Changing Lineup

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

Changing Lineup

Post#1 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:47 pm

I've been checking out YoutubeTV, which provides basically all the LiveTV "cable/satellite" content we need so I'm seriously considering dropping my CableTV, ditching my CableCARD's and HDHR Primes then switching to an antenna and an HDHR Connect Quatro tuner for OTA. This, of course means changing my lineup.. Any expected issues when doing this? Can I again re-map channel numbers, including all those ##.# channels to be merely #### channels?

TIA
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#2 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:25 am

No problem changing you lineup. Remapping won't be a problem either ... to go from ##.# to ####, just change the subnumber to a zero (0). You can do that either in the WMC or the client.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2695
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#3 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:41 am

garyan2 wrote:No problem changing you lineup. Remapping won't be a problem either ... to go from ##.# to ####, just change the subnumber to a zero (0). You can do that either in the WMC or the client.
So if it's say 7 it can be 1007 but if it's 7.1 it needs to be something such as 1070, 70 or even 50 for that matter?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#4 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:44 am

Sammy2 wrote:
garyan2 wrote:No problem changing you lineup. Remapping won't be a problem either ... to go from ##.# to ####, just change the subnumber to a zero (0). You can do that either in the WMC or the client.
So if it's say 7 it can be 1007 but if it's 7.1 it needs to be something such as 1070, 70 or even 50 for that matter?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

If it's 7, and you want 1007, then you would edit the channel in WMC to be 1007.0 ... or in the client just renumber to 1007.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2695
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#5 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 1:17 am

garyan2 wrote:
Sammy2 wrote:
garyan2 wrote:No problem changing you lineup. Remapping won't be a problem either ... to go from ##.# to ####, just change the subnumber to a zero (0). You can do that either in the WMC or the client.
So if it's say 7 it can be 1007 but if it's 7.1 it needs to be something such as 1070, 70 or even 50 for that matter?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

If it's 7, and you want 1007, then you would edit the channel in WMC to be 1007.0 ... or in the client just renumber to 1007.
What if it is 7.1?

1007.1 or 1071?

I'm confused!

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#6 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 1:32 am

Sammy2 wrote:What if it is 7.1?

1007.1 or 1071?

I'm confused!

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Oops soory. Same is true for 7.1. Just make it 1007.0 and it will be 1007 in the guide.
Last edited by garyan2 on Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2695
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#7 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 1:40 am

garyan2 wrote:
Sammy2 wrote:
garyan2 wrote:[quote="Sammy2"][quote="garyan2"]No problem changing you lineup. Remapping won't be a problem either ... to go from ##.# to ####, just change the subnumber to a zero (0). You can do that either in the WMC or the client.
So if it's say 7 it can be 1007 but if it's 7.1 it needs to be something such as 1070, 70 or even 50 for that matter?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

If it's 7, and you want 1007, then you would edit the channel in WMC to be 1007.0 ... or in the client just renumber to 1007.
What if it is 7.1?

1007.1 or 1071?

I'm confused!

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk[/quote]Oops soory. Same is true for 7.1. Just make it 1007.0 and it will be 1007 in the guide.[/quote]

Okay. So if I have / want both I need to make 7.0 1007.0 and 7.1 say 1008.0 then they'll show as 1007 and 1008, respectively, in the guide?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#8 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:42 am

Sammy2 wrote:Okay. So if I have / want both I need to make 7.0 1007.0 and 7.1 say 1008.0 then they'll show as 1007 and 1008, respectively, in the guide?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Yup.
Last edited by garyan2 on Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2695
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#9 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:26 pm

Sammy2 wrote:... ditching my CableCARD's and HDHR Primes then switching to an antenna and an HDHR Connect Quatro tuner for OTA.

You don't need to throw away your Primes and buy a Quatro. You can connect an OTA antenna to a Prime (unless you want four tuners instead of three, of course).
User avatar
12noon
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 6 October 2014
USA 60005
WOW Chicago Suburbs - Digital
USA-IL58819-X

Post#10 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:16 pm

12noon wrote:
Sammy2 wrote:... ditching my CableCARD's and HDHR Primes then switching to an antenna and an HDHR Connect Quatro tuner for OTA.

You don't need to throw away your Primes and buy a Quatro. You can connect an OTA antenna to a Prime (unless you want four tuners instead of three, of course).
This is news to me! I have two primes so six tuners.. maybe I'll decommission one during the "transition". THANKS!

This information will save me $150 as all I'll need is a nice 100 mile antenna and a mast as I already have a lot of RG6.to make the run.

Even though we're about 60 miles from the major broadcast towers on top of Mt. Wilson in LA and have a decent line of sight, having an antenna rated for farther away is probably better.

Some of the locals are about 90°ish from the majors so any suggestions? Square Pancake or Yagi style? Two with different orientations?

I suppose I'll move the Prime(s) upstairs and make the RG6 run directly from the attic and connect the prime to the switch in the bonus room.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Last edited by Sammy2 on Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#11 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:28 pm

Checked the specs and there's no mention of the tuners being ATSC compatible. It only says QAM64/256 (digital cable TV).

Please note: This product HDHR3-CC will only work in the US.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#12 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:34 pm

12noon wrote:
Sammy2 wrote:... ditching my CableCARD's and HDHR Primes then switching to an antenna and an HDHR Connect Quatro tuner for OTA.

You don't need to throw away your Primes and buy a Quatro. You can connect an OTA antenna to a Prime (unless you want four tuners instead of three, of course).

The Prime does not support ATSC/OTA signals, so connecting an antenna to it will not work.

The Prime only supports QAM (cable signals).
Space
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: 2 June 2013

Post#13 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:42 pm

Space wrote:The Prime does not support ATSC/OTA signals, so connecting an antenna to it will not work.

The Prime only supports QAM (cable signals).




Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#14 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:17 pm

Radar-All.png


Here's my channels from TVFool.

Most are 297 to 298 at just under 50 miles.
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#15 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:34 pm

The same search on Antennaweb yields 285 to 287 and it has different color coding as well as KCBS listed which is missing from the FoolTV report.

KWHY-DT 22.1 MMX
RF Channel: 4
47 miles at 285°

KILM-LD 64.1 IND
RF Channel: 38
44 miles at 287°

KBEH-DT 63.1 ETH
RF Channel: 42
47 miles at 285°

KABC-DT 7.1 ABC
RF Channel: 7
48 miles at 286°

KCOP-DT 13.1 MNT
RF Channel: 13
47 miles at 286°

KCAL-DT 9.1 IND
RF Channel: 9
48 miles at 286°

KDOC-DT 56.1 IND
RF Channel: 32
48 miles at 286°

KJLA-DT 57.1 AZA
RF Channel: 49
48 miles at 286°

KFTR-DT 46.1 TFA
RF Channel: 29
48 miles at 286°

KMEX-DT 34.1 UNI
RF Channel: 34
48 miles at 286°

KLCS-DT 58.1 PBS
RF Channel: 41
47 miles at 286°

KCBS-DT 2.1 CBS
RF Channel: 43
48 miles at 286°

KNBC-DT 4.1 NBC
RF Channel: 36
47 miles at 286°

KSCI-DT 18.1 IND
RF Channel: 18
47 miles at 285°

KXLA-DT 44.1 IND
RF Channel: 51
48 miles at 286°

KVCR-DT 24.1 PBS
RF Channel: 26
5 miles at 20°

KRCA-DT 62.1 IND
RF Channel: 35
47 miles at 285°

KPXN-DT 30.1 ION
RF Channel: 38
47 miles at 285°

KTTV-DT 11.1 FOX
RF Channel: 11
47 miles at 286°

KTLA-DT 5.1 CW
RF Channel: 35
48 miles at 286°

KTBN-DT 40.1 TBN
RF Channel: 33
47 miles at 286°

KVEA-DT 52.1 TEL
RF Channel: 39
47 miles at 285°

KOCE-DT 50.1 PBS
RF Channel: 18
48 miles at 286°

KRVD-LD 50.1 PBS
RF Channel: 5
29 miles at 301°

KZSW-LD 10.1 3ABN
RF Channel: 10
5 miles at 26°

KNET-CD 25.1 IND
RF Channel: 50
48 miles at 286°

KNLA-CD 20.1 IND
RF Channel: 32
48 miles at 286°

KSMV-LD 31.1 IND
RF Channel: 23
48 miles at 286°

KCET-DT 28.1 IND
RF Channel: 28
47 miles at 286°

KMRZ-LD 22.1 IND
RF Channel: 22
48 miles at 286°

KFLA-LD 8.1 A1
RF Channel: 8
48 miles at 286°

KSFV-CD 6.1 IND
RF Channel: 27
5 miles at 24°

KPOM-CD IND
RF Channel: 27
5 miles at 24°

KEDD-LD 50.1 IND
RF Channel: 50
48 miles at 286°

KILA-LD 8.1 IND
RF Channel: 8
5 miles at 18°

KHTV-CD 27.1 HSN
RF Channel: 27
47 miles at 285°

KCIO-LD 33.1 IND
RF Channel: 30
29 miles at 301°

KILM-LD 64.1 IND
RF Channel: 38
31 miles at 61°

KAZA-DT 54.1 IND
RF Channel: 27
47 miles at 285°
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#16 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:52 pm

Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#17 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:46 pm


I've had good experiences with the LAVA 8008 with towers 25-30 miles north and south from my attic (single story house). My in-laws also had good reception with towers 40 miles north and south over flat lands in Texas from a ~20 ft mast. The antenna pattern is not perfectly omnidirectional, but it does a good job. Bonus is the LAVA is UHF and VHF which I needed for ABC.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2695
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#18 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:13 pm

garyan2 wrote:

I've had good experiences with the LAVA 8008 with towers 25-30 miles north and south from my attic (single story house). My in-laws also had good reception with towers 40 miles north and south over flat lands in Texas from a ~20 ft mast. The antenna pattern is not perfectly omnidirectional, but it does a good job. Bonus is the LAVA is UHF and VHF which I needed for ABC.


Thanks, Gary.

I was a bit concerned about the LAVA 8008 being "different" than what one is used to and whether it actually worked in multiple directions. As you can see above, I have a few directions to consider but for the majors it is basically Mt. Wilson north of Downtown LA and West North West of me. I think the difference in the reports is the magnetic declination being +11° 46' in my area being adjusted on one and not on the other.. So How to tell which is correct? Thinking Antenna Web?
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details


Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron