World Series Game 7 doesn't appear in SD for tonight!

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

World Series Game 7 doesn't appear in SD for tonight!

Post#1 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:38 pm

Well, I realize that absolute necessity for a WS game 7 wasn't known until the results of last night's game 6 were in. But I honestly did expect Tribune (or whoever provides the underlying schedule data to SD) would get the late breaking schedule update into the systems in time for last night's SD update to show game 7 scheduled at 8:15PM ET on FOX tonight.

Didn't happen. I just manually forced a refresh Guide update with EPG123, and sure enough tonight's game 7 is still not shown.

So I had to manually schedule the recording in WMC myself ("add time and channel").

Interestingly, TitanTV also does not show game 7 on their current schedule. If it is Tribune(?) that supplies both TitanTV and SD with their raw underlying schedule data, it clearly is that upstream data source which is at fault. But thankfully I double-checked tonight's scheduled recordings because I will be out at game time and wanted to ensure that I wouldn't miss the recording.

NOTE: I did submit a message to this effect on the Schedules Direct "contact us" mechanism.
DSperber
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 16 January 2014
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#2 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 9:22 pm

I just checked Zap2It which uses the same source (Gracenote) for data as Schedule Direct and game 7 is listed, so it is in the data EPG123 downloads. This is a flaw/quirk in the WMC software that its logic rejects an update like this to the schedule. More than likely, the data coming in is kicking out multiple programs so WMC gets confused on what to do... so it decides to do nothing.

If you are desperate to get the guide right, you could use the [Rebuild WMC Database] button in the client GUI. It will wipe everything out and rebuild fresh with all the current guide listings to include Game 7. You will however lose your recording history so you could duplicate recordings of programs you already have if you do New & Repeat.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2297
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#3 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:42 pm

Well, I just re-checked TitanTV, and sure enough now the 7th game and pre-show on FOX both appear in their schedule. Honestly, it wasn't there earlier when I sent my message to SD and also posted here on this thread.

And I just re-performed EPG123 again, and sure enough now the 7th game and pre-show on FOX both appear in the WMC Guide. Honestly, regular programming was there earlier, and it's obviously now been late-updated. Furthermore my automatic series recordings for the World Series has picked up this late arrival to the schedule, and the 7th game is now automatically scheduled to record as were the first 6 games.

I'm guessing that SD and TitanTV must clearly both have the same underlying data source (Gracenote), which is why they both didn't show the game, and now both do show the game. And your examination of Zap2it (i.e. Gracenote data) also must have come after things got late-updated. Who knows, perhaps it was my message to SD that prompted the query to Gracenote that resulted in their late correction followed by all of this downstream subsidiary services late-update occurring within just the past few hours.

Whatever the explanation, all is well again. I have manually deleted the manually created recording for this evening, as it is no longer necessary.

Just one of those things I guess.

Now... this should be a terrific final game, in what has really been a terrific World Series.
DSperber
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 16 January 2014
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#4 » Thu Nov 02, 2017 12:02 am

I don't think TitanTV uses data from Gracenote. Nor do they use TiVo data. I think they use their own data (which I assume is built based on the information they get from each individual network).
Space
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: 2 June 2013

Post#5 » Sun Nov 12, 2017 6:49 pm

I saw this issue too but never reported it.. Guess they figured the Rastros in 4?
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1365
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#6 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:26 am

Sammy2 wrote:Guess they figured the Rastros in 4?

User avatar
Scallica
 
Posts: 2410
Joined: 6 June 2011
Location: USA!
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct


Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron