CV and have them check the signal strength at your residence.
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

erkotz

Post by erkotz » Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:39 am

You may want to try re-scanning for channels - it's possible your MSO has re-mapped things.
Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation

lord xeon

Post by lord xeon » Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:55 am