EPG123 newbie - channels missing

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: https://garyan2.github.io/ <> Setup guide here: https://garyan2.github.io/install.html
anywhereelse

HTPC Specs: Show details

EPG123 newbie - channels missing

Post by anywhereelse » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:16 pm

Hi, I'm completely new at this, and I hope someone can point me in the right direction. I'm in the UK, and have moved into a house that has a satellite dish - no conventional TV aerial. My Win7 Media Centre now has a TBS8900 DVB-S2 TV card, which receives Freesat okay, and I've just discovered the amazingness that is EPG123 to populate the TV guide. The trouble I'm having is that the TV guide lists about a dozen channels, and others are completely missing, even though they are listed in EPG123. Two channels in point are Cbeebies and CBBC - the guide simply doesn't list them.

If I go to 'edit channels' in WMC the boxes are unticked; I can tick them, and the guide page displays empty listings for the channels, and then the next time I run EPG123 they disappear altogether. I have two lineups enabled, one for Freesat England and [I can't remember the name of the other one, sorry, but I tried to avoid having another Freesat channel). Data comes from SchedulesDirect. Both lineups list these channels in both standard and HD.

I have no idea where to start with this - should I be focussing on EPG123 or SchedulesDirect? Where should I be looking? I'd be grateful if someone could give me some (gentle) pointers.

Thank you!

garyan2

Post by garyan2 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:18 am

It sounds like you have "Automatically match stations to channels" selected. I've heard mixed results with automatch on DVB-S lineups, so it is probably best to not select it. Instead, you can use the epg123Client to manually match (subscribe) a tuner channel on the left side with a lineup station on the right side. Once that is done, you should be good-to-go.
- Gary