EPG123 Bug Reports

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: https://garyan2.github.io/ <> Setup guide here: https://garyan2.github.io/install.html
HTBruceM

HTPC Specs: Show details

EPG123 Bug Reports

Post by HTBruceM » Thu Mar 03, 2016 8:05 pm

New thread to report defects in existing functionality, crashes, etc.

kmp14

Post by kmp14 » Fri Mar 04, 2016 10:31 pm

Ok, this is probably not a bug, but I am putting it out there in case anyone else has something similar. I had a recording that would crash MC every time I simply landed on it in the list of recorded programs. This is a recording from last night and I have been using Epg123 (with great delight) for a couple weeks now. I assume something in the metadata is what caused the crash. I don't recall ever having something like that happen before, and I have been using MC for many years.

I deleted the program directly in the file system. In hindsight I should have saved it for further analysis...dang.

I am certainly not expecting Gary to look into this at all, I just wanted to get it documented in case there is some bug lurking....

More info for documentation purposes: The show in question was called "Vice Lab", episode named "We are all failures" on the new Vice channel (used to be History H2). It was recorded from 10-10:30 PM CST. I am on Comcast Digital Romeoville, IL (a suburb of Chicago) using Ceton CableCard tuners. On my system it is channel 323.

Space

Post by Space » Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:16 pm

I've had this happen in the past where there was only partial metadata in the recorded file due to some sort of corruption. It would seem that if WMC sees certain metadata in a file and then does not see certain other metadata it can cause a crash.

If that particular episode is still in the guide, you can try recording it again (or just a small portion of it) to see if the same problem occurs.

kmp14

Post by kmp14 » Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:20 pm