Modify Win 7 Registry to boot WMC to Live TV on Channel 5

Post Reply
hawkeyekid

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Modify Win 7 Registry to boot WMC to Live TV on Channel 5

#1

Post by hawkeyekid » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:47 pm

I am seeking a solution to rewrite the registry command in the registry folder (see below file)

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Media Center\Settings\VideoSettings:

in order to have WMC boot directly into Live TV Channel 5, when I start up the PC.

I will figure out the TV Channel ID, so no worries.

I do not need a solution for clicking a shortcut. (I want to turn on the PC and have WMC directed to Live TV Channel 5.)

I do not need the solution in WMC to have WMC start up automatically. I still have to click on Live TV.

Please, can you be specific as to identifying which line of the registry is replaced with the new command.

Thank you!!

richard1980

Posts: 2623
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:15 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by richard1980 » Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:15 pm

You're looking at the wrong registry key. You need to be looking at:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System]
"Shell"="C:\Path\To\YourCustomApplication.exe"

Create a custom program that does the following things in order:
  1. Change the registry value of the last viewed channel:
    • [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Media Center\Settings\VideoSettings]
      "_tvChannel"="channel number"
      "_tvChannelID"="channel ID"
  2. Re-load the registry:
    • RUNDLL32.EXE USER32.DLL,UpdatePerUserSystemParameters , 1, True
  3. Launch WMC in live TV mode:
    • C:\Windows\ehome\ehshell.exe "/mcesuperbar://tv?live=true"
There are various ways to accomplish this (BAT, VBS, EXE, etc.) Once you create the program to do those steps, all you have to do is set the shell to that program.

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2840
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by holidayboy » Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:59 pm

^ = awesome post ;)
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

richard1980

Posts: 2623
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:15 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by richard1980 » Fri Jan 24, 2014 11:39 pm

I wasn't sure if step 2 was actually required, but I just tested and it's not. So really all you have to do is create a custom shell script that edits the two channel registry values and then launches WMC in live TV mode. And like I said, there are several different methods for creating that script...it's just a matter of which method you prefer.

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by Crash2009 » Sat Jan 25, 2014 8:19 am

Sweet.

hawkeyekid

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by hawkeyekid » Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:56 am

richard1980,

Thank you for the GREAT response to my original post. I am sorry for the delayed recognition of your generous input. I will get to work on creating the proper shell script.

:D

Post Reply