EPG123 Bug Reports

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

Re: EPG123 Bug Reports

Post#561 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 5:58 pm

gsimmons2005 wrote:Is there a delay in 123client loading up the lineups once the 123 app does its things? I have a ton of channels.

The refresh kicks off as soon as the import is complete, but yes, it can take a few seconds to populate the Guide Channels listview with 10000 channels. Shouldn't have take too long unless you have a small processor.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1949
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#562 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 6:16 pm

Sparkee wrote:It has worked very well for years (except for the crappy Rovi listings). But, with EPG123, when I use manual setup like this, I get two channels in the guide for every actual channel. One channel has the tuners from the second prime, the other has the one from the first prime. For now, I can just drop down to only 3 tuners in these HTPCs to avoid this issue. But maybe it could be looked into?

Try to run it without the 'manual' setup like this. I believe WMC will pool both Primes together but only give you access to 4. Like glorp said, TunerSalad is what you need to gain access to all six. Unfortunately, the download server for TunerSalad is "moving" and won't be back up until August.

I'm actually kind of disappointed that they charge for TunerSalad. It is a really simple operation to perform and there was a lot more code used to create the GUI than there was to actually perform its function. It would be an easy thing for EPG123 to perform, but I'm not going to step in their back yard and steal their ball.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1949
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#563 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 8:47 pm

garyan2 wrote:Try to run it without the 'manual' setup like this. I believe WMC will pool both Primes together but only give you access to 4. Like glorp said, TunerSalad is what you need to gain access to all six. Unfortunately, the download server for TunerSalad is "moving" and won't be back up until August.


First off thanks (A) for a great system to help free us from the nightmares of the EPG from Microsoft and (B) for responding so quickly.

Perhaps tomorrow, I'll take the time to try to disprove these things I believe to be true:
1) WMC assumes it is the only user of the tuners, and that it only goes to higher indexed tuners when it is using all the lower indexed ones.
2) The HD Homerun drivers only pools within a Prime, not across them

Since I have two HTPCs that both use 3 from the first prime and one from the second, if I get one of them to use three tuners, it is my belief I will get a tuner conflict on the second, even though it still could theoretically use one from the second prime. I'll report back in when done with that test.

EDIT: Whoops - that theory is shot - just tried it. The drivers must pool between primes. I'll try going to back to just picking four an not worrying about it and see how that works.

glorp wrote:I don't use Primes myself but I believe the answer here is quite a bit simpler. Use TunerSalad to remove the 4-tuner per type restriction in WMC. It's a common issue with CableCARD tuners that have more than 4 total tuners and the solution is just to make registry changes that allow more than 4 in WMC. Ceton has a specific tool for it but Prime users just use T-S.
http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/wiki/index ... TunerSalad


Thanks for the tip. Actually, I am probably OK with just three tuners on two of the four systems. Fortunately most of the Vz FiOS channels are not copy once protected, so we just share them all over the house. I can just go record on another HTPC in a pinch.
Sparkee
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 8 July 2017

Post#564 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:03 pm

SD drivers pool across all Primes. (I have 2 primes) however, I just manually assign 2 to each of my 3 HTPC's and don't use the pooling feature.
Here is how WMC uses tuners: (this is for the tuners listed under sources for each channel)

Tuner priority:
The order is top-to-bottom for live TV, and bottom-to-top for recording
TV. But this is further broken down by tuner type. So, if you have
both ATSC and CableCARD tuners setup for the same channel and your
ATSC channels are on top, then it will work like this:

Live TV will use the ATSC tuners first, from top to bottom. Recorded
TV will use the ATSC tuners first, from bottom to top. If all of the
ATSC tuners are busy, then it will repeat the same scenario on your
CableCARD tuners.
stuartm
 
Posts: 287
Joined: 5 November 2012
Location: Longmont, CO
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#565 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:01 am

EPG123 appears to fail silently during the setup process if it's not installed into the default location. I installed into "C:/Program Files" and didn't get any error messages at any point during the installation, or setup, or see anything wrong in the trace file, but nothing got loaded into WMC, no mxf file was created and the cache directory was empty.

I uninstalled and reinstalled in the default location and the Update process now appears to be doing something (I see numbers flying by below the "Progress" bar.)

I'm guessing that this has something to do with needing Administrator privileges, which EPG123 is failing to catch and deal with?

---
Windows 8.1 Pro (up to date as of this post)
EPG123 1.1.10 installed version.
pjrobar
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 May 2015

Post#566 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:40 am

pjrobar wrote:EPG123 appears to fail silently during the setup process if it's not installed into the default location. I installed into "C:/Program Files" and didn't get any error messages at any point during the installation, or setup, or see anything wrong in the trace file, but nothing got loaded into WMC, no mxf file was created and the cache directory was empty.

I uninstalled and reinstalled in the default location and the Update process now appears to be doing something (I see numbers flying by below the "Progress" bar.)

I'm guessing that this has something to do with needing Administrator privileges, which EPG123 is failing to catch and deal with?

---
Windows 8.1 Pro (up to date as of this post)
EPG123 1.1.10 installed version.

I've never tried to understand everything that is needed to install in the Program Files folder due to the permissions. I would also have to separate the epg123 folder into 2, 1 being in the Program Files and the other being in ProgramData just to make things work with all the working files being located there. I may do this in the future.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1949
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#567 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 1:48 am

I'm new to EPG123 and really loving it! Fantastic work on it - the family is very happy to have a working guide again.

Not sure if this is a bug, not supported, or something else. I'm running EPG123 "server" on one system (which does the SD download, etc). All my media centers at home run the "client" and are supposed to import the guide data from the server via a network share/UNC path. I was able to import the data with no issues.

The problem seem to come in using the schedule task, where it reports the file doesn't exist - yet it does:

[7/10/2017 12:00:00 PM] [ERROR] File "\\dvr01\guide$\epg123.mxf" does not exist.
[7/11/2017 12:00:00 PM] [ERROR] File "\\dvr01\guide$\epg123.mxf" does not exist.

I'm using UNC and a hidden share as the path. This format works fine for the importing - but have not been able to get it working via the scheduled task.

Was wondering if anyone had any ideas?

Thanks!

- Mark
MarkHofmann
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 July 2017

Post#568 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 1:56 am

MarkHofmann wrote:I'm new to EPG123 and really loving it! Fantastic work on it - the family is very happy to have a working guide again.

Not sure if this is a bug, not supported, or something else. I'm running EPG123 "server" on one system (which does the SD download, etc). All my media centers at home run the "client" and are supposed to import the guide data from the server via a network share/UNC path. I was able to import the data with no issues.

The problem seem to come in using the schedule task, where it reports the file doesn't exist - yet it does:

[7/10/2017 12:00:00 PM] [ERROR] File "\\dvr01\guide$\epg123.mxf" does not exist.
[7/11/2017 12:00:00 PM] [ERROR] File "\\dvr01\guide$\epg123.mxf" does not exist.

I'm using UNC and a hidden share as the path. This format works fine for the importing - but have not been able to get it working via the scheduled task.

Was wondering if anyone had any ideas?

Thanks!

- Mark

You need to set the password for the task to access the shared drive. Goto Task Scheduler, select the epg123_update task, and uncheck the 'Do not store password' box. Click OK and enter your password.

To test it out, click the Run button on the right then hit refresh. If the epg123_update task says 'Running', then you're good.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1949
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#569 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:51 am

That was it - thanks, Gary! Just unchecked the "Do not store password" and it is running!

Thanks for figuring that out!

- Mark
MarkHofmann
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 July 2017

Post#570 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:09 pm

Installed epg via the instructions, everything was good except only 4 of 6 ceton tuners.

Did the fix using ceton utility, everything seemed well, but now the scheduled task won't run.

Tried deleting it and re-creating it, but it still will not run.

Here's the error from task scheduler:

Task Scheduler failed to start "\epg123_update" task for user "HOME\Media". Additional Data: Error Value: 2147943711.

Any ideas? I can't do a clean install because I'm administering this machine remotely, therefore I can't redo the tuner setup.
Gr8M1ke
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 July 2017

Post#571 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:23 pm

Gr8M1ke wrote:Installed epg via the instructions, everything was good except only 4 of 6 ceton tuners.

Did the fix using ceton utility, everything seemed well, but now the scheduled task won't run.

Tried deleting it and re-creating it, but it still will not run.

Here's the error from task scheduler:

Task Scheduler failed to start "\epg123_update" task for user "HOME\Media". Additional Data: Error Value: 2147943711.

Any ideas? I can't do a clean install because I'm administering this machine remotely, therefore I can't redo the tuner setup.

Have you altered the task? If not, there are 2 things required to be true for the task to kick off; 1) AC power must be on, and 2) Network must be available. Missing either of those will cause the task to not run.

viewtopic.php?p=118445#p118445 for possibly the same, or at least similar issue.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1949
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#572 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:38 pm

Okay, I unchecked the AC power and network, as well as do not store password.

After entering username/password and saving, it works now.

I'm not going to question why, just happy it does.

THANKS!
Gr8M1ke
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 July 2017

Post#573 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:43 pm

Gr8M1ke wrote:Okay, I unchecked the AC power and network, as well as do not store password.

After entering username/password and saving, it works now.

I'm not going to question why, just happy it does.

THANKS!

The username/password shouldn't have been necessary unless you're trying to access some network shares ... but no harm in doing so. I'm with you though, it's working so run with it.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1949
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Previous

Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron